Chevron Left
Back to Managing Big Data with MySQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Big Data with MySQL by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,591 ratings
828 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Top reviews

DQ
Jun 20, 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YC
Aug 19, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 811 Reviews for Managing Big Data with MySQL

By ZEHUAN L

Nov 16, 2016

It's very practical but hard at the same time. I like the teaching style. What's makes me little uncomfortable is that the teradata system guidance is kind of obscure. However, the Jupiter guidance is really yummy. Hope to learn more sql applications in the future.

By demehin I

Feb 28, 2016

The course is very thorough but i woul have loved it if you had a way for instructors to better reach out to classmates rather than leave things to chance and everyone is confused for month. But either way the experience is priceless. Would recommend it to anyone

By Adarsh B

Jul 5, 2017

Excellent course structure designed for students with no technical background to understand how industry analytics works.Real company databases donated by dognition and dillard's helped a lot to understand real analysis problems.A good experience overall.

By Humberto J

Oct 9, 2017

Great course, I enjoyed it a lot and learned more than I was expecting to. There was a lot of problems towards the end with Teradata, the website was down for a couple of days. A bit more of technical support from the administrator would have been nice.

By VINCENZO A

May 31, 2020

I won't give 5 stars only because Jupyter from time to time has crashed. Apart from that, I think the course is well done and also the exercises are very helpful.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to learn MySQL, now it's on me to get better.

By Harshit

Jul 22, 2020

It was a great experience learning with all this good content with the best teacher. Just need to improve your service and query problem. I have faced issues while doing the practice of Teradata I complain about it many times but no response.

By francesco n

Jul 25, 2019

I prefer have the result of the question. I prefer check the result of my query in order to be sure that I done well. I have lost time to revise my query when they are good and other times I believe my queries are good meanwhile I was wrong.

By Yevgenii P

Mar 26, 2019

Questions for exercises are written in an overly complex way. I often got stuck because I didn't understand what the lecturer wants from me. And my English is C1.

The rest is good. Nice practical datasets, clear explanation of the subject.

By Jason T

Jun 12, 2017

Excellent course, really helped me learn the fundamentals of SQL. I thought in some cases the questions could have been worded a bit better, but overall I thought the professor provided an excellent basis for me to learn the material. I

By RISHI D S

Aug 11, 2020

Overall the course was very helpful, the exercises informative, the approach to encourage learners to explore stuff rather than being spoon-fed queries. Thank you, Jana for this wonderful experience, and thank you, Duke University!

By Daniel W

Oct 21, 2020

The course is well structured and it really brings you from inertia to coding in SQL (even if not in a high level). I'm more aware now of the relationships by using subqueries and joins, and this is certainly an up.

By Sam H

Aug 21, 2017

There are great practices but I don't appreciate the fact that once we are done with the exercises, we are locked out of it. I would definitely have preferred to go back and revisit and refresh every now and then.

By Gilad B L

Sep 15, 2019

Excellent course. the assignments are really challenging and require actual practice at real world problem solving. there are some mistakes in the course materials that took me some precious time to figure out.

By Milind K

Oct 2, 2016

The actual amount of time required per week to complete the course was well over the 3-5 hours/week advertised on the course homepage. It was a very time intensive activity each week- especially the last 2 weeks.

By Mohamad S

May 10, 2020

The course is great. There are a few problems with Terradata. I think if they offer an extract of the data in spreadsheet form, the problems would be much easier to work with. Overall, the course is good.

By Vatsal G

Jun 12, 2019

A very well designed course with no prior knowledge assumed. The discussion forums are very lively and queries (no pun intended) are responded to fairly quickly. A great option who wants to learn sql.

By Petr Ž

Apr 1, 2016

Very good, detailed course, I can recommend! Before that I knew nothing about SQL, now I have moved to higher level of analyst. Sometimes the instructions are not 100% clear, but it is minor problem.

By Mengting Y

Jan 9, 2017

The notes are perfect! But I do think that the content might be a little bit easy.. Good course for beginners, but if you are looking for more challenges, this might not be the best choice for you.

By Dhananjay P

Mar 14, 2016

Its a very good class to learn to use SQL in a systematic manner, even if you had used SQL or are completely new. The two Databases ( Terradata and Dognition) gave a lot of valuable practice.

By FLORENCIA M

Sep 30, 2020

Excelente curso, disponible en múltiples idiomas. El acceso a las plataformas para poder practicar es excelente. Los ejercicios van subiendo en dificultad, permite el aprendizaje progresivo.

By Janki P

Nov 12, 2019

It's hard to understand the data that given for quizzes but the teaching of professor Jana is really amazing.when i ask questions in discussion forums there was no tutor to help you out soon.

By Mansi K

Jul 10, 2020

course was very interesting and was very thoroughly done , examples given were very good and helpful and I am very sure it will help in the long run!!

thank you.

it was a wonderful journey.

By Juan S P P

Jun 21, 2020

It's a great course for beginners, maybe being deep into two databases isn't fruitful enough. Web pages like kaggle.com can give more examples, more interesting and with current data

By Xun Y

Jul 11, 2019

Great SQL course. I think the course overall is well structured and let me stretch myself week over week. It's a little difficult to write long query in SQL scratchpad though.

By Samruddhi D D

Oct 30, 2020

Very helpful and good course. The main focus is on the practice. There are many exercises which help to practice which in turn helps to understand the concept more.