Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,873 ratings
666 reviews

About the Course

One of the skills that characterizes great business data analysts is the ability to communicate practical implications of quantitative analyses to any kind of audience member. Even the most sophisticated statistical analyses are not useful to a business if they do not lead to actionable advice, or if the answers to those business questions are not conveyed in a way that non-technical people can understand. In this course you will learn how to become a master at communicating business-relevant implications of data analyses. By the end, you will know how to structure your data analysis projects to ensure the fruits of your hard labor yield results for your stakeholders. You will also know how to streamline your analyses and highlight their implications efficiently using visualizations in Tableau, the most popular visualization program in the business world. Using other Tableau features, you will be able to make effective visualizations that harness the human brain’s innate perceptual and cognitive tendencies to convey conclusions directly and clearly. Finally, you will be practiced in designing and persuasively presenting business “data stories” that use these visualizations, capitalizing on business-tested methods and design principles....

Top reviews

TP
Jul 3, 2016

Thanks very much for great content and especially, Ms. Jana Schaich Borg for brilliant presentation skills, lovely voice and good looking as well. Please participate. This is highly recommend course.

IT
Nov 6, 2018

I was pleased by the quality of this course. I really learned how to use tableau and the tips on researching and presenting were well founded. The teachers were positive and hard working. Thank you!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 650 Reviews for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

By Megha T

Jun 28, 2020

I enjoyed the course. It was very informative and fun. I especially enjoyed the last graded assignment. It was new and challenging, but fun. Thank you Coursera and Duke University for providing us with this course.

By Andrés F D C

Aug 18, 2020

It was an awesome course! I learned a lot in how to address business decisions to a a real company based on real data. I got a clear picture of how Data Visualizations can help data-driven comapnies. Thanks a lot!

By Artem Y

Jun 27, 2016

The flow and presentation was very engaging. This will give you a relatively basic overview of tableau with mention of higher functionality. "Poking the box" is going to be a lot easier having taken this course.

By Natalie S

May 20, 2020

Excellent course! I'd recommend taking it at the same time as the SQL course. That data sets used by Jana overlap so you are creating visuals and an analysis of data you queried and cleaned from the SQL course.

By Peerapong A

Jan 14, 2017

The instructor has masterfully convey the materials and carefully craft the course materials, hence the course is both easy to follow and enjoyable. The content are also very relevant to practical industry use.

By Carlos V

Sep 1, 2016

I really enjoy this Course the Explanations and Utilization of Tableau are the best, I really recomend this to anyone interest in Data Analysis or that need to work with a lot of data in their daily activities.

By Michael M

Sep 27, 2016

Great course! This course is not just teaching you how to operate with Tableau. It's more important that you can learn how to link your data with your business problem and help people to make better decision.

By Andrew C

Jan 12, 2016

Immediately applicable to the workplace. The learn at your own pace style is great for those with more rigid work schedules, and the lectures are a fantastic resource. I wholeheartedly recommend this course!

By Syed J P

Feb 5, 2021

Very good course which is easier than excel for data visualizations but seems to be longer when compared to "IBM's Data visualization with Python" or other similar courses and better to reduce its length.

By Tejaswi T

Sep 19, 2020

An in detail course for beginners on Tableau. Excellent work by the professors in terms of explaining key concepts and helping students learn the tool properly. All should definitely go for it :) !!

By Ehui E S A

Mar 17, 2018

a GREAT course to learn Tableau in one course. It's wonderful course with great instructors. I recommend it to everyone who likes to learn Tableau and become a data scientist or a business analyst.

By eemeli v

Jan 22, 2021

Very good course. I thought that it would just cover the basics of Tableau but the course also enlights how to make great presentations and how to use the visualisation to its maximum potential

By Isaac H

Apr 25, 2020

I would not consider this a beginner course. Yes, they teach you the basics, but there's a ton of work, and you also need to have the statistical mindset for some of the things they teach.

By GAUTAM K

Dec 7, 2016

It was really good course designed for professionals as well as associative with academy. Jana has really presented everything well. Also, thanks to coursera for providing me this course.

By Rachel B

Feb 8, 2016

Very engaging course. Great introduction to Tableau and general presentation tips. Real application of data analysis and Tableau with a real data set and problem needing recommendations

By ROMAN C

May 30, 2019

it is a very good course with a lot of work, but very good knowledge accumulate during this curse. I will use tableau in my audit missions in the audit report, Visualization section.

By Julie K

Aug 21, 2020

I almost did not do this course because of the final presentation at the end, but I have learn so much and developed skills in this area I thought I was never going to be an good in

By Gabor S

Oct 16, 2018

Excellent course not only in teaching basic (and some advanced) functionalities in Tableau, but also showing how to effectively communicate your findings after the data analysis.

By manrique

Mar 15, 2016

Best course I have taken in Coursera until now, entertaining, all-rounded and containing interesting and highly relevant lessons-- I feel like a Tableau power user already :)

By Baptiste F

Jul 16, 2020

Very good training, very engaging. May be my favorite so far on Coursera

Possibly review the instructions for handling that have changed since 2015 (especially the joints).

By Ravi S

Dec 19, 2016

An intense course but you will be confident in Tableau than ever before once you complete..The professor has made the course as interesting and knowledge rich as she can!!

By Jonathan E

Nov 26, 2015

This course is engaging and full of great resources. Everything taught in the course can be applied to positively impact your ability to tell compelling stories with data.

By Chan S K @ C K

Jul 5, 2020

This course enables participants to use the powerful visualization tool Tableau to visualize their data in order to understand the data better and look for data insights.

By Marco A S P E

Apr 18, 2016

Muy buen curso, ademas de servir de introducción de manera indirecta a SQL. Los videos de la maestra son muy buenos, ademas de ser muy explicativa, es cálida y agradable.

By Barbara L

Jul 21, 2016

The course was well built-up, the presentations were extremely clear and there was a great combination between listening and actual examples that you had to do yourself.