Chevron Left
Back to Advanced R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.3
stars
485 ratings
121 reviews

About the Course

This course covers advanced topics in R programming that are necessary for developing powerful, robust, and reusable data science tools. Topics covered include functional programming in R, robust error handling, object oriented programming, profiling and benchmarking, debugging, and proper design of functions. Upon completing this course you will be able to identify and abstract common data analysis tasks and to encapsulate them in user-facing functions. Because every data science environment encounters unique data challenges, there is always a need to develop custom software specific to your organization’s mission. You will also be able to define new data types in R and to develop a universe of functionality specific to those data types to enable cleaner execution of data science tasks and stronger reusability within a team....

Top reviews

MS

Feb 12, 2020

Brilliant course. Loved Week 4 for OOP. This was really new for me and would love to have been able to see its application in real world examples to better cement the concepts.

FZ

Jun 07, 2017

Very useful, I considered myself quite an advanced R user, but this class raised the level, especially with the R as OOB part. Good investment if you are not a beginner.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 117 Reviews for Advanced R Programming

By Marc F

Feb 23, 2017

For me the course provided a quick and easy introduction to the 'purr' package as well as clarity on the current state of R's object oriented programming system.

By Michael w

Apr 13, 2018

I have learned a lot . All the courses are neat and precise. It helps me a lot. The materials and the questions are detailed .

Thank you for your dedication.

By Izandro M M

Mar 11, 2018

this is a must for those who want to improve their programming skills in R. As an advanced course, this is a little bit harder, but don`t give up!

By Nikiforova N

Apr 06, 2020

That was exactly what I was looking for - first steprs In functional programming with perfect explanations and nice tasks via R :)

By Jason S

Oct 31, 2017

The final homework assignment is tough if you are a newcomer to R. It is sink or swim time. Worth it if you can get through it.

By Petko S

May 18, 2018

Awesome course! Learned a lot! It is mandatory if you would like to become an experienced R user, not just programmer!

By Carlos C

May 28, 2017

More advanced, challenging course. Still, enjoyable and enlightening. Mentoring on this course is really helpful too!

By Michal K

Nov 29, 2019

Good course, nothing much to say, definitely teaches the use of R, not quite sure it is "advanced" but I guess...

By vwslz

Jun 12, 2020

The last assignment did take a while but worth it. Really appreciate for proving such a well-organized course.

By Gregorio A A P

Aug 26, 2017

Excellent, but I would be grateful if you could translate all your courses of absolute quality into Spanish.

By Cardy M I

Sep 26, 2017

This course helped me to figure out what additional skills I need to work on to improve my R coding skills.

By Fergus I

Mar 16, 2017

Amazing course. Smooth learning experience yet with increasing difficulty. Challenging and addictive.

By Neville A

Jan 07, 2017

The course has given me good insight into the functional and object oriented programming parts of R.

By SANTOSH B

May 19, 2020

Excellent course. Gives you a depth knowledge and hands-on experience on Advanced R Programming.

By Weisi C

Aug 23, 2017

a little challenging but good for people who want to work on programming from the beginning

By Kevin K

Sep 06, 2018

Great course. Challenging and I learn a lot of new techniques to improve my R skills.

By Mayank V

Jan 26, 2019

Very knowledge and rigourous course, developed for comprehensive concept building.

By Yang Z

Jul 19, 2017

The peer-graded assessment is really helpful for learning OOP implementing in R!

By David R M H

Jun 22, 2020

Great course if you want to start learning object oriented programming with R.

By Abhinav S

Jul 06, 2018

Superb!! Assignment is really time-consuming, hard but super interesting!

By Conner M

Sep 21, 2017

Excellent course for improving R programming skills. Highly recommended.

By Jonathan D

Mar 08, 2018

Very useful course. Thanks for providing the course and it's materials

By Faizan U F K

Feb 25, 2017

Great course material with engaging assignments. Strongly recommended.

By Ioannis O

Nov 10, 2019

A well-structured course on advanced and object-oriented programming.

By Michael K

Apr 20, 2017

Great course. Learned a lot about R programming in practical terms.