Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
6,677 ratings
1,325 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC
Jul 30, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,298 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Emily M

Jan 29, 2018

A solid review of business statistics. I learned better during this course than I did in two semesters of business stats in college.

By Sahil K

Mar 27, 2020

Very good presentation of the concepts. Also, the examples that are used are very easy to understand and makes concepts more clear.

By kunal b

Dec 8, 2019

it was really very appropriate to understand the fundamentals of the quantitative modelling and its presented in a very simple way.

By Jonas M G

Nov 15, 2020

Great overview of quantitative modelling. Definitely recommended to those looking for a grasp on the topic to dive deeper later on

By Mirza D

Aug 19, 2020

Excellent course, professor is clear and concise and covers all needed material to advance in our studies. Keep up the good work !

By Assem S

Aug 16, 2020

Such a great course! Really useful because it helps me to better understand how to use mathematical models in practice! Thank you!

By Valentin Z

Sep 23, 2017

Brilliant Fundamentals! Outer simplicity hides a lot of systematized knowledge and very structured and intuitively clear material.

By Vedika M

Aug 6, 2017

I really liked the course but then I am having a few doubts plus I really want to interact with the professor if that is possible.

By debdeep b

Apr 25, 2020

Amazing in-depth understanding of statistical and modelling concepts with examples of how to relate it with real life situations!

By Nararya A D

Jun 2, 2019

This course helps me a lot with basic modelling understanding and how the theory relates to application in work-related activity

By James H

Jun 3, 2020

Great basis of knowledge, assumed no prior understanding. Was a bit basic for some, but for others I imagine it would be great!

By GÖKHAN T

Nov 10, 2016

This one is a great course, now I better understand the purpose of models and usefulness of regression models. Thank you a lot.

By Nataliya

Apr 6, 2020

Highly recommended. It's easy and very well structured. It helps to summarize information about modeling with useful examples.

By Sagar G

Feb 12, 2018

This is something I would recommend to students who are seeking to gain an insight towards the world of quantitative modeling.

By Christian M

Mar 10, 2019

This course was an excellent refresher and serves as a good foundation for anyone interested in modeling. Highly recommended.

By Vijaybhasker S

Jan 28, 2017

Very good and useful introduction. Logistic regression could have been expanded a little more, so that we can start using it.

By Eli B

Nov 8, 2016

The course provides a very good overview and fundamental knowledge toward thinking and designing models in the business world

By Gabriel C C T

Nov 11, 2018

An incredible and enjoyable course of study. The teacher has an excellent didactics and the content adds a lot to the career

By Tushar Y

Jun 8, 2020

Very basic and good course for beginners, The instructor is good and explains the course in depth without skipping anything

By Ahmed A K

Jul 30, 2018

Everything is very well explained and communicated by the Professor. Thank you for such an incredible learning opportunity.

By Palak c

Sep 1, 2018

it was really a great course . i learnt many new things through this course . it was a great experience doing this course

By Jonathan R

Aug 14, 2018

great introduction to the terminology, functions and purposes behind some of the business models that make up our economy

By Tal Y

May 28, 2020

Really interesting and explained very well with examples and formulas.

I would continue to the next course in the series!

By Ankush R

May 18, 2020

It is a great course for beginners. Everything is explained really well. A go-to course if you want to become a modeler.

By Ankur K

Mar 23, 2018

The faculty was amazing. The examples which he gave during the lectures were very practical and simple at the same time.