Chevron Left
Back to After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

Learner Reviews & Feedback for After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure by University of Copenhagen

4.7
stars
481 ratings
135 reviews

About the Course

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

Top reviews

JY

Apr 14, 2020

Provides a fascinating and important approach to studying this topic. The professor's framework and intellectual depth enriched my understanding of this important and enduring problem.

LK

Oct 12, 2018

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 136 Reviews for After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

By Tracy B V

Jun 21, 2020

Working for government and being focused on the Middle East, I found it validating and articulating thoughts and observations much more clearly than I ever could. Even with 16 years of experience!

I recommend this course to all.

By Mary E

Jul 2, 2021

Informative course on the history of the Muslim world.  Dr. fsah presents the material in a concise format. Highly recommend for those who want a better understanding of the political & social environment of the Islamic world.

By Amani E A

Aug 29, 2017

This is one of the most informative, authentic and analytical courses. The examples given by the amazing Dr. Ibrahim are true and to the point. All my respect to the sincere Professor and to the wonderful crew of Coursera.

By Mohammed A R B

Mar 21, 2020

For any one want to study politics, law etc. Or want to know why Arab countries have collapsed and the reasons that led to Arab Spring. This great course will give you the knowledge and the information that you need.

By Afaque R A

Feb 24, 2018

An absolute masterpiece. Too many lessons, learnings and reasons for dysfunctional muslim and Arab societies mentioned and nicely explained in this course are directly applicable to the Pakistani case as well.

By Kees S

Mar 1, 2018

Although I liked the course I found the quizes to be easy and it took me hardly any effort to pass. I would love to see the topics discussed in a far more indepth manner and reflecting course.

Thank you.

By James W

Aug 10, 2017

After taking the earlier course and learning so much I didn't expect this to be as informative and thought provoking I was wrong it was possibly the best MOOC I have taken of many.

It was excellent.

By May d p

May 18, 2020

very insightful course for me. Learning the facts of the failure and significance of the Arab world is so fascinating and new subject for me. Thank you very much.

By Alison S

May 25, 2021

Dr. Afsah is my favorite professor on this platform. This course is well balanced, well explained and overall very engaging, I had a fantastic time learning

By Jeffrey S

Mar 31, 2021

Clear and concise lectures, useful charts and photos, the course was a pleasure to listen to and tremendously beneficial to my understanding of the region.

By Coline C

Sep 16, 2020

This is a compelling course that articulated state failure in Arab nations as objectively as possible. I learned more than I expected from this course. 10/5

By Weronika D T

Feb 23, 2020

Really interesting course on the modern Middle East. The recommended readings are very good. The lectures and the readings are very thought provoking.

By Mohanad A

Dec 27, 2019

Very important course, it presents the deep reasons to understand why the Arab Spring have failed to achieve Arab people hopes.

Thank you Dr, Afsah

By Zachary P S

Nov 12, 2020

As a Senior POL/MIL Analyst for Egypt this course was simply amazing, hands down one of the better courses of study I have ever taken. Thanks!

By Toka S

Jul 13, 2020

The professor is amazing and you'll just want to hear everything he has to say. The reading material and discussion forums are also great.

By Susan D

Jan 5, 2021

This course has been superb! The professor and the content he presented could not have been more interesting or informative! Amazing!

By Russell W

Jun 29, 2020

Very interesting and thought provoking perspective on the region, its economies, governments / ruling institutions and societies.

By David H

Jun 18, 2020

A very enjoyable course - tightly focused, insightful and linked to both historical and contemporary sources. Highly recommended.

By Dina R

Mar 26, 2020

This was an excellent sequel to the previous course by the same lecturer on Constitutional problems in the Muslim world.

By John L

Apr 1, 2020

A much simpler and shorter course than the Constitutional struggles course from the same stable, but well worth whole.

By Vedrana G

Jun 29, 2020

Another excellent, analytical and in-depth course from one of the best lecturers on Middle East. Highly recommended.

By Ms. A L

Aug 5, 2020

I have learned an in depth knowledge of the theoretical perspectives of Arab Spring and the informal outcomes.

By Ekaterina G

Jul 20, 2020

Very interesting and well paced course! I will definitely consider taking another course by this instructor.

By shivam g

May 13, 2020

A detailed and very interesting insight into the polity of the Middle East and intricacies of it's society.

By C.Winkel

Sep 29, 2018

Very interesting and enlightening course. The instructor is excellent and very well informed and engaging.