Chevron Left
Back to After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

Learner Reviews & Feedback for After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure by University of Copenhagen

4.7
stars
314 ratings
81 reviews

About the Course

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

Top reviews

JY

Apr 15, 2020

Provides a fascinating and important approach to studying this topic. The professor's framework and intellectual depth enriched my understanding of this important and enduring problem.

LK

Oct 13, 2018

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 81 Reviews for After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

By Andreas M

Feb 27, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. The material is presented in a well thought out manner, the videos are impeccable. The course and instructor gives a much needed intellectual input about a situation that seems very unclear from the outside!

By Tofail A

Sep 28, 2019

Religious extremism and dogmatism are seems to a threat to humankind since WW I, this is an excellent way to learn the reality what exactly going on in the middle east After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure.

By Ahmed D

Sep 30, 2019

Dr. Afsah delivered a fascinating course about the Arab Spring and he states his reasoning for the tragic failure of Arab states rationally and clearly. This course is a huge contribution to any students understanding of the region.

By Rick a D N V

May 19, 2019

An useful overview of the Arab Spring events, its causes, consequences, and outlooks. A course which gives opportunity for rethinking the Arab world in a more profound perspective, without clichés and easy answers. A great course!

By Amani E A

Aug 29, 2017

This is one of the most informative, authentic and analytical courses. The examples given by the amazing Dr. Ibrahim are true and to the point. All my respect to the sincere Professor and to the wonderful crew of Coursera.

By Mohammed A R B

Mar 21, 2020

For any one want to study politics, law etc. Or want to know why Arab countries have collapsed and the reasons that led to Arab Spring. This great course will give you the knowledge and the information that you need.

By Afaque R A

Feb 24, 2018

An absolute masterpiece. Too many lessons, learnings and reasons for dysfunctional muslim and Arab societies mentioned and nicely explained in this course are directly applicable to the Pakistani case as well.

By Kees S

Mar 01, 2018

Although I liked the course I found the quizes to be easy and it took me hardly any effort to pass. I would love to see the topics discussed in a far more indepth manner and reflecting course.

Thank you.

By James W

Aug 10, 2017

After taking the earlier course and learning so much I didn't expect this to be as informative and thought provoking I was wrong it was possibly the best MOOC I have taken of many.

It was excellent.

By May d p

May 18, 2020

very insightful course for me. Learning the facts of the failure and significance of the Arab world is so fascinating and new subject for me. Thank you very much.

By Weronika D T

Feb 23, 2020

Really interesting course on the modern Middle East. The recommended readings are very good. The lectures and the readings are very thought provoking.

By Mohanad A

Dec 27, 2019

Very important course, it presents the deep reasons to understand why the Arab Spring have failed to achieve Arab people hopes.

Thank you Dr, Afsah

By Dina R

Mar 26, 2020

This was an excellent sequel to the previous course by the same lecturer on Constitutional problems in the Muslim world.

By John L

Apr 01, 2020

A much simpler and shorter course than the Constitutional struggles course from the same stable, but well worth whole.

By shivam g

May 13, 2020

A detailed and very interesting insight into the polity of the Middle East and intricacies of it's society.

By C.Winkel

Sep 29, 2018

Very interesting and enlightening course. The instructor is excellent and very well informed and engaging.

By Elizabeth B

Sep 20, 2017

Excellent and very informative course, makes you think critically about the situation in the Middle East.

By Zeeshan I

Jul 29, 2017

quite unique in features and highly informative to those who have an interest in this part of the world.

By Khalaf M I

May 25, 2020

one of the best ever courses I have done so far. deep knowledge especially for Middle East students.

By Wendy M

Sep 22, 2017

Superb course that gave me lots to think about. Very grateful to the Professor and all concerned.

By Joanna S

Aug 21, 2017

Very interesting and follows on nicely from Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World.

By Ilaria C

Dec 20, 2017

I've liked this course because it has been displayed in a very scientific way. Thanks!

By Radha M P

May 23, 2020

This course gives valuable insights into complex problems in society. I enjoyed it.

By Manuel F G

Dec 08, 2017

Excellent course, full of information,

Academic reflections and useful bibliography.

By Manole M

Apr 27, 2020

knowledgeable, comprehensive, gave me a new perspective on the matter discussed.