Chevron Left
Back to Algae Biotechnology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algae Biotechnology by University of California San Diego

4.8
stars
169 ratings
39 reviews

About the Course

For decades, researchers have been studying microalgae to understand their biological functions and how we can use technology to harness algae’s power to create a wide range of commercial products. In this course, we will cover how synthetic biology, genetic engineering, and metabolic engineering is used in algae biotechnology, and also examine the current state of algae biotechnology research and tools. We’ll also explore some of the common bio-products we can make from algae, and take a look at some real-world algae companies that are using algae biotechnology to create products consumers can buy today. This course is part of a series of courses produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy....

Top reviews

KD
Jul 30, 2021

ALGAE CAN MITIGATE ALL KINDS OF DEBACLE RELATED TO ENVIRONMENTAL DEBACLE, FOOD ,FEED.FUEL AND THERAPEUTIC AGENTS. MUCH ATTENTION HAVE TO BE GIVEN IN THIS FIELD.

AC
May 12, 2021

Very interesting and complete course with examples of the algae industry. They can help you get an idea of the prospects of this domain. Highly recommend it

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 39 Reviews for Algae Biotechnology

By Shrihari N

Feb 22, 2021

Extremely relevant course, suitable for students from a broad range of backgrounds, and very well presented!

By Daniel J W

Mar 29, 2021

Great course! I really learned a lot. I really liked having different lecturers during the course.

By Stacey C

May 27, 2021

G​reat overview of the potential uses and the power of algae. I learned a lot, was an interesting course

By Yaroslav T

Jan 18, 2021

The course provides an interesting overview over current state of affairs in algae biotechnology around the world, the available products and ideas, and the techniques used for selection, analysis and modification of the organisms, as well as product development. The lectures are of varying quality, some of them are truly informative, some sound like a sales pitch for the company in question, and some, sadly, sound like reading off power-point slides. Altogether though the course is definitely worth the time - especially if you have some background in biotechnology, bioinformatics or microbiology, but would like to know what you can actually do with it in the real world, and where to go from here.

By U19BO038 S S

Feb 27, 2021

I NEED TO GAIN THE KNOWLEDGE IN THIS INTENSHIP. IT HELP ME TO UNDERSTANDING AND LEARNING THIS COURSE. I HAVE LEARN MANY THINGS IN THIS. I AM VERY THANKFUL TO GAVE THIS OPPUNTIUNITY TO HAVE THE KNOWLEDGABLE THINGS. THANK YOU, I NEED THE INTERNSHIP CERITIFATE ALSO.

YOUR OBEDIENTLY,

J. SHERIN SILVIYA

By kamalendu d

Jul 31, 2021

ALGAE CAN MITIGATE ALL KINDS OF DEBACLE RELATED TO ENVIRONMENTAL DEBACLE, FOOD ,FEED.FUEL AND THERAPEUTIC AGENTS. MUCH ATTENTION HAVE TO BE GIVEN IN THIS FIELD.

By Angeliki C

May 13, 2021

Very interesting and complete course with examples of the algae industry. They can help you get an idea of the prospects of this domain. Highly recommend it

By CARLOS V B

Jan 22, 2021

Es un curso básico pero es muy interesante ver los ejemplos de las compañías biotecnológicas basadas en la investigación con algas.

By yhan d

Jan 18, 2021

thank you for all the new knowledge i have gained in this course..im glad i enrolled here:)

By Aradhana S

Jul 6, 2021

Enjoyed this course. Was very useful to enhance my previous understanding of this concept.

By SUSANA L O M

May 28, 2021

This course is so good , I learned many things , it is a very complete course.

By Cesar R C R

Jun 3, 2021

Very interesting information for anyone trying to get into the algal market

By S. P B

May 24, 2021

Very Useful for all who want to learn about algae and application of algae

By kaustubh s

May 23, 2021

Very informative and inspiring, collectively portrays the market knowledge

By WIRINDUGE A (

Apr 10, 2021

I think this course will be important to my future career. Thank you all.

By Dr. A B K

May 27, 2021

V​ery Useful for people those who want to start their career in algae

By Luz A R R

May 18, 2021

A really complete look on the different aspects of microalgae biotech

By Panagiotis P

Jul 2, 2021

Interesting, Innovative, Inspiring. Highly recommended.

By Baishampayan M

Jun 25, 2021

It was a very informative course and very helpful

By M J

Mar 20, 2021

thanks you for the course, very very interesting.

By Fassi F R

Jan 15, 2021

excellent course I learned a lot thank you

By Ujjawal S

May 18, 2021

Very good knowledge about algae

By Deleted A

Apr 2, 2021

It is very helpful for learning

By kushal2000ful

Aug 5, 2021

great introductory course

By Gayathri D

Apr 2, 2021

We improve our knowledge