Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
11,659 ratings
2,454 reviews

About the Course

This online course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

BD

Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

SG

Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

Filter by:

1851 - 1875 of 2,406 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Yaman T

Jul 17, 2020

good !! but there should be an option of submitting each question during assignment so as we can get an idea of whether we should proceed to next question or have to do some changes.

By Ranjeeta K

Jul 1, 2019

I really liked the course design as it included programming assignments along with course lectures. Except for some errors caused in the submissions, everything else was just fine.

By Matija K

Aug 2, 2017

The programming assignments are great. They are not easy and really make you think and work. Some topics should be better explained. Especially in the Dynamic programming lectures.

By Karan V

Aug 2, 2020

basically it is good but if its website is responsive in mobile phones too then it become easy to view videos in mobile phones as i have faced many difficulty in watching videos.

By Ashish M

Jul 6, 2020

Highly recommended as it helped me a lot in my week areas. I recommend not to skip any portion of the lectures as every part is important. Week 5 and Week 6 are really important .

By Aidar

Sep 19, 2019

Michael Levin should make more slides for explanation (with step-by-step examples) how Alex Kulikov and other mentors did. Also, it was difficult to hear only his broken english.

By Kerem C T

May 15, 2019

Very hard topic explained good. I had to get help from other videos(outside this course) explaining some of the algorithms in detail. Other than it was a good experience overall.

By Ashwin K U

Jan 7, 2021

Great course! well structured questions.

Only improvement needed is speed of lectures is too fast sometimes to understand the problem being discussed and captions are wrong often

By Maziar M

Apr 17, 2018

The assignment are perfect. They are comprehensive and pretty challenging. Although, I believe the lectures could be a little bit better organized. Specially the last two weeks.

By Animesh S

May 12, 2021

According to me the course is obviously preety good as the mentors clears the ambiguity that a programmer has while acting on DSA and overall the experience was really awsome.

By Prasanth K C V

Apr 3, 2018

The Assignments and the Syllabus are Good. But The explanation of the faculty is not that great. You would need to read external material to better understand whats happening

By Andrey G

Sep 11, 2016

Понравились задачи и освещенные темы. Для работающих людей график сдач очень жесткий. Хочется успеть решить все задачи, но банально не хватает времени из-за дневной нагрузки.

By Shubham P

Sep 9, 2020

The course provides with impressive problems and guidance. A must for anyone learning algorithms. Though it is a bit hard for beginners but giving it a try is the best idea.

By Chirag J

Apr 20, 2020

Course content can be improved. Week 3 starting video lectures are very hard to understand. The Instructor himself not able to memorize that what he is teaching to students.

By Lokesh

Sep 20, 2020

Its an amazing course ,covers many of basic algorithms.I would surely recommend this course if you are just beginning in the field of algorithms or competitive programming.

By Sagar K

Aug 9, 2020

The course was fun and the problems are really amazing, it is well structured as starting of the course is bit easy and then the toughness of programming question increase.

By Ping Z

Nov 18, 2019

I dont think anyone can keep up with the explanation of DP pseudocode, ironically went to watch youtube videos instead for explanation of code. Good course other than that.

By MehmetSolmaz

Jan 27, 2019

Everything is good, except the test cases in the assignments are not given. It takes a while to debug without test cases. At least we should be given the failing test case.

By Menachem M H

Apr 3, 2017

Not well explained. Do read the resources and spend time on YouTube and stack overflow to understand the concepts. Otherwise definetly a challenge and an interesting course

By CHITRESH K

Aug 21, 2017

Nicely explained , enough for solving the assignments. Good for understanding various techniques used in solving different and almost all possible problems efficiently.

By RITIK V

Apr 20, 2020

The course is overall good with lots of info but the explanation is little bit less in my

opinion and its not that easy to tackle . But at the end you will learn a lot.

By Kushal A

Jul 3, 2016

The course material is very good indeed, but some of the instructors were somewhat difficult to understand because of strong accents. Subtitles were largely inaccurate.

By Arpit V

Feb 13, 2019

The practice question helps with solidifying the understanding.

1 star less, as this could be improved by giving dry run of as an example for algorithm implementation.

By Jan R

Aug 22, 2017

Course content generally was interesting, though explanations were sometimes hard to follow. Slides could contain more information to make the matter easier to grasp.

By Eshan R S

Aug 25, 2018

Some instructor's accents were sometimes confusing, and the subtitles weren't good enough, but everything else was splendind and the exercises were well-thought-out.