Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms, Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms, Part I by Princeton University

4.9
stars
8,880 ratings
1,851 reviews

About the Course

This course covers the essential information that every serious programmer needs to know about algorithms and data structures, with emphasis on applications and scientific performance analysis of Java implementations. Part I covers elementary data structures, sorting, and searching algorithms. Part II focuses on graph- and string-processing algorithms. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

RM
May 31, 2017

This is a great class. I learned / re-learned a ton. The assignments were challenge and left a definite feel of accomplishment. The programming environment and automated grading system were excellent.

RP
Jun 10, 2017

Incredible learning experience. Every programmer in industry should take this course if only to dispel the idea that with the advent of cloud computing exponential algorithms can still ruin your day!

Filter by:

1676 - 1700 of 1,796 Reviews for Algorithms, Part I

By Vishesh T

Aug 4, 2020

The course is awesome. It's absolutely for beginners. If it had been in C++, it would be better and more interesting. Professors are awesome. I haven't seen any course like this.

By Robert R

Mar 19, 2017

The course is very difficult, but the quality is excellent. Due to the stringent grading of the program submissions, I believe more help should offered for each assignment.

By Ioannis A

Nov 30, 2018

Very nice training, I enjoyed mostly the applications of them by implementing the programming assignments. What is missing is a training certification though.

By Benjamin B

Feb 4, 2017

Overall, very good course. The only thing keeping this from being a 5-star course is the lack of resources around comparing completed programming assignments.

By nqminhuit

Apr 18, 2020

This course is very useful, the assignments are challenging. The autograder is well prepared and very helpful on improving my implementation of algorithms.

By Rushirajsinh P

Jan 31, 2019

The Explanation is good and in depth.Just please write Java Code in the new standard i.e. like using System.out.println(...) instead of StdOut or StdIn

By ज्योतिष्क घ

Mar 31, 2019

Good lectures, challenging assignments. Though the explanation of the assignments are very hard to understand, need to work on it to make it simple.

By Daniel L

Apr 7, 2020

Lectures and content are good. Was probably better on the old coursera platform, since a lot of the exercises have never been migrated over.

By Tung V

Jun 1, 2021

Challenging assignments, great code example from book site. However, the way the author delivers speech is not really easy to understand.

By Unai E

Jan 11, 2021

its a great course, but, unfortunatelly not all exercises all graded and are important ones.

Anyway, I recommend this course to everyone

By Machine T

Aug 7, 2021

Great course! The assignments were challenging but not so hard that it made my brain melt. tons of great info on runtime analysis

By Pietro G

May 6, 2020

4 stars because the assignments are not always clear, and Java doesn't help.

Great instructor and time well spent in my opinion!

By SHAIK F A

Oct 6, 2021

if certificate is provided it would be great. nevertheless its fun doing this course and i have learned a lot of information

By Daniel O

Sep 13, 2020

Excellent course, a little bit difficult with some activities, but Is a good approach to understand the basis of algorithms.

By Rishikesh J

Sep 3, 2018

Every thing is perfect, its just that if users was not bound by the use of programming language, then it would be perfect.

By Christien K

Feb 13, 2017

The assignments are extremely challenging and enjoyable. The videos can get a bit confusing, but overall a great course.

By Jorge A R G

Jun 23, 2019

they clearly explained about algorithms foundations with code challenges for practice the lessons every week 👍

By Kumar H

Mar 16, 2020

It's a very good and knowledgeable course but little bit boring. You guys make it little bit more interesting

By Ethan B

Aug 15, 2018

It might not sound like a fun class, but the concepts covered are essential to understand computer science.

By Ravi K

Jun 4, 2017

Great course! Takes a lot more effort than expected. Every concept well explained and easy to understand.

By Darren

Jan 12, 2021

Videos can be a bit confusing. But the Programming Assignment were really challenging and rewarding.

By Shahar I

Aug 24, 2021

Great course with challenging assignments, very intuitive and interactive presentation of content.

By Rae-Win T

Aug 20, 2020

Should give more practice & exercise on how the mathematically model is derived from a programme.

By Jim L

Oct 17, 2016

Excellent lectures with very structured yet interesting contents. The homeworks are very useful!

By Sualeh F

Jun 10, 2017

Great course materials, and very useful exercises that allow you to solve realistic problems.