Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
10,260 ratings
2,174 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

BD
Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 2,095 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Piyush M

Dec 1, 2017

I got the introductory knowledge of algorithms also find various kind of interesting question that blow my mind and most interresting part is assignment

By Aidar M

Nov 12, 2017

This course gave me knowledge about ways of solving various problems via programming. I also learnt some new algorithms to use and about big O notation.

By Stefan Y G

Jul 14, 2017

Well organized. It would be better if the test cases could all be shown to give the test taker a hint on how to improve or change the programme. Thanks!

By Florian S

Oct 3, 2016

This course is designed with a lot of thought behind it and using basically every mainstream programming language makes it even more fun to participate.

By Nikhil G

Oct 30, 2017

Quite useful course for competitive programmers.If you want to improve your rating in competitions tremendously then this course is definitely for you.

By Zisheng Z

May 15, 2018

An interesting yet informative course with challenging assignments (for me, a chemistry student). I surely have improved my algorithm knowledge a lot.

By MUHAMMED H

Feb 27, 2016

Amazing Course. I have been looking for this kind of course for months.

Must for anyone who wants to be good in Competitive Programming and Algorithms

By Oktavianus E S S

Feb 21, 2021

this is a little hard but so fun when you solve it. The explanation is so good and this course is very helpful for understanding the basic algorithm

By Rishabh K S

Sep 27, 2020

Very fine course. Had a chance to learn many new things. I loved the standard of this course. It was my first course on coursera as well. Thank You.

By Javal V

Aug 3, 2020

This course has some amazing questions which i struggled solving before attending the course but now i am confident enought to solve this questions.

By Mansi S

Jun 10, 2020

This was my first course in Data Structures and algorithms. I got to learn a lot of new concepts.

Thanks, Instructors for such an informative content

By Arnav a d

Nov 20, 2018

The assignments and quizzes are very thought provoking and teach a lot about problem solving approach to many classical problems in Computer science

By Andrii M

Dec 30, 2016

Thanks for this awesome course. It helped me a lot to improve my theoretical knowledge in building complex solutions based on different approaches.

By Александр Ю

Jul 26, 2016

Great course! I really enjoyed taking it. I think it is very challenging and it definitly updates your algorithmic's skills and changes your thnking

By Cameron F

Apr 4, 2016

It's not too much work. For someone who wants to take programming classes online but also may have a variant amount of time, this course is perfect.

By Raman P S

Jun 18, 2020

The course was good and informative........

But the dynamic programming part was a bit difficult and can be improved more for better understanding..

By shanthosh

Jun 17, 2018

Wonderful set of assignments emphasising on conceptual understanding rather than mere theory. Loved this course. Thanks to all the faculty members.

By Eugenio G M

Mar 7, 2016

Very clear in explanations, I learnt a lot of new cool stuff.

Assignments aren't always so trivial but there's always a hint to help in solving them

By Diwakar R

Sep 27, 2020

there was a language problem , and it would have been better if the explanation was not always in the form of expression but followed IRL examples

By Chin J C

Jul 21, 2018

The course is wonderful and challenging! But the learning experience gets extremely frustrating when the grader does not give you the test cases.

By Natalia S

Dec 16, 2017

Excellent course! Very structured and well designed. Instructors are very knowledgeable and presentation of the material is very well organized.

By Ivonne R H L

Aug 9, 2020

This course taughtme, more than algorithms, it teach new ways to solve complex and simple problems thinking outside the box. I totally loved it.

By Edison S

Mar 24, 2020

Really rigorous testing compared to other courses. learned a lot by engaging in the problems. Great thanks to the professors for organizing it!

By Joel P

Jun 22, 2016

Explanations were thorough, and the problem sets helped me gain a better understanding of the concepts with challenging but doable problem sets.

By Manan S

Jul 12, 2020

love the challenging questions, the only request is that you provide a way to get solution to some problems if we cannot make it after sometime