Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
6,022 ratings
1,206 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,180 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Patrick K

Feb 17, 2018

Many thanks for an impressive course delivery! Great use of graphics, examples and spot--on explanations. Dr Waterman breaks down the concepts (which have a rather discouraging sound to them) into little bits which a rookie in maths and statistics like myself can chew and digest.

By Sahil K

May 06, 2020

The course was really good. One thing that I would like to highlight is that professor does not interact much on the screen. Could have been a better course had the professor highlighted the graphs through some pointers on the screen as done in other courses provided by Wharton.

By Hina M B Z

May 25, 2020

Seriously one of the best courses i have taken online. I had nearly forgotten the least squares method and i finally recalled it. The explanation is amazing, the applications are simple but in-depth conceptual. I wish our Statistics professor in our university taught like this.

By Vishnu S K

Apr 29, 2020

As a total newbie to modeling, this course has tremendously helped in setting the base for further learning. The syllabus is basic and needs no background, except some very basic calculus to understand the mathematical functions.

I found the course very engaging and helpful.

By Andrew A E R

Apr 27, 2020

I loved the course, beautifully explained and tests are awesome. I guess I learned a new skill. Thanks, Coursera and Wharton university for proving this awesome course. I also would like to thank my course master Richard Waterman for his insights and teaching on the subject

By Misha A

May 10, 2017

Very well taught course with relevant examples from industry/business. Clear guidelines on the practical usage of the theory being taught.

Hopefully the upcoming courses in the specialization delves deeper into the concepts taught and strengthens the information provided

By Maxwell P

Jun 08, 2016

Professor Waterman presented the material in a clear and concise manner. This course is a great refresher to basic quantitative methods, and does a great job introducing more complex methods as well. Following courses build directly upon this one, so I highly recommend!

By Lai K C

Feb 29, 2016

The learned instructor Mr Richard Waterman is great in explaining sophisticated mathematical/statistical terms or concepts in simple, concise and easy-to-understand way. Great and useful for mature working professional who are out of touch with mathematics/statistics.

By Pawan C

Jul 18, 2018

A wonderful way to learn the fundamentals of modelling, specifically if one is new to the subject. The best part is that the explanation is very crisp and its easy to understand even complex fundamentals. Go for it guys and you will not regret the investment of time.

By Joswa A

Apr 07, 2017

The course is really comprehensive yet very simple to understand. I like how he explains every lessons with examples on how to use this functions and formulas in modeling. Hope to finish this whole specialization courses to further understand financial modeling! :)

By Samik D

Jun 07, 2020

This course was delivered succinctly, and with a great explanatory way. I was going back to Statistics after many years, and also learning some new things in terms of basics of Regression Modeling, and this course has definitely rekindled my love for Statistics!

By Eduards G

Apr 12, 2020

Perfectly summarized key concepts of quantitative modeling in an easy to understand manner. Professor very articulate and the learning modules very well structured. Great real world examples.

Quizes allow for broader understanding of the obtained knowledge.

By Justin F

Jun 07, 2017

Great introduction to modeling techniques. Regression was covered the most in-depth, but it would have been nice to see this coverage extended to the probabilistic graphical models discussed briefly in the beginning. Still a great short course to take.

By Rob P

Sep 26, 2017

The tutor for this case is great. Everything explained thoroughly with real world examples throughout that help to ground the more abstract mathematical concepts. For anyone looking to get their head around modelling for Business I'd highly recommend.

By Sahil T

Aug 21, 2019

The course is well structured and easy to understand. The instructor of the course was very enthusiastic and knew the subject thoroughly. I recommend all those who are planning to understand quantitative modeling from the basic to attend this course.

By Sayed A S

Aug 03, 2017

I have studied the same subject in my MBA program with a different teaching method, the study materials of this course is designed based on the need of the students, I have learned so many things after the completing the first portion of this course.

By Ashutosh S

Apr 11, 2020

This introductory fundamental course if properly designed to provide a broad understanding of the quantitative models used in business. The method of teaching and the usage of various practical examples by the instructor is very good. Recommended.

By Myat-Hsu " M

Jun 26, 2018

Lecture is taught in a clear and precise format and the majority of quiz questions come straight from the corresponding lecture. As a result, I was able to receive above passing grades with a good amount of effort and knowledge learned in class.

By Kamran W

Jul 22, 2017

Learned a lot about quantitative modeling. Much better understanding of regression modeling including the insight on how sometimes a residual could be a good indication of an opportunity of an underpriced asset. Very clear explanation of E(Y| X)

By Emre B

Jun 07, 2020

This course paved the way for me to understand the basis of quantitative modeling, not only conveying the statistical features of modeling but also explaining how this core knowledge could be very practical when applied to real-life situations.

By Vishal N

Apr 24, 2017

Videos and PDF notes are excellent - brief, direct, to the point. Current and good use of timing. Good quiz questions that test your understanding. Really enjoying this course compared to others attempted. would definitely recommend. thank you

By José L R C

Nov 15, 2019

You learn the essential concepts needed to understand an apply various models to your data.

I like the fact that it wasn't very immersive about calculation details, but focused on the importance of each type of model, when and how to use them.

By Shubham B

Apr 15, 2020

The course offers you a learning edge in Quantitative Modelling and also makes one understand the basics as well as the interpretations, the valuation techniques, the predictors, etc. which plays an important role while modelling a scenario.

By ARAVIND A

Sep 18, 2018

This is a great course to get the basics of quantitative modeling. It's wonderfully taught by Prof. Richard Waterman. Thank you Sir. I would also like to convey my gratitude to Coursera for making such wonderful courses accessible to all.

By Akshay K

Mar 08, 2016

I took this course as I wanted to discover the Quantitative side of Business Modeling. And Thanks to Sir Richard Waterman, I loved the concepts and understood them easily. I look forward to associate myself with UPenn in near future :)