Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms, Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms, Part I by Princeton University

4.9
stars
7,972 ratings
1,644 reviews

About the Course

This course covers the essential information that every serious programmer needs to know about algorithms and data structures, with emphasis on applications and scientific performance analysis of Java implementations. Part I covers elementary data structures, sorting, and searching algorithms. Part II focuses on graph- and string-processing algorithms. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

RM

Jun 01, 2017

This is a great class. I learned / re-learned a ton. The assignments were challenge and left a definite feel of accomplishment. The programming environment and automated grading system were excellent.

RP

Jun 11, 2017

Incredible learning experience. Every programmer in industry should take this course if only to dispel the idea that with the advent of cloud computing exponential algorithms can still ruin your day!

Filter by:

1476 - 1500 of 1,583 Reviews for Algorithms, Part I

By Harshit S

Mar 02, 2017

The course was really good in giving real time examples of the algorithms and its usability in the real world ,the course should also have offered few more assignment covering each topic in the assignments using every component of the course!

By Shantanu S S

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent Course. Very Good Assignments and the Autograding feature.

Some of the topics are difficult to understand. So, I think their explanation should be as per level so that all the students can understand instead of moving forward.

By Shawn X

Jun 22, 2020

I took this course to get a taste of Coursera courses and a refresher on my algorithm. The course is very informational and clear (Robert is a great professor) but the home assignments are much more challenging than the course material

By Mattias H

Dec 27, 2016

Great course. Sedgewick has good educational skills. The course also contains good examples and interesting assignments. I struggled a bit with the first assignments, but then I liked the last 2 better. Looking forward to part 2.

By Johan R

Feb 19, 2020

Excellent course. Good lectures and interesting and challenging problems. Only drawback is that we are forced to use Java. It obviously helps with grading, but would have liked to use a language I am more familiar with.

By Ritwik B

Jun 01, 2020

The course focuses on Java specific implementations of algorithms, so if you're not from a Java background, you would have a little difficulty with the assignments.The course content however is great.

By Maxim B

Nov 19, 2016

I think it is a good course. I have known more about time complexity of algorithms and some applications of different kinds of the algorithms. I have spent more time then I though for this course.

By Hector E G G

Aug 11, 2017

It is really good course. However for me, I took more time than the specified to solve the problems. I needed to do some research in the forums, because the instructions were not clear sometimes.

By Dmytro A

Oct 26, 2016

The course lost a lot without tests. Theory is great. Assignments are pain in the azz - too much is assumed here and there. You must resubmit like a dozen of times to figure out what is wrong.

By Bryce W

Aug 02, 2020

The lectures were easy to understand and the teacher did a good job explaining the material, however the assignments were a little vague and it was hard to understand exactly how to do them.

By Shuxun C

Oct 21, 2017

Really good course to learn fundamental knowledge on algorithm. Programming assignment is very useful. However, lots of details of algorithm are not covered due to time constraint

By Vishesh T

Aug 04, 2020

The course is awesome. It's absolutely for beginners. If it had been in C++, it would be better and more interesting. Professors are awesome. I haven't seen any course like this.

By Robert R

Mar 19, 2017

The course is very difficult, but the quality is excellent. Due to the stringent grading of the program submissions, I believe more help should offered for each assignment.

By Ioannis A

Nov 30, 2018

Very nice training, I enjoyed mostly the applications of them by implementing the programming assignments. What is missing is a training certification though.

By Benjamin B

Feb 05, 2017

Overall, very good course. The only thing keeping this from being a 5-star course is the lack of resources around comparing completed programming assignments.

By nqminhuit

Apr 18, 2020

This course is very useful, the assignments are challenging. The autograder is well prepared and very helpful on improving my implementation of algorithms.

By Rushirajsinh P

Feb 01, 2019

The Explanation is good and in depth.Just please write Java Code in the new standard i.e. like using System.out.println(...) instead of StdOut or StdIn

By ज्योतिष्क घ

Mar 31, 2019

Good lectures, challenging assignments. Though the explanation of the assignments are very hard to understand, need to work on it to make it simple.

By Daniel L

Apr 07, 2020

Lectures and content are good. Was probably better on the old coursera platform, since a lot of the exercises have never been migrated over.

By Pietro G

May 06, 2020

4 stars because the assignments are not always clear, and Java doesn't help.

Great instructor and time well spent in my opinion!

By Daniel O

Sep 14, 2020

Excellent course, a little bit difficult with some activities, but Is a good approach to understand the basis of algorithms.

By Rishikesh J

Sep 03, 2018

Every thing is perfect, its just that if users was not bound by the use of programming language, then it would be perfect.

By Christien K

Feb 13, 2017

The assignments are extremely challenging and enjoyable. The videos can get a bit confusing, but overall a great course.

By Jorge A R G

Jun 24, 2019

they clearly explained about algorithms foundations with code challenges for practice the lessons every week 👍

By Kumar H

Mar 16, 2020

It's a very good and knowledgeable course but little bit boring. You guys make it little bit more interesting