Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,777 ratings
2,068 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM
Sep 28, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,991 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By shanthosh

Jun 17, 2018

Wonderful set of assignments emphasising on conceptual understanding rather than mere theory. Loved this course. Thanks to all the faculty members.

By Eugenio G M

Mar 7, 2016

Very clear in explanations, I learnt a lot of new cool stuff.

Assignments aren't always so trivial but there's always a hint to help in solving them

By Diwakar R

Sep 27, 2020

there was a language problem , and it would have been better if the explanation was not always in the form of expression but followed IRL examples

By Chin J C

Jul 21, 2018

The course is wonderful and challenging! But the learning experience gets extremely frustrating when the grader does not give you the test cases.

By Natalia S

Dec 16, 2017

Excellent course! Very structured and well designed. Instructors are very knowledgeable and presentation of the material is very well organized.

By Ivonne R H L

Aug 9, 2020

This course taughtme, more than algorithms, it teach new ways to solve complex and simple problems thinking outside the box. I totally loved it.

By Edison S

Mar 24, 2020

Really rigorous testing compared to other courses. learned a lot by engaging in the problems. Great thanks to the professors for organizing it!

By Joel P

Jun 22, 2016

Explanations were thorough, and the problem sets helped me gain a better understanding of the concepts with challenging but doable problem sets.

By Manan S

Jul 12, 2020

love the challenging questions, the only request is that you provide a way to get solution to some problems if we cannot make it after sometime

By Adarsh J

Apr 18, 2020

Great course to go through. Loaded with lots of challenging problems. I would recommend this course to anyone, trying to learn basic algorithms

By Himanshu S

Jul 24, 2019

Best course for learning basic algorithms and understanding the working of algorithms.

thank you coursera for providing great courses like this.

By Arnav T

Jul 8, 2020

A great introductory course which deals with some of the most important algorithms that are handy in dealing with different types of problems.

By Abhishek k

Aug 30, 2019

If you want to learn algorithm then go for it. Really amazing course by coursera. This course is really to grows your skills in the algorithm.

By Bhavesh T

Mar 28, 2018

Thank you coursera for allowing me to learn and improving my knowledge in algorithmic toolbox.I feel very lucky and blessed . Thank you!!!!

By WojciechŚwiderski

Oct 7, 2017

Concise yet comprehensive course in algorithms. Lecturers are true pros, assignments are quite demanding. I am glad I finished this course.

By David B

Jul 18, 2017

Really solid basic CS fundamentals. Very well presented. The programming assignments ranged from easy to pretty challenging. Good material.

By Prabhat P

Dec 3, 2019

course is so rich in programming assignment problems, tutor are accomplishing their jobs perfectly i.e. delivering all necessary content .

By Kancharla V

Jul 1, 2018

No other MOOC has this kind of vivid and rich content explained broadly.The courses's assignments are one of its kind,challenging yet cool

By Khalid M A

Jul 23, 2016

The ideas I learned about the classical algorithms and their run-times are really useful and interesting. The problems are also very good.

By DHARANIDHARAN K R

May 10, 2020

I am a Computer Science student and have all the algorithms in my syllabus as well. But, this course unlocked my third eye in algorithms.

By Beau L

Jan 19, 2020

Excellent instructors and ample problem assignments make this a great course. The dynamic programming sections could use better lectures.

By Jakub T

Oct 24, 2017

A very useful piece of knowledge for software developers, especially after they get a bit of practice and need to refine their knowledge.

By HuangYunWen

Aug 9, 2017

Very helpful and solid. The practice and home work not difficult but not too easy. It's great for who need to review or new to algorithm.

By Aneesh D

Jul 10, 2017

A great course. To get the most from this course need to do all the recommended readings(or equivalent) and solve all homework questions.

By nirbhay s

Oct 21, 2020

It's a very good course to take.

Really Good Instructors and the assignment problems is very good and teaches very much about algorithms