Chevron Left
Back to People Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for People Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
5,034 ratings
956 reviews

About the Course

People analytics is a data-driven approach to managing people at work. For the first time in history, business leaders can make decisions about their people based on deep analysis of data rather than the traditional methods of personal relationships, decision making based on experience, and risk avoidance. In this brand new course, three of Wharton’s top professors, all pioneers in the field of people analytics, will explore the state-of-the-art techniques used to recruit and retain great people, and demonstrate how these techniques are used at cutting-edge companies. They’ll explain how data and sophisticated analysis is brought to bear on people-related issues, such as recruiting, performance evaluation, leadership, hiring and promotion, job design, compensation, and collaboration. This course is an introduction to the theory of people analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform complex talent management data analysis. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how and when hard data is used to make soft-skill decisions about hiring and talent development, so that you can position yourself as a strategic partner in your company’s talent management decisions. This course is intended to introduced you to Organizations flourish when the people who work in them flourish. Analytics can help make both happen. This course in People Analytics is designed to help you flourish in your career, too....

Top reviews

AA
Dec 21, 2018

Thank you so much for this very helpful module! I hope you continue to inspire HR professionals around the world to use HR Analytics as an important means to drive organizational-related decisions.

AK
Oct 4, 2020

detailed, yet high level enough to bring any specialist into the subject. provides useful information that is beyond people analytics. very recommended or any level/specification HR professional.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 944 Reviews for People Analytics

By Deleted A

Apr 18, 2020

The content is structured and high class. However, the sports analogy and the lack of enthusiasm of one of the presenters is depressing. Overall, I learned some great concepts and appreciate an introduction to the subject matter. The verbiage of the materials could have been edited to be more concise.

By AP

Mar 25, 2016

Useful but not very applied. This course will help you in thinking against some latent biases we hold or are subjected to, but to really apply these ideas at work or life, you need to be creative in devising solutions and be in position of implementing or influencing the intended changes.

By Jay J

Oct 13, 2016

I enjoyed this course, especially the lectures by Cade Massey. His analogies and examples were very interesting and easy to understand. Some of the information throughout the course seemed to drag on a bit without any real purpose. But overall I would recommend this course.

By Himanshu A V

Aug 2, 2018

This course was bit difficult for me. HR & Management concepts can be well explained if we have more case studies. Please include use of some real case studies in detail for underdstafing the concept. It was well done in customer analytics & operation analytics.

By Muhammad Y H

Jan 13, 2021

The staffing module is very good, the collaboration module is relatively fine but the other modules need to be revised with practical examples from organizations. The examples from a football league to me is not relevant that is a totally different context.

By titus l

Mar 10, 2016

A very gentle introduction into a possibly highly exciting field. Should incorporate mathematical practice problems into case studies so that students can see where wrong assumptions are made and common human biases.

By Saurabh J P

Jul 7, 2020

Coursera is a global Platform. Examples cited in the course can be more common that can be understood by people all across the globe. Examples of NFL and Hollywood movies may not be very well understood by everyone.

By Andrew B

May 6, 2020

Interesting theories but not very practical. Could have gone deeper here and shown students real-life examples, inclusive of raw data, analysis, and conclusions. That said, this course is still an incredible value.

By Srinidhi T N

May 18, 2020

The course was very high level. Most of the points were presented very generic. It would be good if there was more pratical information on how real analytics can be used. Some exercise on how the tools are used.

By Ben H S P d C

May 15, 2020

It good, and the theories are really great, though seemed too academically focused. I was hoping in addition, to get some more of the practical daily stuff we deal with at work. But really insightful.

By Shraddha L

Apr 18, 2020

Language was understandable enough but adding subtitles would be effective for others to learn as well. Give examples from other parts of the world as well. Rest everything was good

By Chhandak T

Dec 15, 2015

The course is good as an introduction to people analytics. The title can be suitably modified to reflect this. I would be happier to see more rigour and depth added to the course.

By Tiago F T C

Dec 30, 2016

It is a little bit about theory, and lacks real exercises (even if there were some practical examples from real life). The most interesting topic is for sure the Collaboration.

By Andre S

Jun 15, 2017

I think the content course should bring a better framework to support HR Business Analyses. So far so much conceptual not real tools to use day to day.

By Andrea M

Dec 8, 2016

Useful in order to have a high level picture of each single aspect regarding Business Analytics. Maybe not to "exciting" for practical analysts

By Gladys L

Jan 7, 2017

I appreciate the professors, but I really hope we can have some hands on tools on how exactly can we analyze the data to make decisions.

By Serene T S H

May 5, 2016

Interesting general theories mentioned. It would be better if there real practical examples with analytic modelling are taught.

By debjit b

Mar 1, 2018

Learnt some concepts however, not a detailed example/ support with project would have helped. too much introductory

By Chand D

May 3, 2017

Good insights into people management concepts. The course can do better by providing some more analytics examples.

By Vikrant B

Jan 27, 2018

Provides a strong conceptual understanding, enlightens on what not to do. Could have been better on what to do

By Leonardo M

Apr 12, 2017

I missed more tools and practical examples of how to implement people analytics on organizations

By Ciara J

Jun 18, 2020

The course is interesting however in terms of take aways, it is more conceptual than practical

By Sangeeta S

May 27, 2020

The course was good but I was expecting more in terms of application by running a data set.

By Devanand S

May 14, 2018

Though the Course is more theoretical some of the examples discussed are hard to comprehend

By Julia S

Aug 1, 2018

Good review of theory, but almost not practical application or problems to work through.