Chevron Left
Back to Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms by Stanford University

4.8
stars
4,380 ratings
841 reviews

About the Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Top reviews

KS
Sep 13, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT
May 26, 2020

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 823 Reviews for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

By Kelvin

Oct 28, 2017

The course is awesome and explained in details of every topic. However, watching the videos alone is not enough and in my opinion, read the book that the course recommended or look on the internet for relevant reference to support your learning.

By Eldiiar D

Nov 16, 2020

It would be great to see some implementation with some coding language, not only pseudocode. But overall, it is a great course, I have learned so much! and of course, I started to think differently (dividing every problem into subproblems)!

By Sean S

Jul 22, 2017

A little too much math than what was anticipated, I would have preferred more of why did the CS choose a divide and conquer approach than proofs. The professor talks faster than I can take notes, it's great that we can stop and rewind.

By Norman W

Jun 24, 2018

Yea i think it's good. However, some of the proofs didn't 100% make sense to me and I don't prefer sloppy proofs. I'd like more concrete walkthrough of the proofs. I know that's hard for course that has so much content packed into it.

By Pranav K

Apr 17, 2020

It is the best course for the above algorithms that I have seen till date.The pace and problems are just perfect.It produces interest in us to learn more.Atlast the course is not that tough nor that easy it is just amazing.

By Duy K N

Aug 23, 2018

The lecturer explains everything very clearly. All materials are interesting but the assignments are not well-prepared and quite little :( I don't think they can assess learner's understanding and knowledge well enough

By Rishabh P

Mar 31, 2020

It is a great course, but the person needs to be determined to complete the course, and you will also have to refer to a lot of external materials... Tim tried to make the course as interesting as possible...

By Ali I C

Jan 4, 2020

A bit too heavy on the probability and mathematical proof side, otherwise I learned a lot about divide and conquer algorithms and minimum cut as well as the Master Method for algorithm analysis.

By Joe

Apr 29, 2017

As someone with only (UK) high school level maths I just about managed to follow this. I am still confused by logarithms. I guess I should go and read the maths for computer science resource.

By Gonzalo G E

Apr 8, 2018

I would like a better balance workload from week to week. In my experience it increase every week, so last week I was in a rush, not even being able to go through the optional material.

By Emin E

Jan 27, 2018

It would be great if lectures and slides would be with better design and to make and record new slides and lectures. Because these lectures seems too old. Everything else is great.

By Pablo J

Aug 28, 2019

understand that this is intended to be cross code language information, but would also be nice to see examples of non-pseudo code and implemented into at least one language

By Xiaoliu W

Jul 12, 2020

Nice material. Wish the instructor can go over some part of the material a little slower. Also it would be nice if the solution of the optional questions can be provided.

By Ahmad B E

May 9, 2017

Great course for who is seeking to learn new algorithms and their analysis specially the randomized algorithm. but its videos are kind of long compered to other courses.

By Ivan C

Nov 13, 2019

It would be good to have more simple examples, like how theoretical results can be applied, with exact numbers and not with abstract n, a, k, b, j after we prove them.

By Madhumala J

Mar 27, 2019

Kindly make it more simpler by adding more practise problems so that solving problems become more easier during the test and thereby to gain more knowledge on the same

By dmitriy m

Apr 27, 2018

It would be better to have more test cases linked to programming assengments. Hoppefully, there is a github branch with that already... but better to merge it to here

By Justin S

Jan 29, 2019

High rank because the instructor really makes the material come alive. Not a 5-star since I wish there was more supporting materials to accompany the course. Thanks!

By Mayank K

Jan 16, 2020

Good if you want to be a researcher or follow your career on algorithms but not so good if you want to learn using ds and algos fast to crack technical interviews.

By Himanshu G

Dec 30, 2017

great course but it would be better if you ask students to submit their code and give limits and various test cases like an actual programming contest.

By aditya s c

Jan 25, 2019

very good teaching of algorithms.however a little help for coding those would be appreciated.(in my case i am dealing with graphs for the first time).

By wenqin s

May 27, 2020

Overall experience is well, the probability overview was fast, require deep understanding with probability and statistics in discrete model.

By Sergei I

Mar 24, 2019

Content is great. But handwriting is hard to understand clearly for non-native english speakers. I expected good quality of presentations.

By VIBIN V

Jul 28, 2018

excellent course

slightly fast paced and optional exercises are challenging . one should solve those as well to get in depth practice.

By Saumya S

Apr 2, 2020

Teaching is absolutely perfect. (A grade). But the content in this sub-division of the specialization is very much theoretical.