Chevron Left
Back to People Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for People Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
5,093 ratings
968 reviews

About the Course

People analytics is a data-driven approach to managing people at work. For the first time in history, business leaders can make decisions about their people based on deep analysis of data rather than the traditional methods of personal relationships, decision making based on experience, and risk avoidance. In this brand new course, three of Wharton’s top professors, all pioneers in the field of people analytics, will explore the state-of-the-art techniques used to recruit and retain great people, and demonstrate how these techniques are used at cutting-edge companies. They’ll explain how data and sophisticated analysis is brought to bear on people-related issues, such as recruiting, performance evaluation, leadership, hiring and promotion, job design, compensation, and collaboration. This course is an introduction to the theory of people analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform complex talent management data analysis. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how and when hard data is used to make soft-skill decisions about hiring and talent development, so that you can position yourself as a strategic partner in your company’s talent management decisions. This course is intended to introduced you to Organizations flourish when the people who work in them flourish. Analytics can help make both happen. This course in People Analytics is designed to help you flourish in your career, too....

Top reviews

AA
Dec 21, 2018

Thank you so much for this very helpful module! I hope you continue to inspire HR professionals around the world to use HR Analytics as an important means to drive organizational-related decisions.

AK
Oct 4, 2020

detailed, yet high level enough to bring any specialist into the subject. provides useful information that is beyond people analytics. very recommended or any level/specification HR professional.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 955 Reviews for People Analytics

By Barbara S F

Mar 20, 2017

Dr. Massey's portions were superb, relevant, and immediately applicable. He used excellent examples and analogies to which any executive could easily relate and use. The videos were produced in such a way that you felt you were actually in a classroom or in conversation with the professor. I have already referred executives here in Silicon Valley to contact Dr. Massey.

By Catalin L P

Dec 2, 2020

Great introductory course for people analytics. Great examples and great flow of info. I really enjoyed studying it.

Perhaps I would have liked to work on a real case study/analyse it and understand how data is being collected, and which/how the chosen algorithm helps us make better decisions if we are in a people-analytics role within a large organisation.

By Weston T

Aug 29, 2019

Very good use of my time. Professors Haas, Massey and Bidwell explained People Analytics in an easily-digestible way. They drew on relevant examples and provided enough direction on how to perform People Analytics effectively in my organization. I wish they would have dived deeper on how to build a multivariate regression model and interpret the results.

By Jessica K

Jan 29, 2017

Excellent presentation of clear and compelling material. I learned how to use data as both a guide and a supplement to subjective analysis for a range of applications: hiring and promotions, performance assessment, talent management, and professional development. I enjoyed the lectures and found that they offered just the right amount of information.

By Suvarchala R K

Apr 21, 2020

One of best course I have attended. The course is very structured. And the professors explained the concepts with examples and cases wonderfully. I would recommend this course to my colleagues to enhance knowledge and gain more insights on People Analytics. I would like to thank the professors and the entire team for providing this awesome course.

By Prem P

Jun 27, 2017

It is a must learn course for all those who intend to pursue people analytics in near future. This is not an for Experts. All those who wish to build some foundation in Analytics; this course is a must. This course has helped me re-look PMS, TM and TA from multiple dimensions. This course will help you learn other online analytics courses faster.

By Jia-Yiing L

Oct 5, 2019

At first I was not interested in People Analytics. I'm not HR nor a manager, so why should I care? However, I found I enjoyed the course as I learn more about how our perception or results shape how we "evaluate" our colleagues, managers, and ourselves. I also like operational network analysis as it introduced different factors in collaboration.

By Teslim B

Oct 28, 2019

This course was great. It really gave me a good insight on how to manage people in an organization and lear how to improve the effectiveness of a team. I also learnt how to use data to make and improve decisions from a people analytics stand point. Ultimately, i learnt how to retain, manage and develop talent in an organization. Great Course!

By 刘峰

Mar 3, 2019

Very good analytical course, I have a very intuitive understanding of human resources analysis and employee analysis. At the same time, I also realized that there may be misunderstandings in the previous decisions and a deep understanding of the model between employee communication. Thanks to the wonderful knowledge brought by the professor!

