Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
11,704 ratings
2,466 reviews

About the Course

This online course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

BD

Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

Filter by:

1801 - 1825 of 2,419 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Mohit

Nov 4, 2020

This is tough for me ,I don't use ungraded part due to error 404 ,i don't take to use of this course and all the teacher are good,quiz and programming aassignment is also good but ,due to some error in the ungraded part i don't take much benifit of this course

By Thales A K N

Jun 25, 2020

I wish it had some kind of introductory course to it, I know it's not the most advanced one, but I still had a harder time to complete things than I thought! This also might be the whole point of it, but overall the course is very complete and thrilling to do!

By TUSHAR T

Oct 10, 2020

VERY GOOD AND TOUGH PROGRAMS WERE THERE, I REALLY GOT TO KNOW ALOT FROM THIS COURSE. THANK YOU TO EVERY ONE WHO MADE THIS COURSE POSSIBLE. THE LECTURES ON DYNAMIC PROGRAMMING WEERE NOT ENOUGH TO SOLVE THE PROBLEMS, I TOOK HELP FROM RANDOM VIDEOS FROM FACEBOOK

By Keyur U

Jul 18, 2020

It's a great course on algorithms. The problems are designed in such a way that one gets a deep understanding of the concepts learned. I also liked the interactive tools which were used to create an intuition of the concepts to be learnt in the upcoming part.

By Chris

Aug 25, 2017

Overall great course and challenging programming assignments. My only critique is that some of the lectures (especially dynamic programming lesson) were difficult to follow. A little more attention to the delivery of the lectures would have been helpful.

By Sharvari D

Feb 5, 2018

I have found this course useful. It cleared my basics and I was finally able to overcome the fear of coding. However, I found that the video lectures were a little tough to understand and too straightforward. Rest, I can I say I have learnt a lot. Thanks!

By Tian P

Dec 18, 2017

The course offers a good overview of some of the major algorithms. The programming assignments are designed really well. I wish the lecture of some parts could be more elaborate, such as change money and edit distance. I really enjoy Alexander's sections.

By LAKSH C

Jun 7, 2020

There were great explanations and perfect problems regarding each topic I can definitely say that my programming skills have improved with this! Thanks a lot!

The only complaint I have is that some of the professors accents are kind of hard to understand.

By Khotov L K

Jul 13, 2016

Everything is awesome except a minor mismatch between Niel Rhodes's and Alexander Kulikov's presentations in Week 4. Although Prof. Rhodes prooved Master Theorem in the first half of the Week, Prof. Kulikov didn't use it estimating algorithms asymtotics.

By Jim J

Aug 17, 2017

The assignments are of great standards and is challenging which is great for a learner. The videos and the materials are of not much help to understand the concepts in detail and often have to rely on simpler You tube videos to understand the concepts.

By Kurt W

May 18, 2016

Testing cases are claimed to be generated randomly, in that way why can't we get the random test case to improve our result? Also, there is no example code after the course, if I didn't solve out the problem I may never have the chance to work it out.

By Rachana N A

Jan 24, 2017

Very Good course

All the concepts were explained very well, barring Dynamic Programming. That could have been a bit more detailed. The programming assignments were fun to solve. A must have course for people beginning their study in computer science.

By Sushrut K

Sep 6, 2020

The course was really great and the teachers were also fantastic. I would suggest this course to all the people interested in algorithms.

However, I would like to suggest to add some more examples, so that the concepts will be thoroughly understood.

By Mark K

Mar 28, 2016

Lectures were clear, for the most part, and the homeworks were fun and instructive. Material on dynamic programming might have been clearer. Also, notes and references to texts would have been helpful. Thanks for putting together a great course.

By Fabrice L

Oct 11, 2017

Very good course! A lot of practice and exercice, that is what I expected. Some of the lectures are difficult to understand, it mainly depend on which teacher is explaining. But I mostly they follow an example well chosen to represent a concept.

By Ali E

Oct 31, 2020

This is a great course . I think if you only offer a solution for programming tasks so we can check for better solution or even take hints from it when we are stuck , it will more and more great.

Thanks for the effort done in this great course.

By sandeep b

Jun 11, 2016

First four weeks of the course were awesome,some exciting problems,insightful teaching but fifth week's content I felt were not up to the standards of first four weeks.Nonetheless it was great experience.Thank you instructors and course forum.

By Marc C

Mar 8, 2022

Pros: the assignments are well designed.

Cons: the lecture videos are of poor quality in two senses: the explanation is not clear and some of the lecturers have a thick accent. I find youtube videos are much better than these lecture videos.

By Rachel P Y F

Apr 28, 2020

Awesome course which dives down into the basic computer science theory and mathematic fundamentals. I had a lot of fun with the programming assignments and learnt a lot from them. Ideally, I would appreciate a disclosure of the test cases.

By Karan

Jun 17, 2020

The course questions are phenomenal. The information provided is not very extensive but you can google any time. The accents do make it sometimes tougher to understand otherwise it is one of the best courses you can learn Algorithms from.

By Aditya S

Jul 4, 2020

Coursera, please develop your coding assignment submission process similar to codeforces or hackerrank, Uploading CPP file every time is very irritating, it would be great if you develop an online IDE through which we can submit our code

By David B

Mar 9, 2019

The material in the course is good, but the lectures only partially prepare you for the programming assignments. A lot of the learning is fairly self-directed. I would have liked a little bit more in the lectures, but I did learn a lot.

By Emilio V C

Feb 24, 2021

The programming assignments are quite interesting and challenging, and altough I would have liked a bit more explanation in the theory, overall I liked the course and would recommend it to other people interested in learning algorithms

By Travis S

Oct 7, 2020

I thought all of the section were great except for Dynamic Programming 1 and 2. I was a complete novice to DP and it was really hard to understand, as I feel like the lectures never covered an overview of DP. But overall, great course.

By Ahmed T

Jul 3, 2020

i think the implementation with c++ will be more clear, and about some lectures i have search on google to understand that algorithm that shown only in lectures without explanation.

a lot of thanks to every one works on this course