Chevron Left
Back to Accounting Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Accounting Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
2,686 ratings
496 reviews

About the Course

Accounting Analytics explores how financial statement data and non-financial metrics can be linked to financial performance.  In this course, taught by Wharton’s acclaimed accounting professors, you’ll learn how data is used to assess what drives financial performance and to forecast future financial scenarios. While many accounting and financial organizations deliver data, accounting analytics deploys that data to deliver insight, and this course will explore the many areas in which accounting data provides insight into other business areas including consumer behavior predictions, corporate strategy, risk management, optimization, and more. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how financial data and non-financial data interact to forecast events, optimize operations, and determine strategy. This course has been designed to help you make better business decisions about the emerging roles of accounting analytics, so that you can apply what you’ve learned to make your own business decisions and create strategy using financial data. ...

Top reviews

FA
Jun 11, 2018

One of the most practical courses I have taken in Coursera. Highly recommended for professionals in Business, Strategy, and Finance & Accounting departments, as well as stock market investors.

PB
Feb 4, 2016

The course makes accounting interesting and especially the examples are very illustrative. Virtual students bring some fun. The 4th week is however really integrated in the course structure.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 487 Reviews for Accounting Analytics

By Bojan B

Feb 6, 2016

I would add more examples on how to populate the data, even spend time on optional videos where the professor or his assistant goes through testing ratios (something similar to Operations Analytics). I feel like the professor was rushing through his explanations and the models. Maybe people found the course very useful however I felt like there was too much text and immediate switch to Excel file that was elaborated shortly. Overall, I am not sure how to apply these ratios in my final project...

By Gladys L

Feb 10, 2017

I love the professors, but unfortunately, I do not feel much connection to me (not really seeing so much importance for me to identifying if a company is making fake financial statements; I am not an investor, and my everyday work does not really have so much to do with financial statements).

The Managerial Accounting (week 4) transforms my mindset!! I really appreciate that. That one single week of course can literally help so many companies/NGOs. That week 4 should be promoted more!!

By Juan P A

Feb 2, 2016

I liked it, although I felt like they were 2 courses: One for the first three weeks, another one during the last week.

The "First Course" was OK, but it was regular accounting stuff. I was rusty on that so I enjoyed it.

The "Second Course" was the one related with Analytics.

I give it 3 Stars because you can see some lack of preparation in the team. And because didn't made a proper link between Accounting and Analytics.

By Koen V

Jan 9, 2018

The first two weeks were not interesting for me (and that made it hard to get through them). The third was already a bit better and the fourth was the most interesting week. It was because in my position I don't compare companies, I work in one company and I'm trying to implement the best accounting analytics for that company. I'm not trying to identify whether my company is conducting fraud.

By Fady S

Aug 2, 2018

I know it's first time to give low rank but unfortunately this is about my feelings to this course, because in that course it's disappointing in order to it connects to finance professionals I don't have that knowledge about finance, I thought it will give me the full knowledge about that field like other courses in the same Specialization.

By Swetha M

May 9, 2016

With my Accounts/Business/Finance/Statistics Graduation/Post Graduation Education and Teaching & Work Experience, I believe the Professor/Educator who Designed and Presented this Course requires atleast a Basic Training before putting together an important Course like Accounting Analytics.

By Lukas F

Jul 31, 2017

The first part pretty much covers a common valuation class which is fine, however, the videos weren't anywhere near an academic niveau. A lot of useless information and not serious enough for a learning platform. The last video was very well explained and informative.

By Majid A

Jun 4, 2016

Sorry to say but among the four courses of this specialization, this one really disappointed me. Not the fault of teachers or institute, i think the only mistake they made is try to fit too many topics in one course. Anyway this is only my opinion!

By Mercedes S

Oct 26, 2018

A lot of information and was good for getting a general jist of the accounts side of things, however I found it more complex/information-loaded than need be, considering the specialization claims you do not need any past experience for the course.

By titus l

Mar 20, 2016

Prof Brian Bushee is really excellent but I felt that Prof Chris Ittner's lecture was quite fluffy for an analytics course. Would have appreciated practice problems and case study practices like the operation analytics class

By Abed A

Apr 26, 2020

I found Week 1,2,3 with Professor Bushee hard to digest and the exams were not easy. I expected better explanations of the concepts. I found the other instructors in other parts of the specialization way more effective.

By synthia n

Mar 16, 2018

Some concepts were really interesting and easy to understand and some of them were really tough. But I guess this is because i have very little background in accounting. Good course though.

By Francisco A V P

Mar 13, 2017

The course itself is good. Nevertheless, it says that it doesn't require any previous experience... But there is actually experience required on financial statements and concepts.

By Andrew T

Oct 26, 2020

should include more exercises in week 3. lecturer did a decent job in explaining this difficult topic like earning management but could do better explaining it more cleaarly.

By afif m

Aug 28, 2020

I don't have the background in accounting. It is too hard for me to follow the lesson. However, I still could follow the lesson, even though I must give more energy there.

By Shankar S

May 29, 2020

The tests were from Weeks 1-3 were very very inaccurate, and full of mistakes. These mistakes were extremely time consuming, and made the overall experience disappointing.

By Anne E L J

Jan 22, 2016

Great introduction to Accounting Analytics. Unexpected lecturing dialogues. Could have more analytics or additional or optional problem sets to explore more deeply.

By Fai C

May 26, 2017

Lecturers have tried their best to make this course look interesting. But, for me, I don't like doing Accounting. Working very hard to get passed this course.

By Maxwell F K

May 21, 2020

Week 1 to 3 was just touches on the base and not explained to the maximum level for beginners in accounting to actually relate and move with the sessions.

By Pablo L

Oct 4, 2019

The first three weeks needed Problem Sets to apply the learning, something that greatly enhanced the Operations Analytics course.

By Tetiana L

Apr 13, 2016

Курс описан как не требующих предварительных знаний. На самом деле требует определенных первичных знаний, поэтому 3.

By Sam C

Apr 8, 2020

Sorry - although the content was good, really didnt like the virtual classroom! Made it hard to concentrate

By Niklas W S

Sep 2, 2019

Ok, course. I don't think it was as well prepared and thought through as the other courses.

By Muhammad H A

Nov 17, 2017

Hastily taught. The instructors were not thorough with the coursework.

By Serene T S H

Aug 13, 2016

difficult for people without accounting background to take.