Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to American Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to American Law by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
3,308 ratings
759 reviews

About the Course

This course will give you a glimpse into six different areas of American law: Tort Law, Contract Law, Property, Constitutional Law, Criminal Law, and Civil Procedure. You will gain insight into the complexities and dilemmas that arise from the application of law in different settings, and what is distinctive about American approaches....

Top reviews

AA

Sep 17, 2018

I enjoyed this course and it helped me to understand the basic parts of American Law. My only suggestion is to provide even more cases as examples to demonstrate the doctrines and statutes. Thank you.

AT

Apr 10, 2020

A great first step on understanding the basic principles of American Law, providing an insight into impact on the systems we encounter on a daily basis and how these systems have developed over time.

Filter by:

726 - 747 of 747 Reviews for An Introduction to American Law

By Carson G

May 04, 2020

I wish it was more practical.

By Mohamed E

Feb 07, 2016

very productive, Thanks

By Deepa R

Feb 05, 2017

Very interesting!

By Dariusz Z

Jun 29, 2016

= no case law :(

By Richard K

May 26, 2017

nice overview

By Cezary P

Jan 06, 2019

Nice course.

By 布形

Sep 23, 2017

让我初步了解了美国法律

By Lyndon X

Jun 03, 2016

希望能更详细时间更长

By Misty K

Jul 16, 2020

This was a long course and quite frankly that 4th professor ( ruger) really should NOT do public speaking he was horrible to listen to. Not to be rude but it's hard to comprehend things when the person speaking keeps making verbal mistakes. Some of the course we very good and interesting but some simply could not hold my attention.

By Anwaar A

May 21, 2020

this course isn't suitable for someone without any legal background, as it is rich and dense in information.

By valentin b

May 18, 2018

The interactive transcripts were really bad. Usefull questions and a good general knowledge

By Rui S

Feb 27, 2017

Interesting course, but a bit too basic and superficial. Teachers were engaging though.

By Gregory L

Jun 27, 2018

Great basic overview. Evaluations a bit too easy/forgiving.

By Kristopher K

Jan 11, 2016

Great Instrutors.

Great examples for understanding.

By Tanmay B

Nov 30, 2015

Nice and necessary

By Alex F

Jul 23, 2017

This course would have been better if the speakers were to focus more on the distinctive features of American law. As a would-be lawyer, who studied common law in the UK and Hong Kong, I don't find this course particularly useful, as the so-called "distinctive" features of American law are actually very similar to that of the English common law.

By Michael K

Dec 14, 2015

Interesting at times but not all modules had the same level of focus on the particularities of American law, some were simply a summary of the law in that area in general without highlighting what was unique to American law in that area.

By Eduardo F

Sep 28, 2020

It was a superficial course. It doesn't teach any law about USA, just present the inicial thoughts.

By Kenneth L

Jan 13, 2018

I dropped this after the first week when the professor blatantly misrepresented the law on product liability with respect to firearms. I want to learn about the law, I don't need to be indoctrinated. Unfortunately Professor Allen is being turned loose on an unsuspecting student body and that is too bad.

By Joyce T

Jun 05, 2016

Unnecessarily stressful for a course I am auditing. It's sad, because the material is extremely interesting at the pace I can digest as opposed to the speed the course demands.

By María G M

Sep 14, 2020

It doesn't allow me to unenroll the course