Chevron Left
Back to Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms by Stanford University

4.8
stars
4,053 ratings
750 reviews

About the Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Top reviews

KS

Sep 14, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

CV

Jun 11, 2017

A really exciting and challenging course. Loved the way the instructor explained everything with so much detail and precision. Definitely looking forward to the next course in the specialization.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 733 Reviews for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

By Alan R M

Jun 08, 2018

It really helped me understand the concept of algorithms. I confess that I have a new perspective of an algorithm.

By Garrett M

May 10, 2018

Great teacher. Coming from a science background myself, I like that the math is not watered down in the analysis.

By Balaji R

Mar 22, 2020

What an amazing and insightful course. the min algorithm totally blew my mind randomized algo are simply elegant

By Alberto C

Dec 10, 2017

Wonderful explanations. The companion book helps a lot to review material and have it always fresh in your mind.

By Shinjan T

Sep 11, 2019

Awesome course. Learnt a lot about the theory behind a randomized algorithm. Karger's min cut was a revelation.

By Shawn W M

Apr 30, 2019

He can tend to go off topic and waste time in an effort to be exactly exact, but other than that, great course.

By Keerthana S

Jun 22, 2018

The material is explained really well and the programming assignments are challenging but ultimately solvable.

By Jorge B

Oct 14, 2017

Excellent, great explanations and good pace. Exercises quite challenging for a newbie but you'll learn a ton.

By Jiacheng J

Aug 04, 2017

Slides are concise. By going through all the slides, I'm already able to grab most of the information needed.

By Pedro G

Jul 02, 2020

Some of the homeworks were difficult, but implementing the algorithms is the best way to really learn them.

By yiyefang

Jun 08, 2017

A little hard to understand, but if you have done your preparation readings, it would be extremely helpful!

By Constantin M

Jun 03, 2017

Great Course! Everyone should take this cousere in order to become a skilled programmer.

Not for begginers.

By Aliaksei P

May 16, 2017

Amazing course. Tim is a very charismatic lecturer and it is always a pleasure to get back to his lectures.

By Subhashis M

Jan 09, 2017

Tim Roughgarden teaches with wit and depth. Speaking with idiomatic verve, he injects life into Algorithms!

By Andrey M

Jun 29, 2020

Thank you Tom. This is a great course. I got a real vision of the algorithms and started to understand it.

By Joseph R

Apr 05, 2018

Can you do better in those technical interviews?

Yes! if you take this course.

I recommend buying the book.

By Jan C

Nov 26, 2019

Tim Roughgarden is an exceptional teacher. Didn't think I'd learn so much in such a short space of time!

By Abhilasha

Jul 04, 2017

This Course is indeed a good source for thorough understanding of the basic concepts of the algorithms.

By Tushar

Jun 11, 2017

Very nice and structured course , with an intention to imbibe the "thinkness" in students for algorithms

By Rickard A

Jun 01, 2020

Genuinely enjoyed this! Would be nice to have a review of data structures included as optional as well.

By Sanjaya P

Jul 19, 2018

I like this course! Specially programming assignments were challenging. Enjoyed throughout the session.

By Dipen K

Jun 17, 2019

Course was well planed. It would be more better if more graded programming assignments were included.

By 习炎喆

Dec 14, 2018

Really helpful as a start of algorithm learning. And it is good to require only one kind of language.

By Deleted A

Dec 30, 2017

Excellent but make sure to brush up your math logic and probability skills before taking this course!

By Tanyaradzwa G

Jun 17, 2020

Amazing course for understanding algorithms in depth and it has a low barrier to entry. Well taught!