Chevron Left
Back to Agriculture, Economics and Nature

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Agriculture, Economics and Nature by University of Western Australia

4.7
stars
345 ratings
119 reviews

About the Course

Sound economic thinking is crucial for farmers because they depend on good economic decision making to survive. Governments depend on economic information to make good policy decisions on behalf of the community. This course will help you to contribute to better decision making by farmers, or by agencies servicing agriculture, and it will help you to understand why farmers respond to policies and economic opportunities in the ways they do. You can use this course to improve your skills and knowledge and to assess whether this is a subject that you'd like to study further. The course includes high-quality video lectures, interviews with experts, demonstrations of how to build economic models in spreadsheets, practice quizzes, and a range of recommended readings and optional readings. Assessment is by quizzes and a final exam. The key economic principles that we’ll learn about can help us understand changes that have occurred in agriculture, and support improved decision making about things like agricultural production methods, agricultural input levels, resource conservation, and the balance between agricultural production and its environmental impacts. There are literally thousands of agricultural economists around the world who work on these issues, so there is a wealth of knowledge to draw on for the course. Watch a brief video about our course here: https://youtu.be/Y8OGswUXx48...

Top reviews

QA

Jul 18, 2020

Very rich syllabus and highly interesting course. Thinking of applying for MSc. in Agric Economics, I never give it a thought until I took this course. Thanks to the University of Western AUSTRALIA.

RP

Jul 3, 2021

The whole course gave me economic insight of the agriculture. Also, prepared me to see the agriculture projects and products from the economic perspective's. I thoroughly enjoyed the sessions.

Filter by:

101 - 119 of 119 Reviews for Agriculture, Economics and Nature

By Eugene S G

Sep 24, 2016

I am much excited to partake in this course and it has really improved my worth. i strongly recommend it everyone. A very big THANK YOU to the coursera team for such an initiative and also to the Agriculture faculty of university of western of western Australia for such a partnership. i am very grateful, looking forward to work with you. BRAVO!!!

By AKHIL A 1

Jun 20, 2020

This course will connect the journey of agriculture with a subject like economics to interact with the nature as a whole. it promotes the value of awareness, prevention, conservation and sustainable actions towards a healthy environment with a balanced management of economic ideas towards the development of the mankind.

By Joshua A

Feb 28, 2021

very engaging and educative course on agriculture and its application to economics........future versions of the course should do well to expand the content of the course to include topics such as agricultural supply chains, agricultural subsidies etc etc.....

By PRABHANSHU K

Jun 29, 2016

The course was amazing i learned a lot of new things . if someone responding to these review i want to add something . In final quiz i did not find proper result . Which question i marked wrong and which one right . So please solve this problem.

By MoNika .

Sep 13, 2018

This course will help one understand the agricultural practices in developed as well as developing countries. Also helps to relate few of the global issues which touted distress and economic instability in the past.

By Robyn G T

Oct 26, 2020

Some of the links aren't working. It can hinder the learning the case studies further., a ling or two i think that aren't working.

By Olubunmi T

Dec 19, 2017

The course had good structure and the videos were explanatory and relevant, backed up with insightful readings and interviews.

By Ilomuanya C

Dec 8, 2021

It was a very interesting course but I believe the calculative part of the course should have been more explicit

By Chengappa K K

Dec 29, 2016

NIce course got a brief idea about agriculture by one of the renowned teacher David Pannell sir

By James V

Jun 21, 2017

Well presented material and excellent course content. Highly enjoyable. Thank you.

By Jonathan D

Aug 20, 2017

Good introduction to the economics and environmental aspects of agriculture

By SK

Jun 3, 2017

Thank you! It was a very good and useful coursera lesson!

By Alvaro M

Aug 11, 2016

Pretty Good Course

By Wei L

Jan 1, 2019

i learned quite a bit from this course although it was a little bit off my original target which were agricultural economics. I just wished the instruction could give more illustrations of the major points or concepts with actual cases, like it did about the floor pricing of the Australian wool industry in the last century.

By Alvaro M F L

May 27, 2021

Buen curso, el único problema fue el examen final, pues no te indica en qué te equivocaste o acertaste, y pienso que mínimo te deberían dar un feedback, pasé sin saber en qué acerté o me equivoqué del todo.

By Drew B

Oct 20, 2016

Provides a nice basis in understanding how economic principles are used to investigate agriculture production. Could provide a bit more of an economic foundation but the course is broad rather than deep.

By Zego

Feb 17, 2018

so much on the basics, not too much new to evaluate the relationship between nature and agriculture.

By Hooman H

May 6, 2022

wrong questuions

By Maureen J

Jan 20, 2021

Too much emphasis on Economics, not enough on nature.