Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
1,510 ratings
362 reviews

About the Course

Course 3: Advanced Writing This is the third course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By raising your level of academic writing, this course helps prepare you for college-level work. After completing this course, you will be able to: - plan and write a more sophisticated argument essay - identify plagiarism and explain how to prevent it - read and analyze several articles to form your own opinion on a topic - make connections between several articles - form thesis statements from your readings - use sources effectively when writing an essay Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

DB
Aug 16, 2016

An absolutely wonderful course! I learned a lot about advanced essay writing. I think it is a must-take course for those who are interested in writing academic and research essays!

UL
Oct 5, 2020

This is one of the most interesting course on Coursera. I'm really glad that I completed the course and earned a certificate. The videos and the PDF documents are very informative!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 356 Reviews for Advanced Writing

By Jeon J

Jun 16, 2017

Definitely, it is helpful for us

By Supantha R

Aug 8, 2020

The course was quite good.

By Udit S

Jul 2, 2020

Very helpful course

By ammar a

Feb 6, 2016

great course thnx

By Tanvi U

Aug 9, 2020

well explained.

By lorenzo m v

May 24, 2016

Excellent

By Tanvir H

Jul 23, 2020

osthir

By Amirhosein F

Jul 23, 2020

Good

By Rabbi h

Apr 30, 2020

good

By sandra

Feb 22, 2016

:D

By Wei L

Oct 28, 2018

1) Course content not systematic and sophisticated enough.

2) The lecturer seems not qualified or knowledgeable enough about the course topic. e.g. Regarding the MLA Works Cited format, she only gave some limited examples, without explaining it clearly.

3) The quiz’s are not designed well, for the course owner simply copied a number of existing flash/video quiz’s embedded in between the lectures, which are not of high quality. Besides, the quiz’s at the end of each lecture are to short and too facile/easy.

4) The course depends hugely on peer review, but I don't get as much as I expected from it, partly because the grading standards are not well designed.

By Erin J M

Feb 7, 2016

I wasn't sure what to expect with the Advanced Writing course. Again, peer review was unnecessarily harsh because people don't understand the flexibility and nuance of writing, but it's definitely informative and has made me a more mature academic writer. This specialization is well worth it, for the videos alone. The instructor is clear and the videos are very concise.

By Sharon S

Sep 4, 2016

The course is fine as far as content. My complaint is that there is no one to contact regarding papers or questions. You are left to the other students for your grading and assignment completion, meaning that some of your assignments can hang there for weeks before ever getting reviewed.

By Sergio A G M

Feb 13, 2016

It has good content, but there were missing classes to give more advices or clear any question students have, when grading peer review homeworks there were plenty of mistakes that would have been avoided if there were more video lectures or forums with teachers.

By Dashrath R

Jul 7, 2020

It was a great experience to learn these things, before I want aware about that, now I now soothing and this will help to learn and rectify unfamiliar things .

By salamades

Aug 14, 2016

Not the course id think it would be.

I learn less information than i d expect but these were still usefull information.

By Aditya U

Feb 11, 2020

I got what i needed from this course, so i wish not to continue with it anymore.

It was a very helpful course.

By Dr. S H

Jun 6, 2020

Peer review systems does not guarantee accuracy of personal development

By Azeezathul S I

Aug 13, 2020

Advanced English is very useful to me to learn about how to write it.

By Mark G W

Feb 18, 2020

Thank you. I learned a lot of this course.

By Rhonda S H

Oct 2, 2016

it is okay, not what I expected, but okay.

By 刘诗琦

Mar 17, 2017

把学术剽窃专门拎出来讲也是非常良心了。

By Fulgence M

Jun 22, 2017

good

By Adam S

Nov 3, 2016

It helps you build your essay-writing muscles gradually. Too much emphasis on plagiarism. Some flaws in the grading forms. The level of the participants is quite mixed, most feedback they give is useless ("good").

By Digby D

May 22, 2018

Disgustingly juvenile for what alleges to be an "Advanced" course, avoid if you care about writing quality essays or writing in general.