Chevron Left
Back to Writing, Running, and Fixing Code in C

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing, Running, and Fixing Code in C by Duke University

4.5
276 ratings
51 reviews

About the Course

Building on the course Programming Fundamentals, this course will teach you how to write code by first planning what your program should do—an important approach for novice and professional programmers. You will learn how to compile and run your program, and then how to test and debug it. This course builds on the Seven Steps you have already learned and provides a framework for systematically testing for problems and fixing them, so you can find and fix problems efficiently....

Top reviews

SK

Dec 24, 2018

Very detailed and very helpful. Thanks to the tutors for putting together such a detailed course where nothing seems rushed while at the same time everything is explained.

EM

Jan 04, 2019

This course gives you a great overview (in reasonable depth) of the tools and concepts that you need when starting as a novice programmer. Strongly recommended.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 50 Reviews for Writing, Running, and Fixing Code in C

By saaleem p

Sep 08, 2018

I didn't understand a thing and they expect too much from beginners.

Also they try to make simple things complicated.

By Aliki D

Jul 14, 2019

Similarly to the bad quality of the first course, there was not enough content for a beginner.

The videos were not enough, the readings were confusing.

As a beginner, I had a very hard time to understand the material and to deliver results. A lot of personal research in online material and videos was required in order to understand the supposedly 'Beginner' material provided by this course.

In overall, the material was complicated and confusing and not at all helpful for a beginner. I would say it was a discouraging experience for a beginner.

I wouldn't recommend it for true beginners to programming, only if you are experienced in other languages you can go through easily through this course.

By Patrick H

Jan 13, 2019

Great lectures and readings, but some of the assignments at the end took quite a while due to the instructions being slightly unclear. The instructions could be improved by letting the student know what context their function is going to be called in by the grader script. For example, is the grader going to call my function in main, or within another function I wrote? Also, is the grader going to print using its own printf call, or is it going to call my print function (which is important to know, as it may or may not effect the state of the output variables if the print function is calling other functions). Besides those minor nitpicks, it was a great course overall.

By Ehsan M

Jan 04, 2019

This course gives you a great overview (in reasonable depth) of the tools and concepts that you need when starting as a novice programmer. Strongly recommended.

By Damien E B

Dec 31, 2018

Wonderful course. The black-box testing was very puzzling, and I wish that I had had access to some pseudocode. Will you every have a job where you have a test code without knowing the programming intent? A small gripe.

By Stephen L

Mar 19, 2018

The course description says that it's aimed at beginners and that has proven to be true. Most quizzes and assignments can be answered directly from the material presented in the course. Basic troubleshooting strategies are presented and the student is introduced to gnu gdb. The course forum is active with a very high instructor participation rate.

The only mark against taking this course would be the Coursera platform itself. The forums are full of messages of people completing assignments and not being given credit for it. Then the instructors have to work behind the scenes with Coursera to get them to correct their error.

By Martin H

Apr 10, 2019

The course itself is nice, but the testing is horrible. In no company in the world you would not know the testcase. In this course you have to guess them. That was crazy

By Don M

Dec 17, 2018

This was an enjoyable and informative course.

By Shubham J

Jan 05, 2019

Learned more and exercised more!

By Gastón M

Mar 03, 2019

Great course

By Teemu K

Mar 11, 2019

The blackbox testing assigments were sometimes frustrating, But I think forrcing to think about those was good for me :).

By AMRIT S

Dec 20, 2018

helpful content

By Saurabh K

Dec 24, 2018

Very detailed and very helpful. Thanks to the tutors for putting together such a detailed course where nothing seems rushed while at the same time everything is explained.

By Jimmy K A

Dec 09, 2018

Excellent course

By Jakub M

Jan 13, 2019

An excellent course. Even though I have previous experience with languages like Python and Java, C is very much different. This course explains everything in depth and is very challenging even for people with some previous knowledge.

By Fabrício B

Jun 16, 2018

The test case exercises are a bit of a let down, but this course is great.

By Jesus D

Jul 26, 2018

It is a great course, excellent methodology. Recommended course

By Veer A

Jul 30, 2018

Very nice course, very helpful and knowledgeable faculty.

By Vladimir M

Nov 04, 2018

Black box testing is very useful skill.

I would never use gdb if these guys did not make me. I'm happy they did! :)

By Neelesh N

Aug 20, 2018

By this you can increase your knowledge in c programming

By Davis K

Aug 18, 2018

Excellent course!! It gives the desire to finish the specialization!!

By LE T K N

May 10, 2019

Great! Learn how to debug and how to use some useful tools to test your code. Even though the final projects in course 2 is hard but worth trying, take your time, ask your instructors when you're stuck and learn something new in the discussion forum.

By Brandon G

May 15, 2019

Great introduction into learning how to develop algorithms, translating them into code (compiling them), testing that code, and debugging that code.

By Seth

May 30, 2019

Excellent, extremely helpful. A very thorough and professional course!

By Oliver H

Aug 14, 2019

Great course. Challenging assignments but with the help of the discussion forums feasible.

The structure of the course and especially the assignments can give you a great learning success - much better than just reading a book or watching some programming videos.