Chevron Left
Back to Algae Biotechnology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algae Biotechnology by University of California San Diego

4.8
stars
308 ratings
66 reviews

About the Course

For decades, researchers have been studying microalgae to understand their biological functions and how we can use technology to harness algae’s power to create a wide range of commercial products. In this course, we will cover how synthetic biology, genetic engineering, and metabolic engineering is used in algae biotechnology, and also examine the current state of algae biotechnology research and tools. We’ll also explore some of the common bio-products we can make from algae, and take a look at some real-world algae companies that are using algae biotechnology to create products consumers can buy today. This course is part of a series of courses produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy....

Top reviews

KD

Jul 30, 2021

ALGAE CAN MITIGATE ALL KINDS OF DEBACLE RELATED TO ENVIRONMENTAL DEBACLE, FOOD ,FEED.FUEL AND THERAPEUTIC AGENTS. MUCH ATTENTION HAVE TO BE GIVEN IN THIS FIELD.

PM

Dec 23, 2021

This is one of the best course I have chosen. The notes and quiz are all so helpful in building deeper knowledge about algae biotechnology

Filter by:

51 - 67 of 67 Reviews for Algae Biotechnology

By Jorge L V T

Feb 4, 2021

Excellent

By Jahre M T

Jan 19, 2022

Concised

By NATARAJAN J

Dec 17, 2021

u​seful

By Paul G

Apr 11, 2022

GREAT

By AJMALKHAN. S

May 27, 2021

Good

By Leticia M d M

Jan 22, 2021

Awesome content, I just think the lecturer could have rehearsed a little bit more. Also, there was an error in one of the video, when the presenter says "We feed sugar to the algae as a source of carbon, instead of light" which is not right since sunlight is not a source of carbon, but a source of energy

By Davide B

Jun 8, 2021

G​reat and interesting course, as a Uni student i have seen some of the biotech aspects in my junior years, but in this course these aspect are presented to fast, i would suggest to summarize them in 1/2 videos but explained better

By Pedro C

Jan 21, 2022

Clara y concisa información sobre cultivos de microalgas, macroalgas y cianobacterias...Excelente!!!

By sadaf s

Jun 5, 2021

It was very informative course. Bit complex at some points of metabolism, whoever, I enjoyed it.

By Yurou D

Feb 27, 2022

This course has taught me a lot about the research and industrial development of algae.

By Twinkle R

Jul 18, 2021

This course was full of knowledge and was really easy because it had all key elements .

By Ángel F V

Mar 10, 2022

B​uen curso, me ha gustado y estoy mas interesado en la bioctenologia

By Amisha T

Aug 24, 2021

it was informative

By ainun z f

Jun 25, 2021

it was Greattt!!!

By Akanksha s

Apr 1, 2021

it was gr8888

By Annie G

Feb 23, 2022

First half was really informative from a scientific viewpoint, although just as in the intro course the visual presentation could be made better (clearer, less messy). The second half, however, felt more like a company pitch meeting. It's great if you're interested to see which companies are out there, and it is interesting to see the science in commercial use, but I think it's iffy to mix in business into education. Also, I'm here for the sciency geekness, hehe. All in all, good.

By Caelyn M

Mar 20, 2022

Very uneven lectures, some were okay; but many were basically just a grad student summarizing their research. Or worse, some company describing their product.