Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Data Structures in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Data Structures in Java by University of California San Diego

4.8
stars
1,176 ratings
291 reviews

About the Course

How does Google Maps plan the best route for getting around town given current traffic conditions? How does an internet router forward packets of network traffic to minimize delay? How does an aid group allocate resources to its affiliated local partners? To solve such problems, we first represent the key pieces of data in a complex data structure. In this course, you’ll learn about data structures, like graphs, that are fundamental for working with structured real world data. You will develop, implement, and analyze algorithms for working with this data to solve real world problems. In addition, as the programs you develop in this course become more complex, we’ll examine what makes for good code and class hierarchy design so that you can not only write correct code, but also share it with other people and maintain it in the future. The backbone project in this course will be a route planning application. You will apply the concepts from each Module directly to building an application that allows an autonomous agent (or a human driver!) to navigate its environment. And as usual we have our different video series to help tie the content back to its importance in the real world and to provide tiered levels of support to meet your personal needs....

Top reviews

DB
Oct 12, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SU
Jun 7, 2017

Fantastic course! I would recommend to anyone interested in learning the graph data structure in a fun and hands-on and engaging way! Definitely one of the best courses I have followed on Coursera.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 278 Reviews for Advanced Data Structures in Java

By Pooya S

May 25, 2016

good job however I think it was quite short and quite shallow

By Shreyas C S

Jul 30, 2016

Nicely explained and challenging projects.

By Leonel S A S

Jun 7, 2016

Really nice finish to the specialization.

By Rajat B

Oct 25, 2020

great course but a bit of overkill

By ROHIT K R

May 1, 2017

Very well structured course.

By Shaharyar

Jul 23, 2020

I enjoyed this course

By Dasari M

Oct 13, 2020

Nice hands on course

By Syed M A Z

Aug 9, 2016

great course :)

By Amardeep M

Sep 7, 2016

Nice course!

By Ian K

May 9, 2020

very hard

By BRYAN A S

May 8, 2020

naiwan

By Moritz G

Mar 23, 2020

fbcvbx

By DOUGLAS H

Jun 26, 2018

.

By Abhishek A

Sep 22, 2020

It Helped me a lot to study different algorithms and concept challenges. The Only Problems was regarding debugging an mentor help which was totally disregarded. Worst Experience in Case of mentor help in Coursera elsewhere course was something one couldn't imagine of and had fun coding.

By Samsun

Dec 29, 2015

Compared to the previous 2 courses, this one seemed to have been made in rush. Not enough materials covered, nor enough Java practice opportunity. The course title is misleading because it does not cover any other data structures but graph.

By Paul S

Jun 16, 2016

The first 3 weeks are really good, 5 stars. Weeks 4 and 5 are way too light. Week 4 has no programming assignment and a short class and 5 has a weak programming assignment and no class.

By Robert H

Jan 5, 2016

There is not enough background information, no reading assignments. This makes the course less understandable. Also, the examples given not related to the stated assignment

By Vlad

Apr 19, 2016

Introduction to data structures. It wastes a week talking about theoretical complexity when it could have been used for something more productive.

By James S

Sep 21, 2016

The last 2 lessons did not have much content. Particularly there was no practical assessment on traveling salesman

By Henry Y

Dec 28, 2015

Felt like it was a bit rushed and some of these concepts like Dijkstra definitely deserve a lot more attention.

By LeoZhang

Jan 19, 2016

learning graph with Java while reviewing varieties of java advanced data structure. in a word, help me a lot.

By elwood f

Jun 26, 2018

good materials, learnt a lot but human interaction is a desert think this course is too old maybe

By SUGAM A B ( i C

Aug 31, 2020

Beginner course. I thought it was intermediate.

By Bon-Yong L

Nov 22, 2016

So So.

Not good to learn an algorithm

By Justin M

Jul 22, 2020

I liked the subject matter and it was nice to have half the class focus on algorithm development and application, but a lot of obvious teaching was not done. I don't like courses that essentially require me to teach myself by googling things (implement Comparable in this case) as I'm taking a course to have the information/skills presented to me.