Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,876 ratings
667 reviews

About the Course

One of the skills that characterizes great business data analysts is the ability to communicate practical implications of quantitative analyses to any kind of audience member. Even the most sophisticated statistical analyses are not useful to a business if they do not lead to actionable advice, or if the answers to those business questions are not conveyed in a way that non-technical people can understand. In this course you will learn how to become a master at communicating business-relevant implications of data analyses. By the end, you will know how to structure your data analysis projects to ensure the fruits of your hard labor yield results for your stakeholders. You will also know how to streamline your analyses and highlight their implications efficiently using visualizations in Tableau, the most popular visualization program in the business world. Using other Tableau features, you will be able to make effective visualizations that harness the human brain’s innate perceptual and cognitive tendencies to convey conclusions directly and clearly. Finally, you will be practiced in designing and persuasively presenting business “data stories” that use these visualizations, capitalizing on business-tested methods and design principles....

Top reviews

TP
Jul 3, 2016

Thanks very much for great content and especially, Ms. Jana Schaich Borg for brilliant presentation skills, lovely voice and good looking as well. Please participate. This is highly recommend course.

IT
Nov 6, 2018

I was pleased by the quality of this course. I really learned how to use tableau and the tips on researching and presenting were well founded. The teachers were positive and hard working. Thank you!

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 652 Reviews for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

By Jonathan M U

Jul 5, 2020

The amount of time spent in the course for teaching soft skill on presentation style is, in my opinion, too much. The data visualization part is very well organized and presented, with enough examples and guidance towards the practical exercises.

By Shelley Q

Oct 16, 2018

really great, but would appreciate if there are more data sets provided (best if with hints and guidance along the way) for students to practice with! However, the existing material is already great for a short course. thanks!

By Chester J

Oct 7, 2017

Good course. The instructor is never boring and taught well. However, some tiny details are missed out in the tableau tutorials that caused students' visualisations to be slightly different. Had to dig forums to find answer.

By Aishwarya N

May 5, 2020

Absolutely a great course for those who want to explore data analytics through Tableau. If you are a complete novice like me, it will take a bit of getting used to but overall this course is an excellent starting point!

By José M G

Dec 28, 2015

Great course, very comprehensive but in the other hand challenging to keep you engaged in learning and self discover about your "real" data samples.

I'll continue with the specialization, thanks Duke University.

By Animesh S

Sep 2, 2020

Good course but 1 week of the tableau could have been taught . So the concept of tableau would become clear.

2nd,3rd week was about tableau + 1 more week of tableau could have been excellent

By MELBIN A

Dec 29, 2020

honestly, this course helps me to bind a valuable piece into my cv and helps me more about the data visualization on the tableau. I would recommend this course to my colleagues and friends

By Sagnik S

Dec 1, 2020

the course materials are good though in the final assignment you have to submit the project which is about dog cognitive behaviour analysis company so it will challenge or oxymoron to you

By Joel P

Apr 25, 2017

Not bad, some tests are too difficult, specially to understand the right questions. Materials are good but some details make the expereince not so good. However, overall is a good course!

By Allen O

Jul 15, 2020

Good foundation for Tableau. One of the challenges is that Tableau has relatively frequent releases, so some of the content in the course does not match the current version of Tableau

By Sarthak G

Dec 29, 2015

Nice course if anyone wants to learn Tableau. Practise exercises & Quizes are relevant. It would be nice if solutions are provided for both the practise excersies and the quizes.

By Anjali D Z

Jun 12, 2020

Well structured course and provides good inights into Tableau. I would say that there should be more material on Tableau and data analysis as opposed to presentation skills.

By Andrew A

Jan 13, 2016

Useful Tableau tips and visualization recommendations.

Instructor videos are accelerated most of the time so the speech sounds unnatural and sometimes difficult to understand.

By Manuel A

Aug 12, 2020

Super useful, really learn a lot. However the exercise pdfs where maybe to long to do and kind of boring sometimes. They should offer more dynamic ways to give the exercise

By Hitan C

Dec 18, 2020

there were some tools that i don't understand quite well, like graph calculations and define variables of different types maybe they need a deeper and clearer explanation.

By Daniel J C

Apr 27, 2016

I have loved this course and the videos have been amazing. This course has been fantastic for getting a foundation in understanding data analysis and the use of Tableau!

By Shane S

Dec 5, 2017

Good class for seeing a way to work through data. Definitely need to follow along the videos, and make sure you do the practice exercises even though they aren't graded.

By Ethan C

Jan 15, 2016

The video presentation at the end isn't what I would expect/want from an online course. I stopped short of the final project, but the course was otherwise useful.

By James C

Dec 20, 2018

The software instructions need some updating but I appreciate the training. Detailed guidelines on proper visualizations and ways to think like a data scientist

By Ioannis B

Sep 9, 2017

Really good course explaining not only tableau basics but also communication style and examples that are very important in landing a job in analytics in general

By Vishnu K K K

Jan 28, 2017

I just think that there could be more assistance with respect to the practice exercises :) otherwise the lectures by Jana were absolutely terrific :)

By Ranjan K

Apr 9, 2020

Calculations part went through pretty fast.

Difficult to grasp concepts.

Would be useful if detailed solutions are provided once one passes the test.

By Elvis A

Feb 16, 2019

I developed the skills to effectively visualize and communicate results (business insights) to both technical and non-technical people. Thank you!

By Bony J

Sep 15, 2017

Initial videos were ok and good. The method of presentation and the presenter was nice. But he concepts in later videos need more clarification.

By Rafael A

Mar 11, 2020

The course could have spent more time on table calculations, which I felt wasn't very well explained. Other than this, the content is great.