Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
12,102 ratings

About the Course

This online course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

BD

Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

SG

Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

Filter by:

2026 - 2050 of 2,494 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Palak T

Jul 15, 2020

I enjoyed learning creating new solution and how can a particular problem can be solved by different approach.

By Manas G

May 12, 2020

Some algorithms were exceptionally good like greedy algos but divide and conquer algos meed to be improvised

By Subham K

Nov 26, 2019

Real good exercises were provided and the explanation to all the algorithms was also detailed and to the point

By Suraj K

May 14, 2020

Fantastic course. Week 5 did not have enough explanation though. Apart from that the course was very valuable

By Pushkar D

Jun 4, 2019

Good course. Helps one apply their mind and solve. I only wish it had more exercises for asymptotic analysis.

By Saksham R

May 12, 2021

A very diversified course with a wide variety of problems, some tricky enough to make you scratch your head.

By Aarvin G

Dec 14, 2020

This is a great foundational course for people who are interested in learning Data structures and algorithm

By Алвандян Н А

Aug 13, 2019

everything is great, except it would be highly desirable to see the correct implementation of all the tasks

By Chris L

Dec 24, 2017

As a largely self taught programmer this is filling in important information I failed to pick up on my own.

By Saiyam J

Jul 20, 2020

Lovely Course. I like the small task in between the lectures that helps a lot in understanding the topics.

By Roushan K S

May 22, 2020

awesome course. One can do this to when they are a beginner. good course structure and awesome instructors

By akshat k

Mar 6, 2020

Some more tough and mind challenging questions should be added. A little intro to competitive programming.

By dhruv k

Jun 4, 2019

all the content and exercises r awesome. I only found difficulty in last week bcz of English pronunciation

By dheeraj p

Nov 10, 2017

all the topics were taught well and teachers are quite experienced and got to learn a lot from this course

By vivek s

Sep 15, 2020

Amazing course , but if possible should include implementation of more searching and sorting algorithms.

By Stephen K

Jul 7, 2020

Pretty interesting and challenging. Some algorithms were not explained with much clarity towards the end.

By Haeeun P

Feb 17, 2019

강의의 편차가 있긴 하지만, 과제로 주어지는 문제가 난이도 별로 배치되어 있어 이를 통해 많이 배울 수 있습니다. 강의에 나온 내용을 구현하는 문제부터 응용하는 문제까지 골고루 있습니다.

By sumit k

Nov 20, 2016

The overall course was very good however the edit distance lectures were very fast to grasp the concepts

By Ahmed T E

Dec 11, 2016

Very good course. It illustrates many algorithms using simple ways, short videos and readable material.

By Faraz H

May 21, 2020

The level of assignment problems is very good. We can learn a lot from the completing the assignments.

By VAIBHAV N

Apr 29, 2020

This course is really amazing. i am learning lots of algorithm and many new concepts with this course.

By Joseph E

Apr 29, 2021

The Tutors did not pass the message well. I still had to consult youtube to fully grasp some concepts

By Can R

Jun 12, 2018

instuctors no longer check the discussion boards. So it's a hassle to get the right answers sometimes

By Raul P

Dec 30, 2020

It would be good if you have more examples in code like python or just numbers proving the algorithm

By Atishay J

Aug 1, 2019

Nice course

good practice problems

awesome explanation

but is not language specific, may be good or bad