Chevron Left
Back to Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms by Stanford University

4.8
stars
4,527 ratings
880 reviews

About the Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Top reviews

KS
Sep 13, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT
May 26, 2020

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 860 Reviews for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

By Pasha B

Jan 18, 2018

Would be great to have more verbose assignments check results. But still awesome experience and challenge

By Rakibullah S

May 25, 2018

Good but some videos on how the algorithms work and the proofs could have been much easier and clearer

By Haoran Z

Jun 2, 2017

Great algorithm course, definitely helps people who find reading an algorithm book too boring to read.

By tanish k s

Apr 17, 2020

accent is difficult to understand for indian students. course is very helpful to grab deep knowledge.

By Heather F

Sep 11, 2020

Great course. It would be nice if there was more detailed feedback on the assignments and quizes.

By S A

Dec 22, 2017

Please do not teach graphs before teaching data structures it becomes very tough for students.

By Irene J

Apr 11, 2020

It is a little bit hard for people who only have Python background, but still pretty good.

By LAWRENCE S

Jun 28, 2019

The talking speed of instructor is too fast. Is there a way to slow down via the control?

By Andres M H C

Jan 9, 2021

Very nice course. The professor speak really fast but the subtitles are really helpful

By CHANDAN K S

May 5, 2020

instructor speed of telling the concept is very fast so kindly please take care of it.

By Shubham r

Aug 24, 2019

It was a great course and I loved joining this. Clearing my many theoretical concepts.

By Rui Z

Jan 12, 2019

Very good course! Clear explanations and proofs to help you understand the algorithms.

By Priyanshu J

Apr 4, 2020

I would appreciate if implementation of algorithms is also included with this course.

By Rohan K

Sep 12, 2020

The instructor was really really fast. Grasping the concepts was a little difficult.

By Joey

Jul 1, 2020

Awesome course, I found it very helpful in preparation for my developer interviews.

By Nikhil S

Dec 21, 2019

In the very end, it was fun coding the min-cut algorithm and overall I enjoyed this

By Tianyi Z

Jul 16, 2018

Quicksort could be better. The comparison counting is not a good assignment I feel.

By Lucas P

Jan 1, 2019

The classes are very good but I hope they can improve the programming assignments.

By Osmar P

Feb 10, 2021

Extreme well-structured course, but it's really hard to understand the whiteboard

By Dieter V

Nov 16, 2020

Very well explained. Good selection of programming assignments and problem sets.

By Sukhesh B

Nov 14, 2016

Great course to improve your skills on Algorithms, Space and Time complexities

By Sriram R

Nov 13, 2016

Needs hands-on experience with high-school probability to help crack the exams

By Aman S

Apr 3, 2020

The instructor wasn't very good at teaching, but the course is designed well.

By Ashish U

Jul 25, 2019

really helpful course on building concepts on data structures and algorithms

By Aditya K

Jun 29, 2018

Tough one, but if you take time to understand ... it is deep and fun as well