Chevron Left
Back to Managing Big Data with MySQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Big Data with MySQL by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,774 ratings
883 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Top reviews

DQ
Jun 20, 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YC
Aug 19, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 868 Reviews for Managing Big Data with MySQL

By Anurag M

Mar 11, 2016

great course.. only thing is answers to teradata exercises were not provided. So student cannot know whether he is writing correct sql statements

By Eugene W

Sep 8, 2017

Very challenging, learned how to write very complex SQL queries. Be prepared to work. This is a 5 week course that took me 9 weeks to complete.

By Abhinav U

Jun 29, 2020

Great course. Enjoyed working through the exercises. Instructions were mostly clear. I feel like the joins could have been explained better.

By Arshad U

Jul 24, 2017

The course advances rapidly, the later stages are particularly difficult and referring to sources other than this course becomes necessary.

By Vidipta S

Aug 17, 2020

The Content was great, the instructor exceptional, exercises really good. But there were some glitches while accessing Teradata Viewport.

By Александр Х

Dec 17, 2020

Everything is good. But there was one problem - on 3/4 of my course disappeared Russian subtitles from lesson videos. That was sad. (

By Edward J

Nov 25, 2020

Extremely challenging course!!!!! But what fantastic instruction - very thorough and great practice exercises. Thank you, Jana. EJ

By Talha H

Jul 25, 2020

Very well taught, could be better if videos are made where Jane works on SQL examples....walking the student through her solution.

By David E

Mar 10, 2019

THERE ARE SOME EXERCISES THAT NEED TO BE CORRECTED SINCE THEY HAVE MISTAKES. SOME TIMES IT CAN TAKE HALF A DAY TO LOAN JUPYTER.

By Gift O O

Sep 10, 2020

This course really improve and made me understand SQL indepth,even with little background knowledge.Thanks to Duke university

By Junior L

Aug 11, 2020

WEEK 5 EXERCISES IN TERADA COULD HAVE BEEN LESS TIME CONSUMING IF FEEDBACKS WERE GIVEN FOR EVERY STEPS THAT YOU ACCOPLISHED.

By Mara H

Aug 28, 2020

Great course overall! Some areas of course are too wordy which makes it hard to understand what professor is asking for.

By Joanne

Mar 2, 2017

The Teradata part is quite challenging and I think it would be better if there are more hints. I like the SQL part more.

By Vincent-Paul V

Dec 4, 2017

Great course, I recommand it without hesitation. However the questions and the answer keys could be a little clearer.

By Abdul-Razak O

Feb 8, 2021

Lessons of the course and the teaching are exceptional. I can't wait to put the skills acquired into practice.

By Adair T

May 21, 2019

Good, comprehensive training on SQL. The later lessons take longer to complete than those at the beginning.

By Ting S

Feb 19, 2016

The course instruction is very good. If the Teradata database is improved, the course will deserve 5 star.

By Yixin W

Sep 28, 2017

While the material and exercise is very helpful, you may experience some problems with the teradata login.

By Prateek G

Mar 27, 2016

Derived attribute was never conveyed in the videos. So kindly add up the concept of derived attribute.

By nicholas m

Sep 4, 2016

Course was well conducted and explained, however, the final test was quite long and challenging.

By Guan W

Jun 13, 2017

The instructions are too wordy, could have been given more concise presentation and exercises.

By David B

May 11, 2016

Switching between platforms was confusing but overall the course was good value for money

By Rutai L

Jan 17, 2021

Some practices are over-done. Doing the Teradata exercise without samples was torture.

By Preethi

May 3, 2021

It was so interactive and the practice exercise was much challenging and interesting.

By Shubham S

Apr 10, 2020

In the last exercises, Teradata viewpoint is not working, overall course was amazing.