Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms on Graphs

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms on Graphs by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
2,034 ratings
342 reviews

About the Course

If you have ever used a navigation service to find optimal route and estimate time to destination, you've used algorithms on graphs. Graphs arise in various real-world situations as there are road networks, computer networks and, most recently, social networks! If you're looking for the fastest time to get to work, cheapest way to connect set of computers into a network or efficient algorithm to automatically find communities and opinion leaders in Facebook, you're going to work with graphs and algorithms on graphs. In this course, you will first learn what a graph is and what are some of the most important properties. Then you'll learn several ways to traverse graphs and how you can do useful things while traversing the graph in some order. We will then talk about shortest paths algorithms — from the basic ones to those which open door for 1000000 times faster algorithms used in Google Maps and other navigational services. You will use these algorithms if you choose to work on our Fast Shortest Routes industrial capstone project. We will finish with minimum spanning trees which are used to plan road, telephone and computer networks and also find applications in clustering and approximate algorithms....

Top reviews

CS
Jun 30, 2019

Excellent Course for anyone looking to expertise Graph Algorithm. Professor's explained each problem and algorithm in a very easy to learn approach. Grades are tough and yet func to get challenged.

CC
Oct 6, 2018

Good balance between theory and practice. The assignments are well thought to measure the understanding of videos, which I had to watch many times to grasp the hidden tips from the instructor.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 332 Reviews for Algorithms on Graphs

By Oliver A

May 25, 2018

Excellent course. Like with the other courses in the series the programming assignment are a great help for understanding the material.

By Sahil K

Mar 19, 2021

Amazing Course. If you are beginner and want to learn graphs, then this course is for you. Assignments are very Interesting and good.

By Guo F

Aug 7, 2020

Truly wonderful course. Course material carefully curated and well explained. Assignments are wonderful. Definitely recommend.

By Pawan N

Jun 6, 2020

Amazing Course for anyone regardless of freshmen or senior computer science or even non-cs people, I'd definitely recommend it!

By Onkar S P

Apr 1, 2020

It was really a good experience.

Thank You to all the instructors and people who are directly/indirectly related to this course.

By Thummanoon K

Oct 17, 2016

Great course! it would be better if the course provide more problems that is not directly the implementation of what is taught

By Shahnawaz N A

Mar 28, 2020

This course focussed a lot on the crucial graph algorithms in Computer Science and sets a good base to build up on later.

By Connor W

Aug 19, 2017

Anyone who wants to understand a bit more about graphs and the corresponding algorithms should take up this course.

By Shubham P

May 28, 2020

The course was perfect to practice the graph algorithms and assignments were helpful for building the confidence!

By kumar v

Mar 28, 2019

One of the Best course available on coursera . Make me perfect on algorithm and also improve my thinking skills

By Juan D B P

May 27, 2020

Very nice course, and the examples where really awesome, and the last optinal part is really challenging and fun

By sandip c

Jun 8, 2020

its very nice all topic and this subject its very helful for all metrial and videos fro increse my knowlage

By IT012-Bhanushali K N

Apr 4, 2020

A very good course.

and there are many good things you can learn related to graphs.

and I enjoyed this course.

By Abhigyan A

Sep 1, 2019

The videos are very well explained, this is one of the best courses for learning basic algorithms on graphs.

By Joseph G N

Mar 6, 2018

An amazing course, cover all the necessary to understand the basic idea of the graph and some advanced ideas

By shangping g

Jul 7, 2017

the week 4-5 seems not match the difficulty with the first three weeks, less contents and less challenging

By Osvaldo C P

Sep 20, 2016

It helped me to understand graphs from a programming point of view. I got fun when solving the problems.

By David D

May 8, 2017

It was fantastic to see priority queues and disjoint sets from course 2 put to good use in this course.

By Hrithwik S

Apr 3, 2020

Good overall touch in most of the topics , although could have included more and made a bit more brief

By Madan K

Aug 9, 2016

Really Good Course , Problems are of good quality , the content is time saving and easy to understand.

By Nguyen B L

Nov 29, 2020

great course!!! learning the foundation of graph as well as having opportunity to practice algorithm.

By Samuel H

Aug 7, 2016

Very good explanations. The course assignments were well thought-out and were the right difficulty.

By Pradyumn A

Aug 7, 2016

Great Course to understand the graph algorithms and hone the skills to solve the Graph Problems.

By Kazuki Y

Aug 26, 2017

I often had to refer to the data structure course (course 2), which was a good review exercise.

By Vedant P

Feb 25, 2019

Exceptionally good course. Basics covered here stand the test of even the toughest hackathons.