Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
11,708 ratings
2,466 reviews

About the Course

This online course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

BD

Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

Filter by:

1826 - 1850 of 2,421 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Partha P P

Aug 16, 2020

The course was nice and explained many things, but it could have been better with more code examples. The dynamic programming part was nice too but a little bit of more explanation on the instructors part could have helped better.

By Priyanshu A

May 31, 2020

The course is oriented towards developing basic algorithmic thinking and skills. It's a great course for beginners.

The one thing that can be improved is to more it a bit more practice-oriented as in terms of programming questions.

By Tang

Jul 13, 2017

I took this course mostly because of the exercise problems, the problems are interesting and you can learn a lot, the lectures are good, but still rooms for improvement, so far so good, looking forward to the next course. Thanks!

By Luis M V F

Feb 4, 2020

This course has very challenging problems specially the last 3 weeks. I think that it could be better in the sense of explaining more deeply about dynamic programming, and it should also provide easier exercises for warming up.

By Henry G

Dec 1, 2019

Decent course, in the last couple of weeks the difficulty really picks up and the provided lectures are no longer really sufficient to figure things out, but as long as you know how to do your own research its still manageable.

By Ahmed E

Oct 6, 2019

It would be great if there is a session at the end of each lesson that illustrate the lesson through a problem in less academic way but overall the course is great and walks through very important problems

with great lecturers.

By Oleg B

Feb 25, 2018

The course is well structured and homework is interesting and challenging, minus 1 star only because some teachers have really heavy accents and bad English pronunciation, so I had to mute sound and watch videos with subtitles.

By Shriharsha K

Nov 10, 2019

The material is decent. It could be presented in a better way. Algorithms are mostly just explained verbally, which is sometimes hard to follow. It would help if some of the algorithms are explained by writing on the slides.

By Carlos C R

Sep 13, 2016

The accent from teachers would be a little bit annoying, also the fact that most of the topics (incomes, outcomes from the programs) are unclear for a naive student. But for the rest, is a great way to introduce programming.

By Oved D

Jun 26, 2022

I liked the possibility to submit Python programs and get evaluated.

Sometime the reply was just "wrong answer", which is not helpful.

Also, the lecturers work too fast on new concepts, which make the lectures hard to follow.

By Minh A

Jan 15, 2019

This course is excellent. Many lecturers with many tips, techniques and experience. However, some lecturers' English accent are not very good. Therefore, sometimes it is hard to understand the whole content of some lessons.

By Shesh S

Jan 31, 2017

The course was awesome ..The content ,the problems were all thought provoking - couple of times i had issues understanding the language of the instructor , sans that it is a very very good course and a must take i would say

By Abu M A M S

May 31, 2020

This course is great to start learning algorithm. I didn't know any algorithms before this course. this helped me to kick start my competitive programming journey. Hope I'll complete the rest of the specialization soon!

By Maged I S

Jun 26, 2019

very good course and material but more examples and illustrations are needed specially towards the end of the course I barely made it solving the bare minimum to pass,yet it i still a great course and i learned a lot .

By Md S A

Aug 21, 2020

It's one of the awesome courses available in Coursera where you can learn different types of algorithms for solving complicated problems in an easy way. It also taught me how to solve any problem in an efficient way.

By Jatin S

Jun 18, 2020

The dynamic programing part was not up to the mark. I had to go through many lectures on youtube (specially of MIT) to understand the same topics. However, the Placing Parenthesis problem was explained properly.

By HZ

Jun 9, 2018

Great Algorithm course. It would be better if they can give more general and helpful guidelines on design Dynamic Programming Algorithm because it is really hard to come up with the correct recurrence relations.

By Sanjana N

Aug 29, 2020

The course was really helpful for me to understand Algorithms which is the basics of programming. However, I feel the 'dynamic programming' part had to be elaborated a bit more. It seemed a little bit rushed.

By Adam D

Jan 13, 2020

Great for review of algorithms. I've seen most of these in university Algorithms courses, but this was a great refresher. Coming back to these now, I have a greater understanding than when I first saw them.

By Վարդան Գ

Feb 10, 2019

There are great subjects and in general the course are great too. the only thing that i would like to mention is that there are some places that should be explained more deeply especially in case of week 6.

By MAYANK K

Jul 7, 2020

It was a good course on algorithms, having many programming problems to practice including some standard problems. Which helps in building concepts and can use these concepts for solving many variations.

By Hasan_Saju

May 20, 2020

This is a very good course to learn some the basics of algorithms. It is also good for people who want to polish their algorithm skill. Very good for learning Dynamic Programming and sorting techniques.

By Vikash K

Mar 2, 2019

good technique implemented for learning and exploring about big data(primitive) handling, and other study stuffs and additional slides are quite helpful to understand algorithm and its implementation.

By Zamirbek A

Feb 3, 2018

The content is full and helpful. I've learned a lot.

Some instructors should've used the marker while explaining to walk through the codes instead of just putting a slide and talking on the background.

By Iakov L

Dec 4, 2016

Great course. I would suggest to improve pronunciation of some of the lecturers, add more material, lower the concentration of the material (by prolonging or splitting the course). Great work, thanks!