Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
7,970 ratings
1,667 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

1301 - 1325 of 1,602 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Naman Y

Oct 03, 2019

Topics in dynamic programming could have been explained in a better way and problems could have a little more variety.

By Nancy Y

Jan 16, 2019

Course is good, but nobody to respond in discussion board. I wish instructors/mentors available for clarifying queries

By Aman G

Jan 13, 2018

Please improve the video narration of some teachers as it gets really confusing sometimes what they are talking about

By Nitish K

Jun 05, 2020

It's great course for the beginner who doesn't have many foundations of the algorithm, especially Dynamic Algorithms.

By Deleted A

Apr 21, 2020

Really challenging course... But it requires some level of knowledge pre-requisite.. else it is more time consuming..

By Sachin R k

Aug 14, 2019

Assignments are of very good standard! I'd say they are tough and challenging which was the best part of the course.

By Fujii

Jul 22, 2018

It was difficult but somewhat easy to understand,

even though I didn't have enough knowledge of mathematics to start.

By Anthony N

Feb 16, 2018

Great fun for long-time professional. It's worth it to review these algorithms, as they're still interview material.

By Aron-Daniel C

Apr 07, 2020

Very nice concepts explained but I found myself having to repeat videos very often to understand a concept properly

By Greg H

Oct 19, 2018

Was a great review of the tools you'll want to be able to pull from and communicate through as a software engineer.

By Alina D

Oct 17, 2017

There are some issues are needed to be more detailed, and opposite some easy issues are explained too meticulously.

By Harshit A

Jun 18, 2020

its overall nice but sometimes the instructor makes it boring as if he's just teaching without any interaction.

By Raghavendra N M

Nov 30, 2019

It was really a good experience with coursera .I really enjoyed and also learned a lot .So thank You so much...

By Hanu

Aug 06, 2017

Hi,

Please cover few more examples on O(log n ) and O(n log n). O(n) and O(n2) was easy to understand.

Thank you

By Manas G

May 12, 2020

Some algorithms were exceptionally good like greedy algos but divide and conquer algos meed to be improvised

By shubham k

Nov 26, 2019

Real good exercises were provided and the explanation to all the algorithms was also detailed and to the point

By Suraj K

May 14, 2020

Fantastic course. Week 5 did not have enough explanation though. Apart from that the course was very valuable

By Pushkar D

Jun 04, 2019

Good course. Helps one apply their mind and solve. I only wish it had more exercises for asymptotic analysis.

By Алвандян Н А

Aug 13, 2019

everything is great, except it would be highly desirable to see the correct implementation of all the tasks

By Chris L

Dec 24, 2017

As a largely self taught programmer this is filling in important information I failed to pick up on my own.

By Roushan K S

May 22, 2020

awesome course. One can do this to when they are a beginner. good course structure and awesome instructors

By akshat k

Mar 06, 2020

Some more tough and mind challenging questions should be added. A little intro to competitive programming.

By dhruv k

Jun 04, 2019

all the content and exercises r awesome. I only found difficulty in last week bcz of English pronunciation

By dheeraj p

Nov 10, 2017

all the topics were taught well and teachers are quite experienced and got to learn a lot from this course

By Stephen K

Jul 07, 2020

Pretty interesting and challenging. Some algorithms were not explained with much clarity towards the end.