Chevron Left
Back to Writing, Running, and Fixing Code in C

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing, Running, and Fixing Code in C by Duke University

4.3
stars
787 ratings

About the Course

Building on the course Programming Fundamentals, this course will teach you how to write code by first planning what your program should do—an important approach for novice and professional programmers. You will learn how to compile and run your program, and then how to test and debug it. This course builds on the Seven Steps you have already learned and provides a framework for systematically testing for problems and fixing them, so you can find and fix problems efficiently....

Top reviews

KK

May 30, 2020

Instructors and the instructors who moderate the forums are great. It is a bit different way to look at programming but it makes sense and I would recommend to anyone who wants to learn C

AE

Jun 14, 2020

It is actually a hard course i guess you need to have at least the basics as some of the assignments were really hard take me a lot of time to do them. especially the poker assignment

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 191 Reviews for Writing, Running, and Fixing Code in C

By Courtney J

Jul 11, 2019

the PPE is really annoying -- times out arbitrarily, does weird things if you type more characters than the line allows.

By Noppadon P

Dec 25, 2020

This course looks boring at first sight but when you try to complete the course's assignment it is very challenging

By KietQTHE163599

May 7, 2021

No enough help for the test case evaluation exercises and some other exercises. Aside, every thing else is perfect

By Øyvind M E

Jun 1, 2020

Good course, but if you're stuck on a particular coding problem it might take some time to fix it.

By Preeti

Jul 11, 2020

I am learn lot of thing and also clear all my doubt

It is best course for study c language

By Dickson

Jul 1, 2022

Really challenging but learnt a lot. Hope the grading assignment could be more humane.

By HITESH G

Jun 13, 2019

poker question requires need more info so that students could understand ques easily

By Mike C

Jul 28, 2022

Some of the assignments(testing) may cause too much frustration for new programmers

By ch4ewon

Nov 26, 2018

the last tast was awful though,

it was helpful to understand what is "test"

By Sarath K A

Dec 1, 2020

Good course. But some projects were a bit confusing for me.

By Ahmed K

Nov 24, 2021

this was exponentially getting harder to work with

By Farman A T

Aug 8, 2020

Firstly hard to beginner but very helpful.

By PARTHKUMAR M

May 30, 2020

assignment is little bit tough

By Vishwajith K

Apr 17, 2020

Liked way of presentation

By Shubham P

Apr 30, 2020

assignment is god level

By B S

Apr 2, 2020

difficult course!

By Thịnh L Q

Aug 28, 2019

Amazing content

By Barna R

Aug 15, 2020

great session.

By Himanshu k

Aug 22, 2020

well

By Akshay

Jul 11, 2020

The Readings sections in the course need a major revision. I had to spent hours trying to understand what was being conveyed. Also the README files of the assignment tasks. The language used was confusing and many times the instructions were not clear. I would suggest a revision of all the problem statements and readings.

By Blaine C

Jul 9, 2019

Alright course so far. However, to me, the README seem cryptic at times. There are times when I was saying, "WTF are they trying to say." Not a fan of VIM/EMACS, too. There were instances when redirecting stdout did nothing--had to copy the contents, rm the file, and make it again. Why? Problem on my end?

By Xuejia D

Jan 4, 2021

Some assignments are not very clear with instructions and even a huge jump between assignments. I can only get help from Forum. Sometimes one problem can stop you for several days until someone answer your question in forum.

By Eric C

May 25, 2022

The programing environment and grading system is pretty hard to use. I would rather write offline in my VSCode and upload my file for check in Coursera. I believe there is way to do so.

By Leonid P

Jun 18, 2018

This course is very good (and teaches you how to use different tools like gdb and emacs), but was have some bugs with grading.

By Anshuman S

Jun 16, 2024

This is NOT for beginners, this was too tough. You need to have a basic understanding of c syntax already !