Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Algae

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Algae by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
716 ratings
213 reviews

About the Course

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

Top reviews

AZ

Apr 10, 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

PG

Apr 16, 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 211 Reviews for Introduction to Algae

By Shreya R

Sep 26, 2020

great course! Nice insight into the vast use of algae and current research/methods being used in industries.

By Carlette A N

May 30, 2020

Really interesting course and very clear learning methods. I would very much recommend taking this course!!

By Andreina G

Sep 02, 2020

I am very satisfied with all of the knowledge received in each lesson of this marvelous course. Excellent!

By CARLOS A R R

Oct 28, 2018

Excelente curso para conocer el panorama actual del cultivo de algas, retos, requerimientos y aplicaciones

By Dainey D

Aug 26, 2020

I was able to understand Algal Science in a comprehensive manner. Thanks to Course Teachers and Coursera.

By Louise B

Sep 16, 2019

Wonderful introduction to algae – interesting and well presented. I wish there was a follow-on course!

By Joana F d S A

Dec 25, 2019

I've some previous experience in the microalgae field and I considered this course really useful.

By Adriana F S G

Jun 18, 2020

Curso muy bueno! Necesario para todos aquellos profesionales agro industriales, del siglo 21 :)

By pooja d

May 10, 2020

provide useful constructive feedback. talk about range of elements. keep it civil and friendly

By Jeremiah J

Feb 13, 2020

Very interesting and informative. I want to learn more about algae and the biofuel industry.

By Sharmistha S

Jul 12, 2020

This course is very helpful to know everything about the algae. Thanks to all the teachers.

By Dhairyarajsinh G

Jun 02, 2020

Excellent course for Algae learner. Very well covered the entire algae industrial use also.

By Christina P

Apr 22, 2019

I enjoyed taking this course and learned all this new information. Definitely recommend. :)

By Dr. A M

May 18, 2020

Excellent Course. Very thorough and provides a systematic coverage of algae for beginners.

By Gratia D F S

Jul 30, 2018

could you open a second course of it with more about photosynthesis and other techniques

By Manishkumar S T

May 26, 2020

Very Good course to learn. The lectures are well-paced and very informative. Many thanks

By Steven B

Apr 17, 2018

An excellent introductory course providing very useful theory and practical information.

By NARESH K

Jul 14, 2019

This course was really helpful for me I need to take advance courses in algae research.

By Claudio N

Dec 30, 2019

Very interesting! I am very happy such a course was offered, I have learned very much.

By Dean P

Aug 28, 2018

Great introductory course for everyone out there who has an interest in algae biology!

By BANDARU A

Jun 29, 2020

A very interesting topic... it is very much useful to my studies thank you so much...

By Joselito T

Oct 08, 2020

The course was very informative. A good introduction to the potentials of algae.

By Benji J S M

Jun 21, 2020

Grandioso curso. Gracias a el pude aprender lo más importante sobre las algas.

By Luis C M R

Aug 19, 2020

Es un curso que permite iniciarse en la biotecnología con algas. Excelente.

By Anas m S S i

Apr 27, 2020

I am actually an algaeist yet i learned new stuff from this course,thanx!!!