Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
12,105 ratings

About the Course

This online course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

BD

Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

SG

Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

Filter by:

1951 - 1975 of 2,495 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Khaled A

Aug 10, 2020

The course content is very good and well explained, the one problem I met that I felt that some instructors in some videos are just like reading a script.

By Nikhil M

May 16, 2020

It is an excellent course. It would be better if visual illustrations were to be displayed with the pseudo code, rather than after explaining pseudo code.

By Sahil J

Aug 29, 2016

I found the course to have some really helpful approaches to solving algorithmic problems when test inputs are unknown. Great "Toolbox" for a programmer.

By Pratik R

Jul 11, 2021

course overflow was an amazing . i have learnt lots of things from algorithmic toolbox and also its helps me to improve my programming skills.

thank you!

By prianka b

Oct 11, 2016

Alexander Kulikov, Michel Levin and Neil Rhodes are awesome teachers. Every topic of this course opens a whole new dimension of concept. It was awesome.

By Pankaj K

Nov 11, 2019

Week 6 of the course is little bit hard as compare to the initial weeks and the rate of increment of difficulty is high in the last part of the course.

By Ryan C

May 11, 2019

Highly informative, touching on all the key areas while remaining succinct. Problem sets were excellent – only suggestion would be to add more of them.

By kapil r

Aug 29, 2020

The assignments are really hard as hell especially of dynamic programming. After 4th week , i had really a hard time understanding even the lectures.

By Syed S A

Apr 23, 2020

The course will make you stronger in programming ever, as it will make you focus on time and space complexity and focuses on thinking out of the box.

By islam s

Jun 10, 2022

realy enjoyed this course maybe it will be hard if you come from a non math background you need to know proofs and algebra before deep in the course

By Sidharth S

Jul 1, 2016

The full course should be available with the assignments for the non payers. Only the certificate of this should be provided to those who have paid.

By Dhadi S K

Sep 24, 2020

its good enough to give better understanding of how to approach the different types of problems and solve using some of the algorithmic techniques.

By hridyesh s b

Sep 3, 2020

Hi, the course was really good but you could emphasis more on content from week 5 and 6. I fell it was a bit short to solve the problem statements.

By Diego S

Nov 15, 2019

The coding challenges are incredibly valuable. Would have liked a bit more in depth mathematical explanations for the Dynamic Programming sections.

By shashwat p

Sep 11, 2020

It is hard and best course as well, it took a lot hard work to come with algorithm. Problems with recursive approach was hard to debug/implement.

By mohab m

Apr 4, 2016

the content if very good, but lecturers are terrible. you better read slides and read any book you like. watching their videos it wast of time.

By Abhijeet K

Apr 3, 2016

Good course.But I wish there was a final assignment which covered all the weeks like a module exam to revise what we have learnt in all 4 weeks

By Mykola D

Mar 26, 2018

I like the course. I've learned a lot of new things. However, I felt like I needed more detailed info and more examples on some of the topics.

By Ravi K

Jul 15, 2018

Great course. Problems were quite fun. Would appreciate more if the recommended book was supplied with course instead of buying it separately

By itamar G

Dec 18, 2022

Great course! strurctured nicely. I found it quite good that one can choose from a variety of languages to work on the different assignments

By Andrei K

Aug 30, 2022

I think it would be nice if the course would have more resources and references to the related problems, algorythmic and math books/articles

By Avish W

Sep 11, 2021

This is very helpful course for beginners , covering a lot of content and assignments are limited and very good covering majority of things.

By Devang G

Aug 26, 2021

superb assignments are given

if you will do your assignment honestly then surely you can do much better in field of competitive programming.

By David A V

Jul 9, 2020

Buenos ejercicios y explicaciones, algunas clases están sin subtitulos pero solo informarse mas del tema para poder resolver los ejercicios.

By Shubham P

May 25, 2020

This course was really helpful for me to enhance my knowledge. Assignments were the best part of this course and that builds the confidence!