Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms, Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms, Part I by Princeton University

4.9
stars
8,877 ratings
1,851 reviews

About the Course

This course covers the essential information that every serious programmer needs to know about algorithms and data structures, with emphasis on applications and scientific performance analysis of Java implementations. Part I covers elementary data structures, sorting, and searching algorithms. Part II focuses on graph- and string-processing algorithms. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

RM
May 31, 2017

This is a great class. I learned / re-learned a ton. The assignments were challenge and left a definite feel of accomplishment. The programming environment and automated grading system were excellent.

RP
Jun 10, 2017

Incredible learning experience. Every programmer in industry should take this course if only to dispel the idea that with the advent of cloud computing exponential algorithms can still ruin your day!

Filter by:

1651 - 1675 of 1,794 Reviews for Algorithms, Part I

By Kai-Ning K

Jun 2, 2020

Very great course to understand the algorithm and usage of data structure in java from bottom to up! In lecture, the professor talks about each concept step by step and discuss the implementations in detail. Through the assignment, I also can know practical usage of different java data structure. The assignment is challenging and a bit hard but makes me feel motivated to complete it.

By Ying T

Aug 7, 2017

The assignments are very challenging but it will help you understand not only the concepts but also the real implementation of the algorithms. Although I don't like the pace of the professor in class and sometimes it made me feel distracted..., I still appreciate the whole course and recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning Algorithms.

By Shankar S P

Aug 25, 2017

Great course for students who are familiar with basic data structures and good at Java programming. I am thankful to the Teaching team who responded to my queries. Highly intensive programming assignments have a steep learning curve. Ideal for learners who can spend time and have patience to continuously develop correct solutions.

By Dmytro L

Jul 16, 2017

first task seamed pretty challenging to me, but later ones were just fine.

very nice thing is that you don't have to watch videos to study. it's just impossible to listen 100 times something difficult, unlike text - you just see all the material and have enough agility to understand material.

4/5 because practise quiz is not tested.

By Christian R

Jul 12, 2020

Course is quite nice. I found the assignments challenging. As constructive feedback I would recommend to highlight the most important key concepts for each week, similar to the summary runtime table but with key concepts of each algorithm in quick-card that can be used and recalled during real world programing work environment.

By Prateek V

Aug 10, 2017

Course is very relevant, lectures are excellent (nicely explained), topic flow is good. Assignment levels are also good and quite par with the expectation. Only issue is that non-java developers or newbie's would find quite difficult to complete the assignments, which would decrease their morale for continuing the course.

By Ahmed K

May 21, 2020

I really learnt a lot about algorithms and data structures, Its my first time reading about this topic,

and it was a great experience,Prof. Robert Sedgewick was a great teacher and I liked the way he explain lessons, for me every week assignment wasn't easy, but I enjoyed learning and understanding new things.

Thank you

By Eric H

Jun 16, 2017

Great course. I learned a lot. Biggest struggle was the setup and using Java. I had not really used Java before. So the instruction and material explaining Java could be better. That's the only reason for 4 stars and not 5. The videos on how the algorithms work conceptually is really well done.

By Pieter A S

May 18, 2018

Great course, covers many aspects of algorithms. The assignments with the autograder are great too. But the estimated time for an assignment is in my opinion far too low. In my case, to complete an assignment, I had to spent many more hours than the estimated 5 which the course indicates

By Prashant N M

Jul 2, 2017

Though a wonderfully structure algorithms course it suffers the most commonplace of problems i.e. sticking to a specific language for the whole course. If we don't consider that to be a problem it's really enjoyable with respect to both the coursework and the assignments as well.

By Vu A

Nov 30, 2016

This course is very helpful with me. It helps me review a lot of materials about algorithms I've learn from my university. Thanks professors and other members for a great course. If you want to solid your knowledge, don't hesitate to take this course, it's total worth it.

By Harshit S

Mar 2, 2017

The course was really good in giving real time examples of the algorithms and its usability in the real world ,the course should also have offered few more assignment covering each topic in the assignments using every component of the course!

By Shantanu S S

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent Course. Very Good Assignments and the Autograding feature.

Some of the topics are difficult to understand. So, I think their explanation should be as per level so that all the students can understand instead of moving forward.

By Shawn X

Jun 21, 2020

I took this course to get a taste of Coursera courses and a refresher on my algorithm. The course is very informational and clear (Robert is a great professor) but the home assignments are much more challenging than the course material

By Mattias H

Dec 27, 2016

Great course. Sedgewick has good educational skills. The course also contains good examples and interesting assignments. I struggled a bit with the first assignments, but then I liked the last 2 better. Looking forward to part 2.

By Johan R

Feb 19, 2020

Excellent course. Good lectures and interesting and challenging problems. Only drawback is that we are forced to use Java. It obviously helps with grading, but would have liked to use a language I am more familiar with.

By Ritwik B

Jun 1, 2020

The course focuses on Java specific implementations of algorithms, so if you're not from a Java background, you would have a little difficulty with the assignments.The course content however is great.

By Maxim B

Nov 19, 2016

I think it is a good course. I have known more about time complexity of algorithms and some applications of different kinds of the algorithms. I have spent more time then I though for this course.

By Hector E G G

Aug 11, 2017

It is really good course. However for me, I took more time than the specified to solve the problems. I needed to do some research in the forums, because the instructions were not clear sometimes.

By Dmytro A

Oct 26, 2016

The course lost a lot without tests. Theory is great. Assignments are pain in the azz - too much is assumed here and there. You must resubmit like a dozen of times to figure out what is wrong.

By Bryce W

Aug 2, 2020

The lectures were easy to understand and the teacher did a good job explaining the material, however the assignments were a little vague and it was hard to understand exactly how to do them.

By Shuxun C

Oct 21, 2017

Really good course to learn fundamental knowledge on algorithm. Programming assignment is very useful. However, lots of details of algorithm are not covered due to time constraint

By Robert O

Apr 15, 2021

content is great but the discussion forum is a little sparse, some of the assignments are significantly more challenging than others but the course was very rewarding to complete

By Vishesh T

Aug 4, 2020

The course is awesome. It's absolutely for beginners. If it had been in C++, it would be better and more interesting. Professors are awesome. I haven't seen any course like this.

By Robert R

Mar 19, 2017

The course is very difficult, but the quality is excellent. Due to the stringent grading of the program submissions, I believe more help should offered for each assignment.