Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to American Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to American Law by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
3,821 ratings
912 reviews

About the Course

This course will give you a glimpse into six different areas of American law: Tort Law, Contract Law, Property, Constitutional Law, Criminal Law, and Civil Procedure. You will gain insight into the complexities and dilemmas that arise from the application of law in different settings, and what is distinctive about American approaches....

Top reviews

AA
Sep 16, 2018

I enjoyed this course and it helped me to understand the basic parts of American Law. My only suggestion is to provide even more cases as examples to demonstrate the doctrines and statutes. Thank you.

AT
Apr 9, 2020

A great first step on understanding the basic principles of American Law, providing an insight into impact on the systems we encounter on a daily basis and how these systems have developed over time.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 901 Reviews for An Introduction to American Law

By Russell L M

Aug 21, 2020

This course provided a well-rounded introduction to the usual first year legal subjects. I highly recommend it for those trying to decide if a legal career would be appropriate for them.

By Nahid U

May 10, 2020

Very fun and non-extensive course! It was really engaging and I would definitely recommend for anyone trying to understand the law and to see if they would like to pursue a career in it!

By Miriam G C

Jun 23, 2021

I really loved it! It is a great course of introduction and indestanding about American law.

All teachers are great at explaining their expertise area.

I loved the Criminal Law lecture.

By Bo L

Apr 29, 2021

The best Introduction to American Law. Learned a lot of basic concepts and critical thinking skills.

Thank you, all the professors and other persons who prepared this excellent course!!

By Philipp M

Aug 6, 2017

Excellent introduction to American Law. If you practice in a civil law system, this course will give you a nice introduction and you will understand the very basics. I recommend it.

By Derrick L

Sep 5, 2021

​Really enjoyed this class that teaches different areas of law. Class consist of different instructures that specializes in teaching different area so you get a variety of teachers.

By Silvia M

Jun 8, 2021

An introduction to American Law is a very wide and complete course. I am currently studying law in Honduras, and this course gave me a broad spectrum of what American law really is.

By Michael K

Apr 19, 2021

A great informative and condensed introduction. Covering a wide array of basis for American Law. Happy to have found to course, having helped me begin my journey into law studies.

By Kimberly C

May 8, 2020

I love this course. It's easy to understand and it keeps you pulled in. I took so many notes and spent nights just learning about law and how it came to be. So glad I took course.

By Alyonna M P

Jun 18, 2020

I really learned a lot, the way the professors discussed the each topic in the videos were very interesting and it didn't feel boring. I'm very excited to take another Law course!

By Alba Z

Jul 3, 2018

It really gave me a general idea of law system and the teachers are not only trying to teach you basic knowledges, but also trying to illustrate the spirit of American law system.

By Juan S J V

Oct 1, 2017

It was an awesome course with the basic things that the american law has in order to understand a little more about how the U.S law its different and even similar to my country.

By Fernando M M

Jan 7, 2019

Very happy and thankfull to learn a little bit more about American Law. It seems like a little bit, but in fact is a great and of best quality course for sure!

Thank You #UPenn

By Hero C

Apr 3, 2021

This is an amazing introduction to law course. The readings provided and each week's lectures have provided easy access to the legal fields for international students like me.

By Birdy P

Aug 4, 2017

I took so much away from this course. I have such a great baseline to begin studying law. Really impressed with the organization of the course and how much ground it covered.

By Denys S

Feb 1, 2021

It has been a wonderful course that I have enjoyed from the start to the end! More importantly, it has introduced me to the essence and beauty of the American Law system!

By Goh Y S

Sep 22, 2019

Really interesting introduction to American law. I like that controversial issues are brought up to provoke thinking about the pros and cons of the American legal system.

By Aura M T

Feb 17, 2018

Wonderful! Very easy to follow and comprehensible lectures. The complementary readings were very illustrative and help the viewer to better understand the video lectures.

By Crystal B

Nov 16, 2020

I really enjoyed the classes and the ability to go at my own pace as well as the format for teaching (i.e the ability to rewind the video and see the transcript as well)

By Kim A D

Nov 16, 2017

Great lessons about the different areas in U.S. law. Good starter course. I have taken a course in English Common Law with the Univ. of London in 2013 on this website.

By Diana H

Aug 1, 2021

U​n curso muy completo que abarca todas las bases. Muy interesante y recomendado. Soy abogada en otro pais y me parecio una completa introduccion al derecho anglosajon

By Stephanie M

May 18, 2020

Great introduction to the American legal system, very well taught. I appreciate that it was taught by distinguished law professors that specialize in the given system.

By Melissa H

Apr 20, 2021

I live in northern Canada but have always been intrigued by the American justice system. This course thirsted my quench to learn more. For now! Thank you, professors.

By Ariel P

Jan 4, 2021

I am overly pleased how well this course has taught me in very thoughtful and organized manner. Thank you to all the professors and to the University of Pennsylvania!

By Sinead H

May 7, 2020

Great introduction to Law, I really enjoyed this and I felt like I learned something important. The instructors were great too. 100 percent worth the time and effort!