Chevron Left
Back to Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mastering Data Analysis in Excel by Duke University

4.2
stars
3,688 ratings
886 reviews

About the Course

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Top reviews

JE
Oct 30, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

PW
Oct 13, 2020

The course was excellent. A little difficult and overwhelming at times but as long as you stayed the course the professors gave you every opportunity to succeed. Thank you for your time professor.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 865 Reviews for Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

By Rajat G

Jul 7, 2019

Amazing .. The model predictions are really helpful and the course content made it a lot easier to understand. Kudos

By Vaidya K

Nov 15, 2015

The course is amazing and has introduced me to new frontiers of excel which will be helpful in my professional life.

By Cameron H

Oct 27, 2015

Excellent course in excel tools, probability problems and theoretical thinking skills to apply to business problems!

By Jayson C

May 30, 2020

Challenging course. Brings the fundamentals, theory, practice and commercial use cases together. Highly recommended

By Zulfiya Y

Jun 20, 2020

I feel myself smarter after this course :) thank you for providing such powerful tools in such effective manner!

By Javier C

Dec 20, 2015

Awesome course; it's not only about the tool, but mostly about the rationale behind what to do and how to do it.

By RISHI D S

Jun 9, 2020

A great course to start off with excel and reach a point where you can build forecasting and regression models.

By 陈思达

Oct 29, 2015

This course is amazing! Very useful for students who are looking for data-driven position. Thanks for sharing.

By Christopher M

Aug 14, 2017

Excellent course. I came in a very good user of Microsoft Excel and have left being a much better user. Simpl

By Serdar Y

Oct 10, 2017

It was a great experience for me. I learned a lot on analyzing data in business area.

Excited to learn more.!

By Angela K

Feb 19, 2017

Great class! The teachers explained everything in detail, looking forward to takmore classes in the future!

By Aditya Y

Aug 14, 2016

This is not a basic excel training. The title is appropriately set as "Mastering" Data Analysis in Excel...

By Anuj S

Feb 15, 2016

Like the course content. Though I know lot many function in Excel, but solve was new and kind a unique one.

By João S

Dec 15, 2015

Loved the course! I still need to review some topics to make them clear in my mind but I really enjoyed! :D

By Mike A

Feb 13, 2016

Excellent class. Much tougher than expected. I went in thiinking I was an Excel guru, and learned a ton.

By Ruth D

Dec 25, 2017

Really enjoyed it, felt challenged and engaged, and learnt a lot of valuable information and techniques!

By Yingyu G

Mar 25, 2016

This course really tortured me , but really worth the time and effort, I did learn something by heart :)

By Akshay K

Mar 29, 2017

Resources provided are very good in quality, completeness, easy to understand, and clear for neophyte.

By Poojitha D

Aug 15, 2020

It is a really interesting course and the assignments are tough which makes the course more exciting.

By Mitchell S

May 13, 2020

Great method. Hurt my head trying to learn all of this but really cool material! Well done professor.

By Svetlana R

Nov 10, 2019

It's a good course, lots of information. But you need to have previous knowledges in maths and excel.

By Uday P S

Jan 27, 2020

Excellent course and structure. Great lectures. Was very difficult and challenging for me. Thanks!

By Julie K

Aug 21, 2020

Out of all the course in this specialisation this course has left me wanting to keep on learning.

By Martha Y V C

May 23, 2017

I really enjoied the statistics and challenges of the course, a practical way to apply statistics

By Harsimran K

Nov 25, 2016

I being a beginner found this course to be very helpful.It gave me a good start in data analysis.