Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
10,251 ratings
2,172 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

BD
Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

Filter by:

1676 - 1700 of 2,093 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By aamir a

Aug 13, 2019

Great course. The only thing i'd like to change will be the accent used in teaching videos. I was hard to understand sometimes.

By Dariusz R D

Jun 17, 2018

it's quite good course which explain implementation, unfortunately book that can be bought as e-book doesn't contain solutions.

By Aldunin D A

Apr 15, 2018

I see no active help on the forum atm. 2nd part of dynamic programming is not explained detailed enough. All the other is fine.

By Michele P

Sep 19, 2017

The chapters about "greedy algorithms" and "divide and conquer" are well done. The one about "dynamic programming" lacks depth.

By Sahil

Aug 9, 2020

It's a good course, but I think that the lectures could have been better, especially those related to the dynamic programming.

By Harsh P

Jul 25, 2020

Useful course, but difficult at times to follow. The last few weeks get substantially more difficult than the first few weeks.

By Piyush K

Oct 24, 2020

Really cleared most of the basic concepts of DSA.

Taught how to think every problem statement from algorithmic point of view.

By Simarpreet S

May 10, 2020

very good explanations for greed and divide and conquer algorithms but dynamic programming explanations were not good enough.

By Vipul T

Dec 26, 2019

It was an amazing month-long learning experience for me. I got this course with financial aid of coursera.

Thanks to coursera!

By Shafayet N

Jun 27, 2020

the contents and teachers are top class.but i had a little difficulty on understanding some of the teachers pronounciations.

By CSSI-Coursera P

Aug 16, 2019

While few algorithms are given, concentrating on each one are helpful for a deep understanding. Subtitles could be improved.

By Albert S

Oct 9, 2016

Programming assignments are well structured in such a way that it encourages one to continuously improve upon the solution.

By Harsh K

Apr 20, 2020

It was an awesome journey! I learned so much in this course. However, I think the assignments should be more extensive.

By Victor D C

Nov 19, 2017

Some videos are not clear and you have to read on your own about some algorithms. But the material an content was good.

By Naman Y

Oct 3, 2019

Topics in dynamic programming could have been explained in a better way and problems could have a little more variety.

By Nancy Y

Jan 15, 2019

Course is good, but nobody to respond in discussion board. I wish instructors/mentors available for clarifying queries

By Aman G

Jan 13, 2018

Please improve the video narration of some teachers as it gets really confusing sometimes what they are talking about

By PARTH S

Sep 10, 2020

All the lectures are nice, but instead of materials lectures should be more. All over very nice course for beginners.

By Nitish K

Jun 5, 2020

It's great course for the beginner who doesn't have many foundations of the algorithm, especially Dynamic Algorithms.

By Deleted A

Apr 20, 2020

Really challenging course... But it requires some level of knowledge pre-requisite.. else it is more time consuming..

By JOSE A G H

Jan 4, 2021

Great course, unfourtunately some of the subtitles in english were wrong and had to review the lessons several times

By Sachin R k

Aug 14, 2019

Assignments are of very good standard! I'd say they are tough and challenging which was the best part of the course.

By Fujii

Jul 21, 2018

It was difficult but somewhat easy to understand,

even though I didn't have enough knowledge of mathematics to start.

By Anthony N

Feb 15, 2018

Great fun for long-time professional. It's worth it to review these algorithms, as they're still interview material.

By Aron-Daniel C

Apr 7, 2020

Very nice concepts explained but I found myself having to repeat videos very often to understand a concept properly