Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms, Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms, Part I by Princeton University

4.9
stars
8,384 ratings
1,732 reviews

About the Course

This course covers the essential information that every serious programmer needs to know about algorithms and data structures, with emphasis on applications and scientific performance analysis of Java implementations. Part I covers elementary data structures, sorting, and searching algorithms. Part II focuses on graph- and string-processing algorithms. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

RM
May 31, 2017

This is a great class. I learned / re-learned a ton. The assignments were challenge and left a definite feel of accomplishment. The programming environment and automated grading system were excellent.

RP
Jun 10, 2017

Incredible learning experience. Every programmer in industry should take this course if only to dispel the idea that with the advent of cloud computing exponential algorithms can still ruin your day!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,669 Reviews for Algorithms, Part I

By fire

Jul 15, 2017

Highly recommended to people new to algorithms, I learned a lot from this courses. the professor is very good at teaching stuff in an easy to understand way. thanks a lot.

By Nguyen T H

Nov 3, 2018

although I've learnt all the algorithm in this course before but when I learn them again through this course I still feel fascinating, great course, worth the time learning

By Pravin

Feb 26, 2017

Really exceptional course. Thank you so much for making this available for free, for the time spent by the professor creating this and the mentors helping out the students.

By Karen L

Jun 2, 2020

Very clear lectures, and I loved the assignments. They're engaging and complex enough to have you reading and re-reading your code and coming back for more optimizations.

By Abhijith A

Jul 6, 2019

Really good algorithms course for people with some prior programming knowledge. Some advanced data structures and algorithms are discussed here elegantly with simplicity.

By iqbalpakeh

May 2, 2018

This is very recommended course for software engineer to really grasp the knowledge of algorithm. This will definitely help you improve your skill in your day to day job.

By Tiago K V

Aug 27, 2017

Awesome course, one of the best structured courses I've done in Coursera. The video classes are extremely well recorded and edited, and mr. Sedgewick is simply brilliant.

By Konstantinos B

Nov 20, 2016

Amazing course from an inspiring instructor. The course material is excellent. The assignments are demanding, but totally worth the time spent. Thank you for this course!

By Andrey K

Jan 6, 2018

Good course. Very informative. Nice problems. A part of course is understand only when read answers of test system of problem solving. It would be grate if less cough :)

By DengYao

Nov 7, 2016

This course is pretty good.Algorithms' processing is clear in slide and teacher also explain well.I learned how to design API for data structure.I think it is important.

By Toni Z

Nov 18, 2020

Good quality. Assignments are hard. The text book is a must-read for those who have less CS background.

Would be better if students could get more help from TAs/mentors.

By Narayanan M

Jul 9, 2020

It pushed me to the limits. It helped increase my confidence in tackling difficult problems. It refreshed my love to computer science and brough me back to college days

By Eric F

Jun 25, 2019

This course does a great job of really going over the importance of using the proper algorithms and how that can greatly affect the efficiency of processing large data.

By Yuan

Oct 20, 2016

This course is pretty good, for part 1, the lecturer covered some basic and essential things in algorithms and data structure. Everything is presented in a clear order.

By Zongwei F

Jun 25, 2019

A great course for algorithm! The code is really simple and beautiful. Before the course you need some java knowledge, otherwise it will be a little hard to understand

By Changbeom Y

Jul 1, 2017

During assignments, It was painful to make correctly working code. But, it made me much better than before. I recommend this course. Spend weekend with great tutoring.

By Mario L

Feb 26, 2017

One of the best courses I've taken so far, related to Computer Science fundamentals. if you need to master data structures and algorithms, this is the course for you.

By 黄佳新

Mar 2, 2018

Very good! The week assignments are interesting and challenging. Maybe you have learned these data structures, but you can improve your programming ability in java.

By Tokhtar Y

Apr 26, 2020

Very nice course, with detailed explanation. It was really helpful, since I forgot all the algorithms after graduation, and it was a nice recap and many new things.

By Anant d

Feb 17, 2020

Great course ever, This course cheers up me for Learning Algorithms. I have always loved to learn and the great courses lectures are so well taught and educational.

By jawahar

Feb 9, 2020

Time is priceless.So spending the time on this course is really worth for the life.It's my life changing course.My lifetime salute to Robert Sedgewick & Kevin Wayne

By Sueny S M

Jun 5, 2019

This course provides you a deep understanding of basics algorithms as well basic java apis.

It is challenging and instigating. Thank you for the material professors.

By Wei-Hsiang H

Sep 9, 2018

Learn from the author of the great algorithms book. Everything is just so easy to understand. I don't know why I got stuck when I learned algorithms in the college.

By Shuping S

Mar 8, 2018

I like this course and recommend this course to many friends. This course helped me find a job as a software engineer. Thanks very much. This is my favorite course.

By Edison A R M C

Jun 4, 2019

Excelent, this course have very good introduction , its very deep and also have a lot of information in the web page about the book of reference. Highly recommend