Chevron Left
Back to Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms by Stanford University

4.8
stars
5,014 ratings

About the Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Top reviews

KS

Sep 13, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT

May 26, 2020

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 954 Reviews for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

By kumar d

Apr 21, 2018

This is the best thing to happen for learning algorithms (close second would be the book by steven skiena). This course took me 13 years back to my college 2nd year when I fell in love with algorithms. This is like living your first love all over again. Thank you professor Roughgarden, and I hope you create another course with advanced algorithms with latest developments.

By Stefan T I

Dec 25, 2016

This course offers one of the best introductions to reasoning about algorithms in a mathematical way. However, it is not just theory, it also gives you practical advise and forces you to polish up your programming skills as well by implementing some of the most useful and popular algorithms for sorting and similar applications in whatever language you wish.

By Md A R

Apr 8, 2018

The course is awesome. But the video quality could be improved specially those with echos. It would help concentrating. I have completed algorithm as a undergraduate course and this course is to revisit those area where I had some minor weakness. And this course really helped me building an strong understanding on those points. Overall experience is good.

By Stefanos L

Oct 31, 2017

Very well structured. The lecturer/resources/customizable speed etc are excelllent. I only found the programming assignments too difficult (especially the 4th one) and I had to revert (more than I wanted) to internet sources to do them (or it, especially the 4th one). In contrast, the quizzes were too easy. Perhaps personal taste. Excellent work overall.

By Haitham S

Jun 17, 2020

The course is very well designed. It is programming language agnostic and this allows you to focus on the actual content and learn the way to approach algorithms. Also, the approach the professor takes makes the material more approachable for people coming from different backgrounds! Thanks to Coursera, Stanford University and Professor Tim Roughgarden!

By Pruthvi K

May 7, 2022

The best course I have seen for Data structure and algorithms. The course focuses on the algorithm, math and is language agnostic. Hands down the best series fro DSA if you want to learn all the basic algorithms and understand the technique well. The way the professore paces this course is amazing as well, not wasting time on unecessary topics.

By Abhisek G

Apr 20, 2022

It is an amazing course to get started with algorithm and it's analysis. We get to learn mathematical and logical models behind algorithms and implement it in real world use using any programming language of our choice. We however do need to have certain amount of programming expertise to be able to learn from this course to the fullest degree.

By Eric R

Mar 3, 2021

This is the 3rd algorithms course I've taken and easily my favorite so far. Professor Roughgarden does an excellent job explaining the concepts behind the algorithm without getting lost in the technical details. I'd suggest taking the supplemental lectures if you want a deeper understanding of the material, but they aren't necessary.

By Vishwas D

Oct 8, 2020

First, I would like to thanks a team of Stanford for allowing and approving my financial aid for this course. While waiting for the approval I visited the videos and I completed this course in a day. I sincerely thank the team Stanford for arranging such a wisdomic platform for learning the best tools from the Stanford experts.

By Feiyu L

Apr 23, 2018

Now I truly understand how to think of algorithm in terms with Recursion applying Divide and Conquer, and how to use Master method to prove an algorithm's complexity. Even though it is more rigorous then what is required for a software interview or engineering project, having the exposure of theory is better than not having it.

By Aditya k

Jun 19, 2018

This is an amazing course focusing on some of the important fundamentals required to design the right algorithm to a problem statement. Prof. Tim Roughgarden does a fantastic job in explaining the concepts and catching the attention of the students, while not making the course boring. Thanks Courseera for hosting this course.

By Sivaramakrishnan S

Mar 25, 2020

I came here from the stanford Lagunita course with the same material. It's an understatement to say that I had quite a FUN time. Wonderfully laid out course structure and sometimes a bit lightweight (rightly so) course material. Highly recommend for people with non-CS background. Great (evergreen) intro course to Algorithms!

By Rui C

Oct 22, 2017

Really good course on divide and conquer algorithm design approaches. It's a good introduction to the subject of algorithms. The book written from the course and on sale on amazon is a really good support to the videos. It is a clean up transcript with further additions to the material covered and it's well worth the buying.

By Sangeet M D

May 31, 2017

I always had my doubt on whether to choose which course on Algorithm in coursera, The Princeton one or the Stanford one. Though I can weight one above the other, but the flow is which the Stanford one proceed is the best for any lower Intermediate level student to wants to learn the upper fundamentals of Algorithm Analysis.

By Dustin Z

Sep 23, 2019

A very good course. More challenging than the machine learning courses I have taken because there is more math and the programming assignments are less directed, but that was a plus as I grew more in my critical thinking and programming skills because I needed to solve the problems on my own. Very happy with this course.

By Hagen T

Feb 22, 2018

This is an excellent course on algorithms, that has given me a deeper understanding of the subject.

I am a theoretical physicist using this course as preparation for coding interviews, and the speed, amount of rigor and optional material (the optional theory problems in particular) feel perfect for my learning effort.

By Md. F K

Sep 27, 2019

At first, the course may look too fast-paced, but after one or two videos, ample explanations would disabuse oneself of that idea. Highly resourceful lectures, challenging quizzes, and optional problems make this course quite an elegant one. One of my favorite courses. Looking forward to completing the specialization.

By Zhao J

Dec 28, 2017

It's just great! The professor is humorous and fantastic! I really love this course, and it had helped me get started in algorithms and data structures. After finishing this course, I have read some part (part I to part IV) of the CLRS book and learned even more! Believe me, this is a good course and worth your time.

By Limber

Oct 31, 2017

A really helpful course that help me to dive deep into the algorithms world. The prof is really nice. I thought the book he has wrote is really benefit for my study. I have over 5 years coding experience but it is still hard for me to get that. Some algorithms assignments are really interesting. It's time worthy.

By Masashi M

Nov 14, 2016

I was very amazed with his really good lectures. Especially proving each algorithm's correctness and performance was very interesting and stimulated my curiosity. I also need to note that optional videos for probability helped me a lot to understand this course. I would like to recommend my friends definitely.

By Damian C

Feb 2, 2018

Amazing course, just loved it. First there's the ingenuity of the topics covered. Second, Tim makes an awesome job in delivering those lectures. Very clear, and straight to the point. Aside from learning, I enjoyed this a lot. Many thanks to Coursera and its team for making this available, keep the good work :)!

By Li-Pu C

Mar 24, 2020

the professor talks about the algorithm of the introduction to the algorithm and overall it is very good because it is very uncommon that people can deliver hard knowledge in a easy way. I would recommend all the foreigners to take this course as their first course on Coursera if you're new to computer science.

By Kaan A

Sep 7, 2019

It was great course from Tim Roughgarden. I like his style and explanations. I enjoyed while doing programming assignments and quizzes and final exams. They were designed well. Difficulty is just right for an online course I guess, not more than courses in universities but more than most of the online courses.

By Paras J

Apr 4, 2020

The best content and teaching methodology one can find for algorithms. Even the topics that are considered tough were explained in a very smooth and succinct manner. I loved the optional reading material and assignments! Some of the problems were really challenging and fun to solve. Highly recommended!

By Edgar R H P

Nov 26, 2018

El curso es realmente agradable y permite obtener conocimientos para la optimización de algoritmos, altamente recomendado para aquellos que ya tienen una base ya formada. Parecería apropiado adaptar un curso similar para profesionales capacitados en otras carreras pero con interés en los algoritmos.