Chevron Left
Back to People Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for People Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
5,201 ratings
987 reviews

About the Course

People analytics is a data-driven approach to managing people at work. For the first time in history, business leaders can make decisions about their people based on deep analysis of data rather than the traditional methods of personal relationships, decision making based on experience, and risk avoidance. In this brand new course, three of Wharton’s top professors, all pioneers in the field of people analytics, will explore the state-of-the-art techniques used to recruit and retain great people, and demonstrate how these techniques are used at cutting-edge companies. They’ll explain how data and sophisticated analysis is brought to bear on people-related issues, such as recruiting, performance evaluation, leadership, hiring and promotion, job design, compensation, and collaboration. This course is an introduction to the theory of people analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform complex talent management data analysis. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how and when hard data is used to make soft-skill decisions about hiring and talent development, so that you can position yourself as a strategic partner in your company’s talent management decisions. This course is intended to introduced you to Organizations flourish when the people who work in them flourish. Analytics can help make both happen. This course in People Analytics is designed to help you flourish in your career, too....

Top reviews

AA
Dec 21, 2018

Thank you so much for this very helpful module! I hope you continue to inspire HR professionals around the world to use HR Analytics as an important means to drive organizational-related decisions.

AK
Oct 4, 2020

detailed, yet high level enough to bring any specialist into the subject. provides useful information that is beyond people analytics. very recommended or any level/specification HR professional.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 975 Reviews for People Analytics

By Vishal S

Mar 25, 2017

It was a good experience

By Vedansh J

May 11, 2020

great course loved it

By Dhruval B P

Feb 15, 2021

Great introduction!

By Patience O

Aug 25, 2020

easy to understand

By FAITH M

Jun 12, 2020

Great facllitators

By chongrolee

Oct 14, 2017

very good overview

By nikita b

Nov 1, 2016

good course.......

By Kenya A R

Dec 5, 2017

Enjoyed learning

By JEVWEGAGA H

Aug 10, 2020

Quite revealing

By Shibaji M

Jan 4, 2016

Great Course

By Deepankar S

Apr 1, 2019

good course

By Justin A

Oct 2, 2017

Great stuff

By Angel S

Dec 23, 2015

Good course

By Ashutosh

Dec 12, 2018

Great

By Adithya S

May 24, 2017

good

By Naresh P

Aug 30, 2018

sac

By Mitesh M

Apr 14, 2020

NA

By Yew C C

Aug 23, 2016

ok

By Ashley K

Nov 29, 2020

I

By Joel E E

Jul 24, 2020

I want to thank you for the lessons learned in the People Analytics course, all learning will always be about growth and development.

The different approaches given in the course, allow us to explore fields and applications in Human Resources management, which is very much needed in the vast majority of organizations and in Human Resources departments as managers of this field.

I want to give you feedback on the opportunities presented in the course from the perspective of Business Analytics as a package of the 4 courses included:

1. There is no uniformity in the structure of the 4 courses, i.e. the training model is not systematic. There is no uniformity in the structure of the four courses, that is, the training model is not systematic. It seems that each course is independent of the other, and even if it is, it does not maintain a uniformity in what is offered as a model of key analytics: 1.

2. It seems that the same mistake is made that the same material in People Analytics points out, that is, while in the operational areas of the business, financial and commercial, the Business Analytics course works with numbers, excel sheets, calculations, and "dragging the pencil" in the People Analytics course is left to verbal word management, this is a great weakness in organizations, and it is evident in the development model of this part of the analytics course: presentation, slides, verbalized examples, and additional literature, but even in the case of the Collaboration Networks theme, we do not work hand in hand with the participant in developing a network on paper, let alone arrive at calculations of density, centricity, etc

3. There is a great opportunity to raise the standard of this module of People Analytics, when there is already updated literature as THE POWER OF PEOPLE from Harvard, or The Financial Analytics for HR Managers, where you can apply the tools that you offer for example in Operation Analytics, as the SOLVER model to optimize objectives, take them to projects of personnel management to optimize processes.

In this sense I feel a bit disappointed as a "customer" of the Business Analytics course, where some key concepts that they expose, are not taken to themselves in the course model itself.

This is something that the managers of the University of Pennsylvania should review, and work more with the user approach as a purchasing experience.

It leads me to think that both they are using this same information and what is reviewed in the forums, as to be direct and immediate input to make adjustments to their training processes, which coupled with the online system there is no replication to interact in a timely manner with teachers and management.

I mention this not in order to make a claim, but rather as a measure of congruence with the value and scope of the topic.

One thing I have learned with you, is that everything must lead us to maximize the result to the expected goal, in the midst of restrictions and with a leverage strategy. This takes me beyond asking myself, but rather raising, that this same scope of optimization models is not being carried out in the course methodology.

Still, I am grateful for the contribution they have made in the People Analytics course, to the extent that it has been given.

Thank you very much.

JOEL ESTRADA ESTRADA

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

By Anand V P

Mar 29, 2017

It broadly outlines the issues and challenges any one implementing HR analytics might face. It talked about the possible pitfalls in decisions and assumptions that you make.They have used analytics and psychological research from popular organizations to elucidate the concepts. I think its ideal course for you if you are a manager and have an analytics system in place. But as an HR student interested in analytics i would have benefited more if stuff like what are key metrics to track and what are the best tools and what kind and level of expertise is required(like statistics,DBMS etc). This course provides a bird's eye view while I wanted a worm's eye view.

By Lisa W

Mar 19, 2020

The course provides a good amount of information about People Analytics. However, the course assessments don't seem to align with the course learning objectives. It's tedious to go over all the instructional videos before taking the 10-questions quiz in each module. The instructors are knowledgeable and very passionate about the topics. More instructional design strategies are needed to make the course more engaging.

By Krzysiek S

Jan 17, 2016

The course indeed touches interesting materials. I especially found very interesting all the stories from sports domain and from real organizations. In addition, the reverse causality was interesting to here. However. Honestly, initially I was expecting to hear more specific hints and information. After the lectures, I am more aware of presented findings rather than how to implement it into organization.

By Nathan L A

Oct 12, 2016

A little pricey for the topics covered, but I like that it gave a high-level overview of some of the data science elements required to get into this field. I wouldn't consider this a basic course just because I don't think a novice could extract much values from it -- not is it comprehensive enough to be wholly-contained (to really extract value from this course, there needs to be indep

By Ryan C

Jan 5, 2016

The course was quite enjoyable and provided an overview of considerations for leaders and managers as it relates to people analytics. By employing some of the techniques covered, one will no doubt be in a better position for objectively hiring, evaluating, rewarding, retaining and promoting the best and most deserving employees.