Chevron Left
Back to Managing Big Data with MySQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Big Data with MySQL by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,759 ratings
879 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Top reviews

DQ
Jun 20, 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YC
Aug 19, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filter by:

851 - 866 of 866 Reviews for Managing Big Data with MySQL

By Stewart A

May 29, 2016

Errors in the material made it difficult to get through. All past discussions on the forum are gone, making it difficult to review posts by classmates.

By Harshith C

Oct 19, 2020

Very hard to navigate Teradata as it is has many bugs and issues. Quit the course mid way just to save time. It is so frustrating.

By Angelina D

Jul 15, 2020

Poorly organized.

By Bertrand J d

Apr 6, 2016

The technical support of this course is just terrible: just like many many other students (see the Discussion forums), I have experienced serious difficulties to access the databases platforms we need to learn and to complete our assignments. I can only echo the innumerable complains from my co-students about the lack of efficient support and technical reliability of this course; many of us are very unhappy about this, especially as they have paid for this course ... and what is Coursera doing about it, by the way?

My advice: beware before enrolling in this course and even in this entire specialization, and search for alternative options (there are many, not only on Coursera but also on EdX and others ...)!!!

By Ryan D

Aug 18, 2019

The course content is great and I love how you get to use real, large data sets to practice queries. However, this course is ultimately costing much more than I anticipated due to technical issues, relating to issues accessing the Terradata exercises and juypter notebooks.

This makes it difficult to plan your week ahead of time, and I found myself rushing through exercises the moment I found issues were fixed to stay on pace with the course. If they had a better handle on the technical issues and better communicated those issues and progress fixing them with the students, I'd recommend this course.

By Arash H

Sep 9, 2016

This course is too much doggy! Please do not use Coursera for advertising your friends´companies, or at least learn how to do it a little more professionally to look really relevant! This psychiatric lady also seems to be sexits. Looking at differences between pictures with a girl and pictures with a boy is really abominable and shows an intentional discrimination and racism. It is really shameful.

By Mohammad B

Aug 24, 2020

1- The interface for My SQL (Jypetr) is not reliable, when I use a Query with no LIMIT the Interface get so bad.

2- The dataset used in this course is not clear to the learner.

3- the videos are too long comparing to the amount of information delivered.

4- There must be more shorts videos and should be more oriented the ideas.

By CHRISTOFER B

Jun 7, 2020

As of June 2020, don't waste your time. This course is now useless since the third-party tool used by this course to open the Jupyter Notebooks is a dead link in the Duke University's server. There was an error processing this request: No jupyter instance available.

By Emilia M

Jun 26, 2020

The course content is good, BUT the course administration very poor. They run out of license keys for the tool required to complete the course, so basically you have to keep paying the monthly fee without being able to complete the course.

By Suraj S

Jun 27, 2020

Pathetic Course. So far the worst course of the entire specialization from Resource Support POV. The explanations given were far too complicated to understand as per me. Highly dissapointed. Also, Teradata was always a mess

By Enric C P

Feb 14, 2016

It is very interesting, but we have to face problems with Teradata, I have not been able even to log in, and a lot of students are in the same situation, and the problem persists, even in the duedate of the test.

By Udara S

Jul 25, 2020

Quizzes are too advanced for a beginner course. Recommend to have simpler quizzes and the option for tougher questions in a more advanced course.

By Carlos A V P

Aug 8, 2020

Se describe que los subtitulos están en español, pero los vídeos no tiene este idioma. ¿como hago para darme de baja?

By Palak W

Jun 21, 2021

No one is teaching anything - just giving notes doesnt help at all

By Jerry Z T

Jul 25, 2021

teradata is the most disgusting thing you can ever use

By Michael A

Oct 16, 2016

Unprecedented high speaking speed.