Chevron Left
Back to Managing Big Data with MySQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Big Data with MySQL by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,595 ratings
829 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Top reviews

DQ
Jun 20, 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YC
Aug 19, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 811 Reviews for Managing Big Data with MySQL

By Lakshya B

Jul 6, 2016

Amazing course and the quizzes are challenging. Learned a lot. Gives hands on experience on mysql and Teradata.

By Ishan C P

May 26, 2020

Recommended course for anyone who wants to practice writing complex sql queries.

Glad that i completed this! :)

By Umar F

May 2, 2020

Simply brilliant. Needs a lot of patience and perseverance, but worth it in the end. Thanks to Dr.Schaic Borg.

By Olga A

Mar 11, 2019

Thanks a lot for this informative and fascinating cours. I found a lot and learned how to work with databases.

By Fatemeh T

Jun 26, 2016

I wish there was a financial support for full enrollment at this course. but still GREAT course to experience.

By Michael D

Mar 5, 2016

Great, great, great course. Interactive and engaging. Relevant and focused. This is the future of learning!

By Tim S

Jan 20, 2021

A challenging course but well worth it! Lots of relevant information about data bases and the SQL language.

By Sanem D T

Dec 6, 2019

A fantastic and challenging course to upgrade your technical skills from Excel to SQL!

Highly recommended.

By Tim B

Jun 8, 2016

Excellent introduction to SQL. Good, short overview of theoretical background. Lots of practice exercises.

By Zain S

Jun 8, 2016

Amazing Course. Learned a lot. A bit tough with exercises but was very helpful. Thank you for everything.

By LI K

Feb 29, 2020

It's really helpful which exceeds my expectation.

You can learn MySQL systematically through the courses.

By Jialyu Z

Aug 10, 2016

Really useful and practical course. The exercises and quizes are the best in all the courses I've taken.

By Javier A F B

Sep 29, 2020

A superb course. A great amount of practice and theory, which is useful for students to learn properly.

By Saad H

Aug 9, 2018

Extremely engaging, well-organized course. The final week was a bit too challenging, albeit, rewarding.

By Kaplanis A

Nov 4, 2017

Very demanding course, but it is quite a rewarding experience.

It is the best course I've taken so far.

By Alexander K K Y

Oct 21, 2020

This course was very help. It has given me more insight of how data is built before it can be analized

By PRATEEK S

Sep 30, 2020

Course is laid out in a well structured manner. The instructor always keeps you engaged and motivated

By Mubashir M

Jul 20, 2020

One of the best courses on mysql so far. Provides a chance to learn in depth about the related topics

By Lan T

May 6, 2017

Great course, with detailed explanation and case study. Recommend to set up a follow-up part 2 course

By Pratiksha N D

May 1, 2020

this course is very useful for me would really thanks to all your staff for this knowledgeble course

By Ge W

Jul 9, 2017

Many thanks to professor and the course staffs. What a great course that bring me to the SQL world!

By UTKARSH P

Dec 25, 2016

It is a very good course to understand the basic fundamentals and applying them on actual database.

By Luis M C P

Feb 28, 2021

Excellent course, with clear instructions and real life example and exercises. Highly recommended.

By Jersey D G

Aug 16, 2020

The instructor explains the topics really well. I highly recommend this to beginners in using SQL!

By Ike S

Dec 20, 2016

Perfect for an introduction to SQL. Still a lot to learn but I certainly feel like a can learn it.