Chevron Left
Back to Advanced R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.3
427 ratings
103 reviews

About the Course

This course covers advanced topics in R programming that are necessary for developing powerful, robust, and reusable data science tools. Topics covered include functional programming in R, robust error handling, object oriented programming, profiling and benchmarking, debugging, and proper design of functions. Upon completing this course you will be able to identify and abstract common data analysis tasks and to encapsulate them in user-facing functions. Because every data science environment encounters unique data challenges, there is always a need to develop custom software specific to your organization’s mission. You will also be able to define new data types in R and to develop a universe of functionality specific to those data types to enable cleaner execution of data science tasks and stronger reusability within a team....

Top reviews

FZ

Jun 07, 2017

Very useful, I considered myself quite an advanced R user, but this class raised the level, especially with the R as OOB part. Good investment if you are not a beginner.

JY

May 08, 2017

It is a good course that forced me to understand the s3 and s4 object of R and have gained an appreciation of "methods belonging to functions not belonging to objects".

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 99 Reviews for Advanced R Programming

By Abhishek

May 13, 2017

Awesome interactive Swirl

By Juan C L G

May 30, 2017

Un Curso excelente, alta mente recomendado. Agradecido por Coursera y los creadores de esta modalidad de aprendizaje que brinda oportunidades a entusiastas que buscan un crecimiento profesional.

By Sayan S

May 25, 2018

Great curriculum. However, I feel the OOP examples could have been designed from basic - intermediate - advanced levels. Else, it is good to have a separate module on advanced 'OOP' using S3, S4. More examples we work on, better we will get at it.

By Krzysztof K

Jul 19, 2017

Very good way to get familiar with advanced R concepts..

By Weisi C

Aug 23, 2017

a little challenging but good for people who want to work on programming from the beginning

By Sai C J

Mar 19, 2017

Fantastic One..!

By Aditya N P

Jul 17, 2017

This course is fantastic. It explains two very important concepts - Functional Programing and Object Oriented Programing in simple yet detailed manner. Assignments are helpful in finetuning the OOP concepts. After completion of this course, I am pretty comfortable with R as a program

By William L K

Aug 09, 2017

Excellent course, well organized.

By Abhinav S

Jul 06, 2018

Superb!! Assignment is really time-consuming, hard but super interesting!

By Fergus I

Mar 16, 2017

Amazing course. Smooth learning experience yet with increasing difficulty. Challenging and addictive.

By Francisco A M

Feb 22, 2018

Excelente!

By Noor S

Jun 11, 2018

More options/possibilities in R explained. Useful and practic

By Jason S

Oct 31, 2017

The final homework assignment is tough if you are a newcomer to R. It is sink or swim time. Worth it if you can get through it.

By Jonathan D

Mar 08, 2018

Very useful course. Thanks for providing the course and it's materials

By Ganapathi N K

May 20, 2018

Nice

By Beyhan G

Feb 01, 2017

perfect

By Gregorio A A P

Aug 26, 2017

Excellent, but I would be grateful if you could translate all your courses of absolute quality into Spanish.

By GUDA L

Nov 19, 2017

The course is very helpful.

By Sandjaja B

Mar 08, 2018

Very meaningful class and it teaches so many things, with so many exercises and test exam that basically force us to leverage every bits of learning that we directly learn from the class. Definitely would recommend.

By ACHANTA J S

Nov 10, 2017

It was good

By JEEWESH K J

Oct 27, 2017

Great Course

By 郑涣樾 H Z

Feb 06, 2018

nice course, and I really got a lot of help here.

By Ayush T

Jul 30, 2019

This is really a good course to get started with the R language if someone has an idea about basic programming in other scripting languages. Course content is well organized and the pace of the course is also good enough to follow up easily in busy schedules.

By Georgios P

Aug 03, 2019

Nice and easy to follow! R6 classes should have been included!

By Prakhar P

Aug 09, 2019

This course introduced me how to deal with the real world challenges in R programming while developing applications. The solid guidelines and methods detailed in Mastering Software Development in R book by Roger D Peng presents and specifically in this course what it means to do robust programming in R and at the same time be aware of its limitations and error handling techniques.