Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
11,640 ratings
2,451 reviews

About the Course

This online course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

BD

Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

SG

Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

Filter by:

1926 - 1950 of 2,403 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Sahil

Aug 9, 2020

It's a good course, but I think that the lectures could have been better, especially those related to the dynamic programming.

By Harsh P

Jul 25, 2020

Useful course, but difficult at times to follow. The last few weeks get substantially more difficult than the first few weeks.

By Kirill S

Jul 21, 2021

Good course but sometimes very challenging to pass grader.

M​inus one star because some weeks contain not enough explanations.

By Piyush K

Oct 24, 2020

Really cleared most of the basic concepts of DSA.

Taught how to think every problem statement from algorithmic point of view.

By Simarpreet S

May 10, 2020

very good explanations for greed and divide and conquer algorithms but dynamic programming explanations were not good enough.

By Vipul T

Dec 26, 2019

It was an amazing month-long learning experience for me. I got this course with financial aid of coursera.

Thanks to coursera!

By Shafayet N

Jun 28, 2020

the contents and teachers are top class.but i had a little difficulty on understanding some of the teachers pronounciations.

By CSSI-Coursera P

Aug 16, 2019

While few algorithms are given, concentrating on each one are helpful for a deep understanding. Subtitles could be improved.

By Albert S

Oct 9, 2016

Programming assignments are well structured in such a way that it encourages one to continuously improve upon the solution.

By Yashas D

Jul 25, 2021

The assignments are excellent. The tutorial videos can improve with respect to explanations of problem solving techniques.

By Harsh K

Apr 20, 2020

It was an awesome journey! I learned so much in this course. However, I think the assignments should be more extensive.

By victor c

Nov 19, 2017

Some videos are not clear and you have to read on your own about some algorithms. But the material an content was good.

By Naman Y

Oct 3, 2019

Topics in dynamic programming could have been explained in a better way and problems could have a little more variety.

By Nancy Y

Jan 16, 2019

Course is good, but nobody to respond in discussion board. I wish instructors/mentors available for clarifying queries

By Aman G

Jan 13, 2018

Please improve the video narration of some teachers as it gets really confusing sometimes what they are talking about

By PARTH S

Sep 10, 2020

All the lectures are nice, but instead of materials lectures should be more. All over very nice course for beginners.

By Nitish K

Jun 5, 2020

It's great course for the beginner who doesn't have many foundations of the algorithm, especially Dynamic Algorithms.

By Deleted A

Apr 20, 2020

Really challenging course... But it requires some level of knowledge pre-requisite.. else it is more time consuming..

By JOSE A G H

Jan 4, 2021

Great course, unfourtunately some of the subtitles in english were wrong and had to review the lessons several times

By Sachin R k

Aug 14, 2019

Assignments are of very good standard! I'd say they are tough and challenging which was the best part of the course.

By komugiこむぎ

Jul 21, 2018

It was difficult but somewhat easy to understand,

even though I didn't have enough knowledge of mathematics to start.

By Anthony N

Feb 15, 2018

Great fun for long-time professional. It's worth it to review these algorithms, as they're still interview material.

By Aron D

Apr 7, 2020

Very nice concepts explained but I found myself having to repeat videos very often to understand a concept properly

By Greg H

Oct 19, 2018

Was a great review of the tools you'll want to be able to pull from and communicate through as a software engineer.

By Alina D

Oct 17, 2017

There are some issues are needed to be more detailed, and opposite some easy issues are explained too meticulously.