Chevron Left
Back to Managing Big Data with MySQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Big Data with MySQL by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,441 ratings
792 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Top reviews

DQ
Jun 20, 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YC
Aug 19, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 778 Reviews for Managing Big Data with MySQL

By Daria E

Sep 6, 2017

This course really touched on all the most important aspects of learning how to use a SQL database while also providing many supporting materials for reference. I was very satisfied with the quality of the materials and teaching.

By Andres L U

Nov 25, 2020

Great Course, i learn a lot with Jana and i like so much how she explain everything, i am very sure that the onl way to improve knowledge is practicing and this course is intended to teach trough finish every exercise. Congrats

By Víctor A G S

Dec 18, 2016

If you choose to follow this course, you will have to invest a lot of time. There are few videos, but you will go through a lot of exercises that will make you learn (or recall, like in my case) SQL in a very effective way.

By Roxana A

Nov 17, 2016

Best course I've ever taken on coursera because it's all about practice instead of theory - and the quizzes/practice questions are extremely difficult but once you get through it you will definitely say SQL is a skill you own.

By Muhammad F

Apr 7, 2020

This course was really awesome!!😊

I am happy to learn those skills which was essential.I enjoyed studying with Ms. Jana Schaich Borg that she did her hard work to teach me.I appreciate her skills and hard work .

Thank you ^_^

By Nuja Z

Oct 14, 2018

By providing those messy database which is the case in reality this class really improves our way of thinking when it comes to writing SQL commands. Also those operators and functions are really useful taught in this class.

By Ryan F

Feb 15, 2016

Fantastic course on SQL for those with no prior exposure. Also addresses basic database structures, relational schemas, and ER diagrams, providing an excellent foundation for further work with data in relational databases.

By Rizky N P

Jun 13, 2020

The course provided was clear and help me learn about SQL a lot. The only thing that bothered me was the problem with Teradata that wasted me and other learners more than 2 weeks of course time. Keep it up and thankyou!

By Henry W

May 25, 2018

The course is challenging as it pushed you to deal with real life data set so you not only leaned the language but also how to structure your analysis plan and to execute it. Well designed on-line tools really helped.

By GAUTAM K

Nov 27, 2016

I would like thanks Jana and all of her colleagues who helped in providing this course. Since this course has much importance from job perspective. I would also like to thanks Coursera for providing me an opportunity.

By Jessica A

Oct 10, 2016

This was one of the best courses I've ever taken. Each lesson built on its predecessor logically. I worked hard to learn each of the concepts, but was very impressed by how much I had learned by the end of the course.

By Michael N

Jul 13, 2017

Thank you Dr. Borg. Really teaches you SQL from the very basics to an advanced level. Lots of practice. Lots of making you think. This course is significantly longer and more difficult than other courses on Coursera.

By Jesse C

Dec 23, 2017

Out of the four courses in this specialization, I feel like I have learned something completely new. It challenged me to think in new ways. And in the end, I am walking away from this course with a marketable skill.

By Elke B

May 7, 2016

Learn MySQL and Teradata in one course. Lots of hands on work and help for assignments. The only way I actually learn something. Just do it. I have a SQL server background and had to experience life without CTEs.

By Каранько А С

Jun 3, 2020

Thank you for this comprehensive course in using SQL in buisuness analytics. I`m studying JS programming but I think course helped me to learn basics of MySQL relational databases. Practical lessons were fruitful.

By Deleted A

Mar 14, 2019

I have to say that this SQL course is perfect. Although this is the second time I learn about SQL, it still gives me some knowledge and the quizzes

are perfect despite there are some minor errors! Thanks Dr. Borg!

By Santosh F

Aug 9, 2020

Excellent Course. This is the course I am going to recommend to everyone. This course has tremendous opportunity to practice and practice and thus makes everyone capable of writing from simple to complex codes.

By Sanket S

Sep 14, 2019

Great Course, as it covers everything from basic's to advance level database management.

All the important points were explained in very simple terms.

I will definitely recommend this course to all my colleagues.

By S.Ravi T

Jun 18, 2017

Exceptional content and teaching. The guidance in exercises and quizzes is so engaging and level of difficulty for a particular week was well set. From basics to the advanced techniques, it was a joy to learn.

By Timiah B

Jun 12, 2017

This course covers all of the basics in mySQL and Teradata for successful data analysis using sql. I found it challenging but very explanatory while exposing you to common difficulties in the real data world.

By Shashikesh M

Apr 8, 2018

Non course can stand in front of this Mysql course from duke university. best course ever created with huge amount of materials and lots of learning.

best course to master Mysql as well as Teradata database.

By Boris M

Aug 11, 2016

The course is very well calibrated. You move step by step from easy SQL queries to pretty complex ones. The connection to the business value of the queries you write is also explained in a convincing way.

By Georgi

Aug 9, 2017

Well-structured and well-organized course. Probably the best SQL course I have ever seen. Special thanks to Dillard´s store chain and Dognition for giving an opportunity to work with real business data.

By Muhammad A

Jul 7, 2020

Its a great experience to learn this course. Its very awful practically, theoretically and Logically.

Thanks to the team and instructors of Coursera and Duke University.

MAY ALLAH (GOD) bless you. AMEEN

By Jiawei C

Feb 9, 2020

Generally very good experience. The course is tough, but absolutely helpful and rewarding. Supportive as I am, I do hope instructors could update the course materials and correct the mistakes within.