Chevron Left
Back to Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms by Stanford University

4.8
stars
4,627 ratings
901 reviews

About the Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Top reviews

KS
Sep 13, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT
May 26, 2020

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 883 Reviews for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

By Andrey M

Jun 29, 2020

Thank you Tom. This is a great course. I got a real vision of the algorithms and started to understand it.

By Joseph R

Apr 5, 2018

Can you do better in those technical interviews?

Yes! if you take this course.

I recommend buying the book.

By Jhan C

Nov 26, 2019

Tim Roughgarden is an exceptional teacher. Didn't think I'd learn so much in such a short space of time!

By Abhilasha

Jul 4, 2017

This Course is indeed a good source for thorough understanding of the basic concepts of the algorithms.

By Tushar

Jun 11, 2017

Very nice and structured course , with an intention to imbibe the "thinkness" in students for algorithms

By Vlad K

Dec 14, 2020

Material is great and well structured, assignments are challenging enough. Thanks a lot for the course!

By Rickard A

Jun 1, 2020

Genuinely enjoyed this! Would be nice to have a review of data structures included as optional as well.

By Sanjaya P

Jul 19, 2018

I like this course! Specially programming assignments were challenging. Enjoyed throughout the session.

By Dipen K

Jun 17, 2019

Course was well planed. It would be more better if more graded programming assignments were included.

By 习炎喆

Dec 14, 2018

Really helpful as a start of algorithm learning. And it is good to require only one kind of language.

By Deleted A

Dec 29, 2017

Excellent but make sure to brush up your math logic and probability skills before taking this course!

By Pavel G

Dec 17, 2020

Great intro into the design and analysis of algorithms, made in the approachable and engaging style.

By Красовский И В

Aug 25, 2020

It was much more exciting at my 26 to complete the course than doing it back in my uni-days. Thanks!

By Tanyaradzwa G

Jun 17, 2020

Amazing course for understanding algorithms in depth and it has a low barrier to entry. Well taught!

By 毛毛

Apr 12, 2019

A well-organized course with clear statement on how algorithms work. Brilliant and helpful course!

By Sumukh P O

Jun 30, 2020

it was an amazing journey though short. it was worth each minute that you invested in this course

By Haixu L

Apr 11, 2020

Great class, learned a lot.

On the other hand, I feel a formal reading material will help as well.

By ahmed m g

May 26, 2019

I feel like I have a deep understanding of algorithms already just by the end of the second week.

By JackYanghc

Oct 11, 2018

it ‘s a challenge course ,but give me a useful theory to learn other divide and conquer algorithm

By Minyue D

May 14, 2017

Really love this course! Although the quiz might be a little hard but they are definitely doable!

By Andrea

Jan 27, 2021

Fun Class! Loved it! I learned a lot and will move on to the next course in this specialization.

By Armin F

Sep 6, 2020

Great Algorithm class, stays at high level and coding assignment reinforce practicing main idea.

By Chenglei S

Aug 26, 2017

Very clear explanation. Contents covered are helpful for understanding time complexity analysis.

By Hari K

Jun 2, 2021

E​xcellent course for people who already have had a basic course in algorithms/data structures.

By Prince C S

Sep 9, 2021

Great Pace - good examples - always going to the point - clear and providing good information.