Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
10,108 ratings
2,143 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

BD
Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 2,068 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By SHIKHAR S

May 8, 2020

It is the best algorithmic course ever as it gives you varieties of questions which you will find yourself indulged with great zeal.

By Rabia

Jul 30, 2019

This was a really fun class with a lot of hands on programming assignments. I feel like I finally got the hang of dynamic programming

By Abhishek A

Dec 20, 2018

This was a very well structured course with very nice programming assignments. Real effort had to be put to get through this course .

By Nishant K J

Feb 25, 2018

Amazing course. Challenging problems. Every problem explained with great details. Even the professors are great and knowledgeable.

.

By Mradul T

May 23, 2020

Course Content and assignments were GOLD!! Really really gooooooodd.

Thank you very much instructors for this course, loved it🤩🤩🤩.

By Mrunal S J

Apr 10, 2020

i learnt a lot of things i know it took very long to complete this course but really it was fun and i learnt many things. thank you!

By Akash G H

Mar 31, 2020

This was the best course to learn algorithms. I learned a lot form it, and looking forward to other courses from the specialization.

By AMAN S

Oct 2, 2019

An awesome course having the best content & appropriate knowledge. Will recommend to everyone. Thank you for such a wonderful piece.

By Wenzhi

Jul 19, 2019

Although the lecture is not as good as enough, the programming assignments and the organization of this course are pretty excellent.

By Rajat

Aug 15, 2020

I'm very delightful to all my teachers, and I would be visiting these lectures again and again to keep the topics fresh in my mind.

By Sergei F

Mar 4, 2017

A very nice introduction to solving algorithmic problems in general. Liked the fact that testing techniques are emphasized so much.

By Jack P

Mar 28, 2016

This is a great primer for algorithms and goes one step further than similar courses I've taken by introducing dynamic programming.

By Mohit S C

Jul 14, 2019

This is a must for everyone out there who wish to improve their algorithm skills. Their is so much that I learned only in 2 weeks.

By Dennis S

Jun 10, 2016

Great course. The team is doing a great work improving it all the time and the grading system and lecture are really good as well.

By Ayush P

Jan 8, 2021

The teachers are great. This is definitely an excellent course to opt for, and it also might be difficult for absolute beginners.

By Nestor A

Jan 22, 2017

Very informative. I am a self-taught programmer, and this definitely helps with the programmer's mindset. Definitely challenging.

By William L

Nov 25, 2016

Great class for students with some elementary programming background who are eager to learn the fundamentals of algorithm design.

By Nemat S

Sep 27, 2016

An excellent course. The video lectures are brief but explain the main points very well. The assignments are very well organised.

By Mohammed H

Mar 21, 2020

A well designed course, with challenging assignment problems. The best part, this course comes with fair quantum of mathematics.

By derrick k

Oct 3, 2019

This is a must study for every software programmer. This course has really opened my approach to problem solving and efficiency.

By Abhijeet B

Jun 16, 2020

The best course to learn dynamic programming and divide and conquer algorithm, Thanks to all teachers for designing this course

By Hassan E

Jan 29, 2017

It is amazing course. It presents the toolbox in a sequence of incremental levels to help you completely understand each level.

By Simon,Yunhui Z

Nov 3, 2020

It's a very good course for me to understand what's algorithm, very detail explanation. Hope it would be useful for daily life

By Rajeswar S

Jun 5, 2020

The method and the procedures taught in this course were totally new for me and really improved my logic and reasoning skills.

By Devkul S

Jan 18, 2019

We can get a clear concept of algorithm and dynamic programming. This course helped me to think loud on a given set of problem