Chevron Left
Back to Managing Big Data with MySQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Big Data with MySQL by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,589 ratings
827 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Top reviews

DQ
Jun 20, 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YC
Aug 19, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 809 Reviews for Managing Big Data with MySQL

By Nenad Š

Feb 12, 2017

Good introduction

By ayush s

Jun 11, 2020

good instructors

By Narendar R K

Oct 5, 2017

very good course

By Aakanksh M

Jun 14, 2020

Amazing Course

By Wiloke W

Feb 5, 2021

Fairly good

By Minal M

Aug 12, 2020

good course

By dynasty919

Mar 16, 2018

interesting

By ANGEL M

Nov 30, 2020

Certificat

By Rohit K S

Sep 23, 2020

Awesome!!

By Elvan V

Sep 20, 2020

Well done

By ธนาคาร ฉ

Feb 8, 2017

difficult

By fagner d s

Jun 21, 2016

excelent

By Simran B

Feb 1, 2021

Amazing

By Hemant C

Aug 20, 2018

Thanks.

By Priyadharsini S

Mar 4, 2020

Nice

By Omair A

Jul 24, 2018

okay

By Heeyeon L

Jan 25, 2017

Q

By Alexander S

Apr 6, 2016

g

By Jerry F

Nov 27, 2016

The course structure was well formatted. The order of the lessons and content presented made for learning intuitive. The follow along practice queries and end of lesson practice problems were also helpful interactives for the student.

However there were mistakes in the answer keys or practice problem prompts that became more frequent in the lessons towards the end of the course. This made it difficult to practice the more complicated material and queries. It was also a big time waster when as a student you were unsure whether you were answering the correct question and if so whether your answer was correct. It would also been helpful to have more open ended practice problems at the end of the course in addition to the set provided.

Finally I think this course would be better split into two parts. The first part should be geared towards querying data and focusing more on just pulling data and intermediate queries. The main audience would be analyst/data professionals that have privileges to pull data but not modify data. The second part of the course would be more useful to DBAs or professionals that have database admin privileges to insert/delete/modify data. I would also focus more heavily on database schemas in this second course relative to the first.

By Kyra-lin H

Jun 27, 2017

I definitely learned a lot from taking this course, but there were several frustrating road blocks along the way. These included items such as mistakes in the answer keys, a lack of explicit assignment instructions, and large jumps in difficulty levels between the later weeks. For those considering this course, be aware that the estimated time commitment provided by the course (8-10 hours a week) is a very *low* estimate. Or rather, that estimate is accurate for Weeks 1 & 2, but expect that amount to double by Week 5.

For readers' reference: I came into this course with a lot of experience with Microsoft Access but only limited experience working with SQL directly.

By Rosalie D

Nov 1, 2020

I learned a lot from the course. It teaches the core concepts of SQL and also provides practical applications and activities. However, even when I have already completed the course and got the certificate, I did not realize that it still keeps on renewing the enrollment for 6 months and took money from my card! I tried to find Coursera's "customer service", but seems that they don't have one. Tried messaging on Facebook and calling their phone number, but no responses on both. Their help page also did not help resolve my problem. I am still hoping that someone can help me with getting a refund. Thank you in advance.

By Ted Z

Jun 23, 2020

The course starts out well, but by the 2nd half you pretty much end up teaching yourself by reading questions (that sometimes contain wrong information) and non-clickable article links from PDFs that work half the time. The Teradata interface is terrible, limiting you to seeing 10 lines of code in queries that are usually 2-3x that long, and without the line number references that most interfaces have that help you find errors. But it does cover the basics well before veering off into nested subquery logic that could have been done in easier ways.

By Justin F

Dec 9, 2016

This course provided a good introduction to SQL for me as a beginner and through challenging lessons forced me to learn SQL basics. After Week 3 however, I found that the level of difficulty increased steeply and not enough assistance was provided in the lessons to get through the course at a reasonable pace. In addition to providing answers to each week's exercises, further review of how the answer was obtained and the breakdown of the logic behind it would be helpful.

By Barshan S G

Feb 3, 2021

The initial stages of this course was wonderful and quite exciting. However, gradually it became hard and in my opinion the final QUIZ was extremely complicated and in contrast with the preceding quiz its a giant leap. I am disappointed with the final quiz and actually it made me lose interest in the topic matter.

Then again, considering the range of content, I am really surprised and the platform of delivery, specifically Jupyter Notebook is fantastic.

By Max R

Dec 7, 2017

I brute forced my way through this class. Many new topics are shown in the exercises and not discussed. Some of the exercises have misleading (or incorrect) information which made me spin my head for a long long time. However... at the end of it I do understand SQL query formation pretty well. If I could go back in time, I'd force myself to take this class with a friend or partner instead of trying to go it alone.