Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to American Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to American Law by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
3,470 ratings
798 reviews

About the Course

This course will give you a glimpse into six different areas of American law: Tort Law, Contract Law, Property, Constitutional Law, Criminal Law, and Civil Procedure. You will gain insight into the complexities and dilemmas that arise from the application of law in different settings, and what is distinctive about American approaches....

Top reviews

AA
Sep 16, 2018

I enjoyed this course and it helped me to understand the basic parts of American Law. My only suggestion is to provide even more cases as examples to demonstrate the doctrines and statutes. Thank you.

AT
Apr 9, 2020

A great first step on understanding the basic principles of American Law, providing an insight into impact on the systems we encounter on a daily basis and how these systems have developed over time.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 787 Reviews for An Introduction to American Law

By Bryan M

Apr 5, 2020

This is great course taught by consummate professionals who really teach you how to think about law's influence on our society in ways I didn't consider. Each segment is well done and gives you the tools to think about how law really effects our lives in each area covered.

thank you

By LOIDA R

May 12, 2020

This course really opened up my eyes to the American Law. I was familiar with some of the terms but this course gave me a better understanding of those terms and others. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in just learning about American Law, like me. Great Job!

By PAULO H A B

Mar 11, 2019

I found the course wonderful! I learned a lot about American law. The teachers are fantastic. The content available in the student area is very complete, and video lessons are great for fixing content. I loved it! The team at the University of Pennsylvania is to be congratulated.

By Guodong Z

Nov 24, 2015

The introductions of the six factors are concise and to the point. I do formulated a general structure as well as the distinctive attributes of the American Law after studying. Thanks to every professor for the amazing and interesting teaching!

A 11th Grader from Beijing, China

By Romina C

Sep 14, 2015

It is an excellent course for international students to understand the basics of American law. As an Argentinian translation student specialized in law I found this course extremely useful to pass some of my classes as it provides clear definitions and well organized concepts.

By Jeremy K H

Nov 5, 2015

Although I am not a big fan of law, I think that as law goes America has one of the best systems out there. I felt that this course was well put together and covered a good range of law subjects. I was impressed with how much they covered in the small amount of time alotted.

By Max G

May 19, 2020

An interesting look into the legal system, and how it works in general. It is, at times, a bit complicated, but understandable for an everyday person - and it seeks to explain the most important legalese. A good introduction to have a background of what the topic, law, is.

By ARTUR J C M

Jun 19, 2020

I loved the whole course! Here, I managed to learn a little about American law. The videos and examples cited were excellent for understanding the applicability of the rights to the reality of the facts. Thank you very much for everything Penn University and Coursera!

By John S

Sep 21, 2020

I really enjoyed this and the quality of the lectures were amazing. My son is an attorney and I just wanted to be able to converse with him about some of his cases and at least have some understanding. If I was younger this course made me want to go to law school!

By Colyer M

Jul 7, 2020

A great overview of American Law, the examples and lectures made concepts interesting and easy to understand. The supplemental reading and key terms were also helpful before watching lectures and taking assessments to gain more understanding of the subject.

By Lucia R

Sep 13, 2020

I recommend in to everybody who wants to broaden knowledge and boost your CV. Enjoyed the time learning about the basic of American law, as currently I am also a student of law living in Europe. Thanks to the teachers and their friendly tone and ethusiasm.

By Brooke S

Jun 11, 2017

I've learned a great deal about the basic tenants of the American legal system from taking this free course. I recommend this course to anyone who is considering attending law school or to the layman who just wants to gain a great outline of American law.

By Wiliam I S

Nov 1, 2020

I took this course to sate a curiosity on the law (coming in with little experience on how it operated as a whole) and the course did a great job at introducing several topics without being overwhelming. Really happy and satisfied that I took the course.

By karynshere

Mar 11, 2018

Really well structured. Professors all provided good examples and cases so it is easier to understand the doctrines. The reading materials are good to start, though some are theoretical and may be slightly different from the professor's introduction.

By German T

May 15, 2020

I have live in this country for more the 25 year and I had a lot problems understanding the law of United States, but this course has really open my mind in the laws that has and will affect my life while I live in this beautiful country. Thank you

By Mohamed N

Jun 17, 2019

I got exactly what I wanted - an introduction to American law. I am a politician not a law student and this was the kind of material I was looking for. The professors are concise except, perhaps, in the property law section. Overall a great course.

By Julia P

May 12, 2017

The best law course you can take. Wonderful lecturers, interesting topics, just the right amount of learning material. It has the best structure and pace. If you wan't to get to know the basics of American law then you've chosen the right course.

By melanie t

Mar 31, 2020

This class was a good class in that I desired to learn more about American Law and to be better informed about how the process works. Although I am not interested in pursuing further education in law, I thought the class was a good introduction.

By Angelo E

Mar 22, 2020

This course gives you a solid grasp of legal fundamentals that are paramount to high school civics classes. This is a great course, and I have learned a lot by taking it. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in law!

By Assel S

Nov 7, 2016

This course gave a lot of basic things I should know about common law system and especially about American Law System. I am from country with codified legal system, and for me the course tought me a lot! Thank you lecturers of Penn Law School!

By Daniel P

Oct 17, 2015

Complete, detailed, nuanced. You might leave it feeling like you know very little about the law, but it's because of the amount of nuance in the legal system. Any further reading I do will add to the framework that this course has established.

By Y.David Z

Mar 3, 2018

My favorite thing about this course is that it is very well organized into different sections with each one being taught by a different Law Professor. This helps me stay engaged and learn each component of the course in its own unique way.

By Madi P

Jun 22, 2020

This course really helped me get a basic understanding of the different sections in American Law. The in-class/ in-lecture mini-quizzes were also very helpful to make sure I stayed focused and was understanding the concepts along the way.

By isabel s p

May 6, 2020

Muy bien estructurado, los profesores dan las explicaciones muy detalladas. Aunque es difícil de entender para alguien que no ha estudiado Derecho y proviene de un país donde se aplica el Derecho Romano, es muy interesante e instructivo.

By Ulrica L

Oct 7, 2017

Really appreciate it for everything these dedicated professors had done, the whole journey with this fabulous course was a unforgettable experience for me, and thanks for coursera to privide such a great platform for worldwide learners.