By Arpith P D

Jun 11, 2020

The course was excellent starter for a people management student like me. it helped me understand the basics of data collection, usage and analysis and how it would benefit employees, managers and overall productivity of a firm. i also learnt a lot of tips and practices which would be of great help for in the future. Thank you very much!!

By Ummesalma R

May 20, 2020

It was a great learning and one of the best courses i have come a crossed as it almost covers the difficulty that an HR faces in his every day job and how analytics and its prescriptions can overcome these challenges. All the professor were great in their subject to make me understand the objective of the course outcome.

By Darshna V B

Feb 11, 2020

This is an excellent course, to begin with for those who are new to the field of HR analytics or people analytics. Much detailed explanation provided by the professors along with all the necessary videos, reading materials and the desired talks and links of webpages makes it much more worthy than what you spend on it.

By Ganesh P

Jul 22, 2018

very interesting analysis of people. Especially talent vs chance. Key personal take aways are organization network mapping. A big thanks for all the 3 professors for the slow and steady phase of lecturing the course which helps in understanding each and every statement and leaves a profound remembrance of key aspects.

By Hien S N

Jun 2, 2019

This is one of the most interesting course with new insights and deep research on people analytics, particularly in performance evaluation, staffing, talent management. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is newly start at an organization or want to establish a good management skills within an organization.

By Divyansha S B

Jun 23, 2020

I have been struggling to get updated insights on Talent Analytics for quite some time now. This course really helped me to understand it from basic concepts and up. Even the organizational challenges picked up and the prescriptions provide where exactly what I needed to build the stakeholder trust in my field.

By Prasad K

Aug 18, 2019

The course has provided me an insight to the people analytics and its allied fields. I have learnt organizational networks, talent metrics, performance measurement, and several other related areas.

I have feeling of a kind who went to party back with Big Chocolate in his/her hand.

Kudos Wharton Online. Prasad

By Matthew T

Oct 31, 2020

This course made me appreciate the analytics and sciences that can be used to understand and further develop the human capitol of an organization. Coming from an accounting and economics background, I have more appreciation for human resources, talent management, and of the networks we create with others.

By Sameeksha P

Apr 25, 2020

Thank you professors Cade Massey, Matthew Bidwell and Martine Haas for incredible People Analytics course on Coursera . The course was very insightful, it covered all the important and key concepts of People Analytics. I am definitely going to pursue further studies in this field after doing this course.

By Ricardo R G A

Sep 11, 2018

An espectacular course that opens your mind when think about people management. It's amazing how we can improve the organization results by adding some analytical processes to better evaluate people's performance. This course made me want to study more about analytics and to develop tools where I work.

By Ravi A

Aug 8, 2017

Excellent start with appropriate examples for the People Analytics. All the doubts and concerns about using data are appropriately addressed by the faculty. I will recommend this course to all the HR Professionals who are looking for starting People Analytic practices in their respective organizations.

By Kelly M

Jun 29, 2018

This is a phenomenal introductory course to People Analytics for anyone who is interested in learning more about the field. The professors are incredibly knowledgeable and engaging in their lectures. The content is well structured and makes accessible what can very challenging concepts to grasp.

By Venkatesh G

May 6, 2016

Wonderful insights into the performance and talent evaluation fields. As an analyst I personally did not consider these many ways to see and solve a problem related to employee performance and evaluation. The course was simple to understand and supported with relevant and intriguing examples.

By ABOLI E

Aug 4, 2020

The course was very well designed. It helped clarify the most important concepts along with multiple different applications, approaches as well as their caveats. I would like to thank the instructors, Wharton University of Pennsylvania and Coursera for making the knowledge accessible to all.

By Jan T

Jun 1, 2017

Very good overview course - I am recommending it to my team members as a solid introduction to thinking analytically about people in organizations. It introduces principles as well as concrete examples that illustrate the benefit and importance of fact-based/evidence based approaches to HR.

By FARHAAN H

Apr 17, 2020

Excellent course and very well explained by all the three Professors from Wharton School.

Very easy to understand even for people from Humanities and Social Sciences background with no technical knowledge beforehand.

Congratulations to the entire team for doing a great work with this course.