Chevron Left
Back to Managing Big Data with MySQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Big Data with MySQL by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,448 ratings
794 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Top reviews

DQ
Jun 20, 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YC
Aug 19, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 778 Reviews for Managing Big Data with MySQL

By Manasi M

Aug 17, 2017

Excellent course! Thorough practice and amazing coursework with actual datasets. Would definitely be opting for more courses from Duke University!

By Francois

Sep 14, 2018

Great course if you want a good introduction to SQL and how relational databases work. The instructor and the material is of really good quality.

By Vivek S

Sep 26, 2016

Excellent course !! Teradata experience is a bonus on this excellent MySQL program. Highly recommended to anyone who needs to learn big data SQL.

By santiago p

Nov 18, 2019

excelente curso, brinda toda la informacion e incluye la practica necesaria para adquirir todo el conocimiento con el mejor software de Big Data

By Akshay S

Nov 3, 2018

A must for all the aspiring data scientists.

Course structure: 5/5

Videos: 4/5

Practice Exercises: 5/5

Quizzes: 6/5 (Not kidding! Literally amazing)

By Xiayu

Jan 19, 2017

amazing and interesting course. I am a beginner in this field, by my experience, it is beginner friendly. I feel very lucky to take this course.

By Arvin Y

Mar 5, 2017

Great course! Very useful skill for business world. Professor explain the concept very carefully. The exercise are very helpful and challenged.

By Francisco D

Jun 8, 2016

Excelente curso com grandes aprendizagens e ótimas formas de aplicabilidade. Essencial para quem precisa tratar grandes volumes de informações.

By Lai K C

Feb 11, 2016

The instructor is careful to include real world working experience in our learning which makes this course especially interesting and valuable.

By Shashwat A

Nov 4, 2020

Exceptional Course. Quizzes were challenging at times but had opportunity of learning how typical problem solving is in Business Intelligence

By MANOJ S

Oct 6, 2020

A great course with challenging exercises and great resources. One can literally become a competent SQL programmer at the end of this course!

By Junqing J

Apr 6, 2020

The course is designed very thoughtful. such as the handy tools to practice SQL or those marterials or tips that can help you learn or review.

By ABHISHEK D

Jun 4, 2020

This is a very good course to learn from basics and advance to the tougher parts. The course gets a little bit difficult in the end quiz.

By Pawel B

Apr 22, 2020

One of the best investments I had. From the beginning to really tough JOINs. Albo provided access to large database, so you can practice.

By wuqimin

Jul 24, 2019

I quite like the course, the only problem is accessing in China is extremely difficult, viewing videos is not possible lessing using VPN.

By Tam N

Mar 25, 2019

Week 5 is extremely hard in which you got to write very complex queries. But it's worth it in the end. You feel that you've learned a lot

By Michael K

Nov 18, 2016

This is an extremely well organized course with problems sufficiently challenging that the exercises really help one master the material.

By Yen-Chung, C

Aug 25, 2019

The design of the course is very great, make the beginner like me can easily understand the basic concept about managing data with MYSQL

By Mukund R

May 30, 2020

One of the best courses on Coursera.

Insightful and practical course.

The efforts being put to create this course is really appreciable.

By Maryia M

Oct 17, 2017

Great intro to SQL with a lot of practice, helped me to learn the basics and feel quite comfortable with querying in just a few weeks.

By Kaiquan M

Oct 14, 2017

Course was very tough. If you work through the exercises and learn, you will be able to learn alot of analysing data from a database.

By Neha

Jun 8, 2016

Exercises are super challenging. But challenging oneself with difficult tasks is the best way to learn. Its a course worth going for.

By Lizzie Z

Jul 1, 2019

Great courses. I learned a lot about sql queries through this course. Thank you so much Coursera and thank you so much my instructor

By Abdillahi M B

Feb 7, 2017

EXCELLENT COURSE@ EVERYTHING YOU NEED ABOUT SQL BEGINNER TO INTERMEDIATE USER. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COURSE FOR ANYONE INTERESTED.

By Chelsea Y

Feb 3, 2016

Useful skill to keep. Jana is well prepared for each course. My company uses other softwares so there are some difference in syntax.